We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely stay, especially with the aquapark experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed November 30, 2010

the warm welcome was very nice, especially that we had came a long way from lucerne and there was snow all around. the travelling directions we had read on this same site were all clear enough to bring us to the doorstep of the hotel. the check in was done smoothly while I ate away the cookies.
the room was picture perfect to our style. my husband and I prefer the most basic and modern so we loved it. the view from our room was nice. the room and the bathroom was crystal clean, only wished the shower was built with a window panel seperating it from the wash basin as water spills over. I can not think of anything negative other than this point about the room.
the location of the hotel is, yes, a bit far from the center but was no problem for us as we found our way easily and because the hotel was much more economic when compared to the others situated in the center.
WHAT WE LOVED ABOUT THE HOTEL was the free 2,5 hours aquapark offer of the hotel. I was freed from the exam stress I had on the following day and with the outside covered in snow and us swimming in the exterior pool, what an experience it was...........:))))
there is no negative remark what so ever, just loved it, only wished it was closer to the center, but we definitely think that we might not have been able to stay here if it was in the center as it is certainly worth much more than it costs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 471 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

Location: About 10 minutes from the center of Bern if driving and around the same distance if traveling by train, the hotel is directly connected to Westside Mall. The station is just across the hotel. The Westside Mall isn't the greatest in terms of shop selection and restaurant choices. However, it's a great place to stock up on some basic items at the very large Migros (grocery store). Globus offers a good selection of wine and premium deli items. Paul is a good place to get a croissant and coffee if you don't mind a simple breakfast. Remember the shops are closed on Sundays.

Reception/Check-in: Nice and modern facilities. Reception staff was very helpful, answered all our questions with a smile and looked up my Priority Club number for me. Free cookies were also given to us.

Rooms: The room size was decent and it had hard wood floors. In fact, it felt a bit barren for some reason but the furniture, etc was all very modern and new. In November, the heat was turned on centrally and the A/C unit didn't respond to any input. Since it was too warm and stuffy, we opened the window a shade to get some air. It was still quiet enough for a good night's sleep.

Internet: Free internet (WiFi or wireless) but you have to register to get a password.

Parking: Don't use the garage below the mall which costs SFr.25 per day. Between the Shell Gas Station and the hotel, there is a metered lot within 2 minutes on foot that charges just SFr.2 for 10 hours of parking. Oddly, each additional hour between hour 10 to 20 then costs SFr.1 each. Once you go beyond 20 hours of consecutive parking, the rate skyrockets.

Overall/Value: The hotel costs SFr.134 per night. This is a fraction of the price we would have paid in Bern. The hotel is not the fanciest but it's modern and new. The location was convenient enough.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyF1oyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The location of the hotel is very nice with a nice view of the farm across the road. Being close to a nice an aqua park it’s convenient and easy to keep kids engaged. It has a shopping centre also very close to it which is very convenient, but, remember that everything will be closed by 8 pm.
The rooms are pretty comfortable with standard beds and good decore. Bathrooms are far better compared to many hotels in Switzerland with enough space and descent amenities.
The breakfast choices were excellent. And especially for kids, there are healthy choices around. The staffs were also very friendly. But, I found the lobby a bit shabby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The Holiday Inn is right next to the Shopping Center Westside. This is a very nice, new shopping center with interesting architecture and it has some interesting shops - however everything closes at 20h on weekdays, even earlier on Saturday. Sunday is closed of course (like almost everything in Switzerland). There is also a cinema complex and a water park. The rooms are OK for the hotel's standard. They are reasonably sized and have a flat screen TV. The bathrooms are quite nice and modern. In my room, the air conditionning had problems to cope with the sudden cold outside, and it was kind of chilly in the room. Standard rooms have no minibar, but on some floors there are vending machines with a very limited choice. So, if you arrive within the opening hours of the Shopping Center, better go there to buy something to drink. There are also some cafes including Starbucks in the Shopping Center, and also a (quite ugly) food court. I chose to eat at the hotel's bistro. Big mistake. The food was very average, quite high priced and the service was friendly, but terribly slow. I ended up waiting 45 minutes for the check.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisszrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The Holiday Inn Express Westside is very average. It is clean, but sadly not very quiet being lodged between a railway line and a major motorway, both within spitting distance of this typically corn flakes box shaped hotel. The staff are mostly friendly and helpful, but be prepared to fill out various forms 'required for the local police' and also be on your guard about paying their overpriced parking fees. Parking in the Westside shopping mall of which this hotel is part, is approximately half price what the hotel wants to charge. Simply do not eat in their rubbish, overpriced restaurant. I even go to the Migros on the other side of the mall in the morning to get an excellent breakfast, again for a fraction of the cost of the hotel restaurant. THe best bit about this hotel is it's location. A fantastic, modern mall with 5 good restaurants, a cinema which occasionally shows English speaking movies, and the most amazing spa in Switzerland. If you get bored with that, jump on the train across the road to be in town in 10 minutes. The room rate includes free entry to the spa and sauna (as of Oct 2010). My conclusion, the hotel is so la la, but the venue makes this an unforgettable gig.
Note hard bed, also the exec level rooms are no different than the cheaper rooms on lower floors. No point in paying extra. Friendly, helpful bar man. Decent beer. Good snacks.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billhelm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexsales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback which we evaluated at the hotel. We are truly sorry that you had some negative experience during your stay, especially the one with our restaurant. It would be interesting to know what exactly you did not like.
We are very happy that we can offer our guests free entry to the waterpark Bernaqua, which we have offered since the beginning.

We hope that we might welcome you another time at our hotel and we wish you a nice weekend.

Kind regards

Alexia Hungerbühler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The main best thing of this Holiday Inn is rooms. Our's was quite spacious with new furniture and modern technics. Interior design is also very nice, but the bathroom door would better be opaque. Service is fine, staff is friendly as usual, but nothing special. I would more likely suggest this hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Room & bathroom is clean & sparkling. Furniture selection is tastefully decorated.
FREE Internet facility, surely plus point for this hotel. Price is reasonable with the standard delivered.

Sleep quality is good, mattress firmness is just right, very comfortable. Breakfast has enough variety, and just next to shopping mall, make the location is convenient for guests even though hotel location is out of Bern - City center.

THE ONLY DISSATISFACTION :
Check-in time can only be at 3 pm, and NO FLEXIBILITY at all to accommodate earlier arrival, even though we arrived at 1.30pm. At the end, we leave our luggage in hotel, to continue with our itinerary & will only check-in 10.30 pm on the arrival day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zionsg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
834 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
3.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
526 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $150 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing