We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Bern - Walking Tour with Licensed Guide
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
$550.78
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Google
Ways to Experience Einstein House (Einsteinhaus)
from $1,045.39
More Info
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
180
227
184
65
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
180
227
184
65
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews einstein's life his life short film small apartment small museum patent office great man steep stairs old town genius minds clerk haus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 696 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2017

We walked past this tiny museum several times. once we found it we went up some narrow stairs looked around the most of the 'museum' before finding the place to pay. this place is literally comprised of two or three crowded rooms. I did not really get any sense of Einsteins life during his stay in Bern.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Damon_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Very small apartment where Einstein and his first wife lived for a short time. Difficult to get up several flights of stairs, so not recommended for those with climbing issues.
It is not air conditioned, as many places in Europe are not. Also, definitely not for very young children / strollers. It has a lot of historical information and is a must see for history buffs, but after a short visit, there is not much to keep interest of others. Rather expensive for those who are not particularly interested in doing the historical reading offered. Languages are English, German, and French, I believe. The main floor is free and it was probably enough for the non-historians.

Must take a picture from the windows! Looking down on the street, checking out the old apartment, offers a great view of Suisse life.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Albert Einstein (and his wife Mileva at that time) lived in upper floor lodgings right in Old Town Bern from 1903 to 1905. The Einsteinhaus Museum has exhibits that show a side of Einstein's personal life while he was working at the Swiss patent office.

Small but very interesting museum. Well worth a visit while touring Old Town Bern.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank OneWayVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 10, 2017

As mentioned by many previous reviewers, small but interesting apartment. Short movie to watch upstairs.

Very characterful house and found out some interesting facts about Einstein we didn't already know

Worth a look round

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Fairly small, interesting to see where he stayed, and what the inside of an old Swiss apartment looks like.  Not many artifacts to see, but there is a short movie. My teen daughters were slightly entertained :) Recommend to visit as part of walking around the old town.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank JasePerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews