We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location....Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Perfect Location....Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel is ideally located. It's 5 minutes from the train station surrounded by cafes, restaurants and shops. The streets are cobblestoned and the area is quaint. From our window, you can see the Parliment building and the famous Swiss Bank....where much of the country's gold is kept. Everything is walking distance! The staff is great...helpful. The room is spotless. The hotel was very clean. The housekeeping staff were always on top of things...perfect. The Old City of Bern is charming. I always felt safe. They have the market set up in the middle of town a few times a week...good prices for souvenirs.....cheaper than shops. Bring water bottle because you can fill up at the numerous fountains....safe and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary_manuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    150
    76
    11
    6
See reviews for
48
95
23
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at the hotel as part of a group tour. The location is great! You can walk anywhere in town very quickly and easily. There is free wifi in the rooms and it works well. Here is the tricky part. Europe was having a heat wave during our stay. The rooms that face the street are now air conditioned to help with the noise (noted by previous reviewers.) No problem with noise at all and the air conditioning worked well. We learned at breakfast from others in our group that if your room faced the back of the hotel, there was no air conditioning. This might be okay in winter but with temps nearing 90, the rooms felt like saunas.

The breakfast selection was very slim. Breads, canned peaches, yogurt. We had much better at other hotels. The bathroom was wonderful with double sinks. There was good lighting as well throughout the room and bath.

Just be careful when you make your summer reservation to get a room facing the street. I don't know if they'll guarantee this or not but be forwarned

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

This was a nice hotel in a central location. The only problem was the street noise. It is not air-conditioned and if you have one of the larger rooms with bath you will be facing the street where young revellers hang out until the wee hours.

We changed rooms after the first night to a much smaller room with shower that was not on the street side and the noise wasn't bad, except for the town clock that chimes all night long.

The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and helpful, but we wouldn't stay here again unless they get air-conditioning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank CruisinTexans97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton,Ct.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

The Hotel Bristol is in a great location in town. The hotel was clean and had a very nice bar. Our room faced the street and there was a bar right outside our window that seemed to stay open very late and the crowd was loud. There was no air conditioning in the room and you had to decide between sleep or air! They provided ear plugs.! If you stay here you must request an inside room.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluejaymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,092 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,626 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Bern is a wonderful town and is small enough to see a lot on foot. The location of the Hotel Bristol Bern is excellent for sightseeing as it is right near the train station, Parliament, and only ten minutes from the Cathedral and adjacent shopping areas. The Kuntsmuseum is only a ten minute walk from the hotel and is well worth a visit.

I was not impressed by the ground floor lobby which is small, cramped and is basically without seating. Halls are spartan with Paul Klee reproductions on stark white walls. Elevators aren't the fastest I've ever experienced.

I was assigned to room 407 which has a front balcony with a view of Parliament to the left, but the street is narrow, so don't expect much of a view anywhere in the hotel. The room was modern and comfortable except for a bizarre blue toilet seat with daisies. There was plenty of room for my luggage and toiletries and the shower worked well with plenty of hot water. The fabrics and furnishings were fresh and up to date. Face cloths are provided in this hotel...as are blow dryer, tissues, tea and coffee maker. Excellent lighting for reading and other tasks in the room.

It seems to be a local sport for late night revelers leaving the nearby nightclubs to shout up at people trying to sleep in the Hotel Bern. Even with windows shut in the winter, this was a problem for many in our group. Ear plugs are provided in every bathroom. Fortunately, my location on a higher floor made for less noise. I was bothered less by the shouting...but the shouting is clearly a problem.

Breakfast was rudimentary...and probably the least appealing of any on this last trip...simple continental fare...I'd like to recommend the restaurant next door to the hotel for a very pleasant dining experience...Hotel Della Casa...excellent food and atmosphere at reasonable prices. Try the apple fritters with custard sauce for dessert.

  • Liked — The location is quite convenient to shopping and the sights.
  • Disliked — The hotel is spartan in decor and has a bit of a noise problem with revelers in the streets at night.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

This was one of my strangest hotel stays ever and I am in hotels about 60 nights/year. We went to our room, started to get comfortable and discovered the shower had been used and someone else's pajamas were under my pillow! The front desk clerk actually suggested we stay there without changing the sheets because he said the guest had come and gone without staying. Gross.

The place was bizarre.

If you don't need to be in downtown Bern for business, I'd suggest staying in lovely Murten... not too far away.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

The hotel atmosphere was very nice. The room we had was very comfortable. We were on an upper level back side away from the street - very quiet. The hotel location was excellent for seeing local sights, enjoying the street markets and eateries. Good breakfast fare and spacious dinning room. Berne is a great place for sightseeing and enjoying the market food (which we took up to our room on several occasions). Was not impressed with the Bear Pit, but the old town and streets are great; excellent food and drink. Don't miss the fondue. We found some of the best food deals in the local department stores where deli-like counters are quite common. Just point to what you want and enjoy it sitting on the coblestone sidewalk watching the "tourists" go by.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bar was in adjoining building (via stairway) / Expensive
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jffifthwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#11 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Schauplatzgasse 10, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Best Western Bern
Bern Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing