We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Bern - Walking Tour with Licensed Guide
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
$551.41
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Google
Ways to Experience Einstein House (Einsteinhaus)
from $1,046.57
More Info
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
180
227
184
65
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
180
227
184
65
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews einstein's life his life short film small apartment small museum patent office great man steep stairs old town genius minds clerk haus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 696 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile

This is a small informative place which is where Einstein lived for about seven years. You can see a room or two of the house. Upstairs, which is probably an unfurnished part of the house, has information boards in about four languages. Information is interesting but not presented in an inviting way.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank TravellerFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

He was one of Bern's most famous residents. The house is located right in the center of Bern's beautiful old town but is quite small. There are very steep steps going to the top floor of the house. There are a lot of old photos of Albert Einstein and his family, but little in the way of furnishings. It's one of the interesting sights within the old town.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank margaretc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

Not too expensive (further discount with Swiss travel pass) to enter the place to take a look at the historical exhibits.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank lpj0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

As a part of the walking tour of Bern that the group I was with were on, we visited the home of Albert Einstein, when he lived in this apartment between 1903 and 1905.

This second floor accommodation has very steep stairs to ascend/descend, which makes it totally impossible to access for anyone with mobility issues.

There are various artifacts from Einstein's life, along with a bust of him.

A fee of CHF 5 per person is payable upon arrival, and there is a helpful person on duty to answer any questions you may have.

For anyone that is a fan, this is a must, but you need to be prepared to climb a lot of stairs.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank PaulHelpsPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 12, 2017

Located at 49 Kramgrasse in Old Town, this second-floor apartment was the former humble abode of young Einstein from 1903 to 1905. A large photo of him in a coat and hat can be seen in the window of his flat. Unfortunately, our tour leader did not allow time for us to visit while on a brief stop in Bern. So all we have is a photo of the building and the window.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews