We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, hard beds and noisy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My son (5) and I checked out this morning after a one night stay. Worst sleep I have had in a long time. My son and I were exhausted his morning as the beds are SO hard, it's ridiculous. Thank goodness we are now in a different hotel. Very expensive for where it is, felt like the ghetto of Bern. Was so glad to be woken up at 7:30am this morning by someone in the room above with high heels on clomping around on the wooden floors. Far from impressed and hope the manager can refund my nights stay. I did let the staff know when I checked out but there was not much concern from either of them ( lady with short blonde hair)

Room Tip: I did not eat breakfast here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine12Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Christine12Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see the firmness of the mattress prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the perfect score for Cleanliness. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 486 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hotel is situated outside of the centre but conveniently located on the train and tram line. A value for money option to stay in Bern. The hotel was ok what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. It's also next to a shopping Mall convenient for shopping. Next time I would choose to stay in the centre as it's more convenient and causy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikcyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear mikcyp,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you liked the overall value of our hotel and location. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Especially in Switzerland. Westside is a modern mixed use development west of Bern. So it seemed strange to go here. However, the hotel was top notch in all aspects and the staff were great. It was also not that expensive.

You have to check out the sauna/bathing spa in the gym. It seems bizarre at first, but it is huge with very excellent facilities. As a sauna lover, I was blown away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear winterson66

We are more than happy that it happens to be such a nice surprise for you to stay with us.
Thank you for your positive comments and your time to write this review.
We want our guests to know they are in good hands and it feels good to hear that in your opinion great value and excellent service came across.
It is great you took advantage of the free Bernaqua entrance, so you were able to get your well-deserved relaxation after a long day of work.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will keep us in mind for your future travels.

Best Regards from Bern

Aleksandra Dajic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you are choosing to go to Westside Waterpark or shopping, the hotel locaiton is great. Else would recommed to stay closer to the city centre. As the night bus (Moonliner) takes a while to reach get to the hotel. The public transport is right outside the hotel. You can use the S-bhan(less than 10 minutes) or the Tram (takes longer).
We were not able to make use of the free wellness vouchers, but we will if we stay again at the hotel.
The breakfast is worth, if you pre-pay it while making a booking, else I suggest to choose the options from the nearby shopping mall (at CHF 25 per person postpaid), so there is a price difference of 50%.
The lighting in the room was not sufficient, there should be some arrangement to make it more bright if needed.
There was coffee machine in the room, but no cream, and it took a while to get some cream for coffee, may be they could leave some milk powder in the tray.
Sleep quality is good at the hotel.
The staff I would appreciate most, is the service staff during breakfast.
Also thanks to general staff, they had arranged the tickets for the Museum Night in Bern, and I am sure they would have helped with anything else if needed. Best wishes.

Room Tip: Breakfast selection and choices are very good. Include your breakfast while making a booking. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear YashAgarwal

The whole team of the Holiday Inn Bern Westside would like to thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased our accommodation and service was to your liking.

Our staff is a reflection of our brand standard to embody great hotels guests love and we are grateful to hear they met your needs.
We will definitely forward the lightening suggestion as well as inform our Houskeeping Manager about the missing milk.

It is also great to hear you had a good night sleep and continued with a great start into the day with our Swiss breakfast.

It would be wonderful to welcome you and your family back one day and then you have to make sure you enjoy Bernaquas fun and relaxation areas.

All the best until then
Kind Regards

Aleksandra Dajic
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I was there for 2 days , rooms are clean , has good view to nature , there is a big shopping mall under the hottle , and public transfer station is so close , infront of hottle , but i was 20 min in the way untill city center , i think it is a little far for my short time

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Nasim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Nasim3

thank you very much for taking the time to share how you liked your stay with us.
We are happy you had the possibility to enjoy our beautiful mountain view and the advantages of the Westside Shopping Mall.
The S-train in front of the hotel takes 6-8 minutes to the main train station, so if you plan to visit us again, you could consider taking that one.
We hope you had a wonderful time in Bern and wish you all the best!

Kind Regards from Bern

Aleksandra Dajic
Front Office Manager

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Aleksandra Dajic
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed 1 night at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

First of all, if you put the hotel's address, from their website, in a GPS, it will take you to the wrong side of a place which you cannot cross by car. The check-in agent told me that she heard that before, but they haven't changed it.

All together, the hotel is in a good shape, clean and modern, which is what I expect from a Holiday Inn. Here are the points that are under my expectations:

- Service, at check-in, at the bar and in the restaurant. They wrote on the menu that you can eat there at lunch because they are quick, but it wasn't. It took us ages to eat.

- At the restaurant, there was a hair on one of the glasses that made up my desert, so I didn't eat it, I told the waitress but it was still on my bill. That is not acceptable.

- The bed is not confortable, both my partner and I had a back ache after sleeping in it.

- The shower has a plastic tube, which forces the shower to turn and wet the floor.

I stayed there because we were going to Westside, so if I go there again, I would probably use the same hotel, for the location, however, if I'm heading into Bern, I would choose another hotel.

You can also read my review (in French but you can Google translate it) here: http://www.gate-41.com/wordpress/?p=2663 .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Bern, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Philie4u

I hope you had a safe trip back home. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and taking the time to give us a review.

Indeed very rarely it happens that some older GPS systems do not recognize the Westside building yet, I am very sorry for this inconvenience and extra time you spent by driving on the other side, this was probably not a good start.

Please be assured that I will forward your comments to our restaurant manager and I already now would like to deeply apologize for the incident.

We really hope to get the chance to welcome you back soon, so next time we can exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards from Bern

Aleksandra Dajic
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I travel in the US and Asia quite a bit. I usually stay in IHG properties. Last year, I spent about 130 nights in them.

I spent a week in Switzerland. I stayed at other hotels for much of the trip. But I decided to stay here one night while visiting Bern. Frankly, it was nice to get back to what I am used to. Breakfast nice and included. At other hotels, they tried to charge me 24 chf per person per day for breakfast. Swiss breakfasts are nice but not worth $50/day for my wife and I.

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and recognize my IHG status. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Tim R

thank you so much for your honest feedback and your nice comments.
We are very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us.

Furthermore we are really happy to see that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us and that
you were pleased with the hotel facilities, as well as with the staff.

We do highly appreciate your loyalty towards IHG and we are glad to see that you seem to be repetitively
happy with our concepts and our service standards.
It means a lot to us to receive such acknowledgement from you as a frequent Traveller and it is our goal to
deliver continuous high service standards and therefore also make your stay in the future.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your wife back here at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside soon.

Kind Regards from snowy Bern

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
865 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#17 of 30 in Bern
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
166 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
593 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $150 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing