We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful water fountains for kids....”

Federal Building (Bundeshaus)
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.94*
and up
Bern Day Trip from Zurich
Ranked #5 of 79 things to do in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the Swiss national government, this building's political significance stands out in an otherwise quiet city.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
756 reviews
226 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,409 helpful votes
“Wonderful water fountains for kids....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I totally agree that the water fountains in front were the main highlight of this Plaza in front of the Federal Building. Another T.A. poster commented they couldn't see any fountains. It might be because they had a market fair or event in the square. The fountains don't work when they have events. (See my photos as earlier in the day there were trucks on top and there weren't any fountains but later in the afternoon when we passed by we got to experience them...so try going later in the afternoon).

The building was closed for tours. We were there on a Saturday but the fountains in front were the highlight for our young kids. They absolutely loved them and ran around with other kids trying to avoid from being splashed. Other parents, just let their kids take off their street clothes and run around in the water.

A beautiful square in front of the building and there is a water fountain off to the side that is also nice. And don't forget to walk in back of the building where you can see a nice view.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    187
    47
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
257 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Where are the fountains?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I did not see a whole row of dancing fountains as others had reported. Only one small little one. Wrong timing? Don't know why!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank WoodlandsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic building from exterior!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Sadly the daily tours were not available....but impressive building in lively square...and overlooking river at rear. Close to city centre.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful building with lovely grounds and an amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Bundeshaus is a lovely building, but I like the square that fronts it, and the remarkable fountain, even better. Don't forget to wander around the back of the building where, on a clear day, you can see beyond the pristine Aare River to the picture-postcard Alps beyond.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hepshiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Take pictures and walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This building is very picturesque and you can walk in front and back, as well.

We went on Sunday and I think thats the best time to go because streets are empty you can see the buidling clearly and take pictures from different angles. Once you come our of Bern Central Station walk straight till you hit the dead end and then you can take left to see the building from behind, also see the Bern and River view. In back side we saw 2 interesteing things 1. big chase board made on ground and 2. type of lift to take passengers up to the street level from the down ti is kind of box going up/down.
If you walk on Bundegasse street you can see this building from front side, it is beautiful with light greenish color.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Building (Bundeshaus) also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Federal Building (Bundeshaus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing