We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, quiet room in lovely town”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel was perfect for me. I was in Geneva on business (female traveling alone) and wanted to spend the weekend in the Bern area. I was looking for a hotel near the train station. I had booked a double room online but when I checked in and asked that they give me a quiet room they suggested I switch to a single room on the courtyard because all the double rooms available at the time face the street. I was concerned it might be too small but it was plenty large and airy with large french doors that open onto a balcony where I could relax and sit outside (room 418). The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, they have free Internet, breakfast included and I could not have asked for a better place to stay for the weekend. One more thing - I'm not a TV watcher but if you are you might be disappointed that the TV is small.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quiet and some have french doors and balconies. Fourth floor was nice and...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great location in the heart of Bern. The building structure was from the 1500's, but the inside was fully modernized including air conditioning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zauski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel is just 5 mins from one of the exit of Berne Railway station. Walk toward Migro supermarket direction, take the escalator where the supermaket is on your right. When you come up, you will see UBS bank in front of you. Turn left into the hotel street, and walk about 5 mins.

The hotel entrance and lobby is very small, do not missed it and end up in their sister hotel next door.

The room is very spacious and modern. It comes with free internet, 1 welcome drink and breakfast. Breakfast is at the end of 1st floor. Breakfast area not very big but food choice is quite good, as you get 4 types of juice, different cuts of ham, bread roll and cereals. They will serve you coffee and tea at the table.

Location is within walking distance to most attractions. The tram is near the hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freqtripbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days in a double room. Room adequate size with simple furniture typical of hotel rooms in Switzerland Breakfast room was bright and clean and they served fruit, cereal, yogurt, cheese, breads, ham/other meats and made cooked eggs with meat to order.

The hotel desk staff was young and very friendly and knowledgeable. Spoke excellent English.

Perhaps the best was the location. Five minute walk to Bahnhof and many restaurants.

Would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianeDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We came in on the the train to Bern and walked directly to the hotel in about 5 minutes. Check in was quick and the room was just fine. Beds could be a bit softer, but all in all the room and the bathroom was fine. We lok for clean rooms, good location and professional treatment, and that's what we got. The breakfast is fine and plentyful and free newspapers are provided (nice after Saas Fee prices of $10 for an english paper). The hotel is an easy walk from Bundesplatz, and the Altstadt, with a straight access to the clock tower and on to the Baren Graben, the famous brown bears of Bern. The hotel sponsors the bears and has lovely souvenirs for purchase at the reception counter. We would definitely use this hotel again when in Bern.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plumesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nice hotel. Clean, Great staff, Beds small but rooms warm and clean. good shower etc. the bar is next door in the Beren hotel. The bar, altough popular, lacks atmostphere. Not much to the decor. Surprised Bristol ( which best western is called) doesnt have its own bar. But staff and so nice and one feels very much at home. Not 4 star rating. 3+ perhaps

Room Tip: ask for quier room on inside, Not on street if you want to open window or balcony and a quier night...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathT272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I found this a nice hotel, but not really a 4 star hotel by European standards. The hotel is very clean and staff friendly, but it has a small lobby, the rooms are rather big, but with small bathroom. I consider it a 3 star hotel, but no more.

The best of the hotel, no doubt, is the location. Very close to the train station, parlament and University.

I think also the price (200 EUR/night) is too high for the quality delivered.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#20 of 30 in Bern
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Schauplatzgasse 10, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $173 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol has a four star rating. It is situated in the heart of Berne -an Unesco World Culture Heritage city. It is ideally situated next to the main railway station and close to The House of Parliament. The main shopping area and other attractions, such as the Bernese Munster, the Zytglogge and the Bear Park are all within walking distance. The hotel has 92 non-smoking rooms, which are available as a single, double, twin or superior. All rooms provide comfortable accommodation whether on a business or leisure trip. All are equipped with a work place, free Wi Fi and TV (multilingual), bath or shower, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and a safe. The rooms facing the street are air conditioned. A buffet breakfast and welcoming drink are included in the room rate. And other free facilities are the residents' lounge, a sauna, fitness room and the use of bicycles-some of which are electric. The welcoming Baren Bar (in the sister hotel Baren) is popular with both residents and locals. Here you can enjoy a coffee or a wide selection of alcoholic drinks and it provides an excellent venue for a lunchtime meeting. A small function room can be hired for meetings or private parties and can accommodate up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Best Western Bern
Bern Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing