We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. Typical Holiday Inn Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice. Typical Holiday Inn Experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I travel in the US and Asia quite a bit. I usually stay in IHG properties. Last year, I spent about 130 nights in them.

I spent a week in Switzerland. I stayed at other hotels for much of the trip. But I decided to stay here one night while visiting Bern. Frankly, it was nice to get back to what I am used to. Breakfast nice and included. At other hotels, they tried to charge me 24 chf per person per day for breakfast. Swiss breakfasts are nice but not worth $50/day for my wife and I.

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and recognize my IHG status. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Tim R

thank you so much for your honest feedback and your nice comments.
We are very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us.

Furthermore we are really happy to see that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us and that
you were pleased with the hotel facilities, as well as with the staff.

We do highly appreciate your loyalty towards IHG and we are glad to see that you seem to be repetitively
happy with our concepts and our service standards.
It means a lot to us to receive such acknowledgement from you as a frequent Traveller and it is our goal to
deliver continuous high service standards and therefore also make your stay in the future.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your wife back here at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside soon.

Kind Regards from snowy Bern

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    219
    61
    15
    6
See reviews for
112
149
31
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Pros: Good garage, good location for drivers, sunny rooms better than some older ones in city center: no allergens detected in the room. Staff swiss quality. Good price.

Cons: weak cafeteria and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

After checking-in, I had to leave the hotel...
For the first time, I used my points to book a room. I am not sure, if it does affect the service-level offered by this hotel, but it may be good to have mentioned it.
As I wanted to check-in, there was no status-recognition, but even worse, they checked me in as another person (with a similar name). Not making sure whether I am this person or not, they welcomed me and promissed an upgrade. As I pointed out that I was another person, they didn't even apologize and still tried to maintain the "pokerface", i.e. thinking that I would not notice...
The "upgrade" conisted of a room that is standard but has no window (better: it has a window but also a wall going through the window). The room had an open shower system (which immediatly puts the bath, and in this case, the room) under water and the rooms as such is small. There is an a/c but its very noisy, even if you switch off, you will still have some 45db noise.
I called front desk and told them that this is not acceptable. After trying to make case for being sold out, front desk "discovered" an empty room.
This one had a window and a shower curtain, however, also the same problem with the noisy switched-off a/c.
I was feeling very badly treated by the staff who already lied to me twice, so I left the hotel.
The manager came after me and apologized. As I spoke with him, it became apparent that his own staff lied to him about what happened. He convinced me to stay and I did so reluctantly. The room was noisy and not very clean.
To be truth, the manager offered my stay for free and a drink on the house, but I did not accept any.
Because of this incodent, I am giving my loyalty card back and am not sleeping at an IHG hotel anymore.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear philosion

Thank you for your feedback.
Constructive criticism like yours helps us identify opportunities and make adjustments.
Further to my follow up while you were still the in-house, I understand the issue was rectified and you received a good stay with us.

Please note that we do not guarantee a specific room at the time of reservation.
As mentioned in the other response in relation to this stay, we did offer a complimentary upgrade to a High floor room with mountain views.
We understand that design and expectations can be very personal to each individual’s taste.
Mr. philos, our interior designer Daniel Liebeskind was inspired by the Westside architecture while creating our bathrooms as well as the window design as it’s all being a part of the new Westside-Bruennen district in Bern.

If you have any special needs, such as a room without any kind of noise, we are happy to provide you with ear plugs, which we did, also it is best to tell us in advance so that we can let you know upfront if we are unable meet your request.
Our reputation and your complete satisfaction are our top priorities and we would rather direct you to a more appropriate selection than have you disappointed with your experience.

We wish we could have met or exceeded your expectations, but do feel that our high reputation ranking is well deserved and thank the majority of reviewers for their honest opinions of their experiences.

We look forward to continued success because of feedback like yours and others.

Mr. philosion, we wish you a peaceful and lovely Christmas time.

Best Regards
Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed there in late November for business. Had driven in from elsewhere in Switzerland. The hotel is attached to the Westside mall/entertainment complex and parking is in the VAST underground garage. There is an entrance to that parking in front of the hotel doors, but it was closed the day I arrived.

I had leave the hotel area and drive around to the other side of the Westside complex to enter from that side. Signage was very confusing, so I wound up back on the highway (the Westside straddles it) and took a 15 minute loop to get back to the complex. Take a ticket at the entrance and follow the signs for the hotel's parking area (a limited amount of spots). You enter another gated area to park in the hotel's section.

A note on accessing the hotel, because, again, the signage was very unclear down there: if you stand with the entrance gate to the hotel's parking directly behind you....walk to the left towards the far wall to access the elevator to the hotel lobby.....just walk towards the wall to the left, when you get there, you will see an arrow saying "hotel"....I didn't see it, so I took the escalators in one of the mall entrances that I could see from the parking area. Long circuitous walk. parking was about $10

The lobby was busy when I arrived. With a bar crammed next to reception and a restaurant taking up the rest of the down stairs, there is not much "lobby". Again, feels like walking into a Holiday Inn Express.

Two small, busy elevators take you up the rooms. the rooms are "modern" (ie no frills, and lots of planes and angles). The workdesk is small, the clothes storage area kind of functional. The bathroom was Spartan, a shower stall, sink, and toilet. Functional and clean.

Overall the room was not inviting or terribly comfortable. Felt no frills, HI Express. Definitely overpriced at about $282. Free low speed access internet was available. As a Platinum member, I was pissed that I had to spend $17 for high speed service.

Ate dinner in the hotel as I ate late after the restaurants and shops in the mall were closed. Service was very friendly, very efficient, and the food was tasty. Dinner, a beer, a soup, and wiener schnitzel, was about $52. Par for the course in Switzerland.

Do take advantage of the free access to AquaPark Bern. You might have to rent a couple towels for a five Francs apiece at the Aquapark. I did not use the water park, just the Sauna area, which was great (note to American and UK tourists.....it is fully nude, no clothing allowed in the sauna area).

I was in that evening, out that morning, so I have no other comments on accessibility or the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear biztrav123,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our BernAqua followed by a tasty dinner in our Restaurant.
I’m truly sorry to hear you had a few issues with our parking section. This belongs to the Westside Complex and unfortunately we have only limited influence on the signages, but i will Forward your comment to the Center Management.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Bern-Westside in November. We did like the location of the Hotel as well as the easy access to transport i.e trams and train station.

The breakfast was great and the rooms were neat and clean. Our beds were also comfortable. Always a welcome site...

Our only hassle was the general 'noise' from house keeping and movement within the hotel. It made it impossible to get an afternoon nap, or early bed time in between business events. I'm not sure the hotel could improve on this problem as the walls are paper thin (could hear our neighbour's alarm in the mornings) and the floors are all wooden.

Other than that... good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear WMWatson,

Thank you for your August visit to Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

I was so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your modern and neat room as well as the Food and beverage range we offer for breakfast.

Please be assured the noise issue has been reviewed with the department manager in order prevent reoccurences in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

Best Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Since all hotels in Bern are quite expensive, this was actually quite a good value. It's a modern hotel located in Westside shopping centre.
The rooms are good, quite spacious, the only drawback is the glass doors on the bathroom - but this is modern design, so you have to live with it. Breakfast was good offering a wide selection of food. I arrived in Switzerland by car, so it was good to have parking in the garage below the hotel. By swiss standards the parking is quite cheap, 0.10CHF/hour for the first 10 hours and then it goes to 1CHF/hour. The rail and tram stations are just outside the hotel, in case you want to use the public transport.
When checking in, the staff told us that we get a free entry into BernAqua aqua park for each night we stay. This was really cool, since entry into BernAqua is quite expensive and it's really good.
The staff were also quite helpful, so overall, quite a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlygod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear onlygod,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review from your most recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

I was so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your modern guestroom, and thank you for commending our staff, services and location.
I am glad to tell you that in 2014 your entry to BernAqua will be even longer than in 2013, because we will extend the entry up to 3h.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards to Zagreb

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in Holiday Inn Bern-Westside in Sep 2013 for 2 nights. This hotel is out of town area but you can easily travel to town as the train station is just directly opposite the hotel (2 mins walks) and there is one big shopping mall beside this hotel.
The view from this hotel was superb. The room was large and free Wifi provided.
Breakfast was OK.
Cons: Some of the toiletries is upon request.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicegoh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear alicegoh2000,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Bern Westside and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am delighted to read your appraisal of our spacious rooms an free WiFi. I know our housekeeping will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks regarding the toiletries.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
823 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
3.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
520 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
3.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Property: Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing