We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Since all hotels in Bern are quite expensive, this was actually quite a good value. It's a modern hotel located in Westside shopping centre.
The rooms are good, quite spacious, the only drawback is the glass doors on the bathroom - but this is modern design, so you have to live with it. Breakfast was good offering a wide selection of food. I arrived in Switzerland by car, so it was good to have parking in the garage below the hotel. By swiss standards the parking is quite cheap, 0.10CHF/hour for the first 10 hours and then it goes to 1CHF/hour. The rail and tram stations are just outside the hotel, in case you want to use the public transport.
When checking in, the staff told us that we get a free entry into BernAqua aqua park for each night we stay. This was really cool, since entry into BernAqua is quite expensive and it's really good.
The staff were also quite helpful, so overall, quite a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onlygod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear onlygod,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review from your most recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

I was so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your modern guestroom, and thank you for commending our staff, services and location.
I am glad to tell you that in 2014 your entry to BernAqua will be even longer than in 2013, because we will extend the entry up to 3h.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards to Zagreb

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 471 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in Holiday Inn Bern-Westside in Sep 2013 for 2 nights. This hotel is out of town area but you can easily travel to town as the train station is just directly opposite the hotel (2 mins walks) and there is one big shopping mall beside this hotel.
The view from this hotel was superb. The room was large and free Wifi provided.
Breakfast was OK.
Cons: Some of the toiletries is upon request.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicegoh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear alicegoh2000,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Bern Westside and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am delighted to read your appraisal of our spacious rooms an free WiFi. I know our housekeeping will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks regarding the toiletries.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 night trip to Switzerland. Great time. Bern wasn't a focal point of our trip, so this location was perfect for exploring other parts of the country. Spent one day in Murren and exploring the moutains - wonderful time, wish we had more time. Spent another day exploring south of Bern, down to Lake Geneva - beautiful. Rented a car for the trip and glad we did - roads were extremely easy to navigate (we brought our GPS from home with a chip for Switzerland roads) and we loved being able to explore at our own schedule and in the little towns that aren't frequented by public transportation. Great trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear James B

Thank you for taking a moment to share your gracious feedback about your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our beautiful scenery and alpine Region.
It is great to hear that even so Bern wasn't your focal point of the trip, you used our Holiday Inn Bern Westside as a Gateway to explore the Country.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

HOW TO GET HERE:
Arrived to Zurich by plane. Took a train from Zurich airport to the main train station in Bern (54 Euro one way). Walked out of the train station and took the #8 Tram to Westside - Brennen (last stop), which took 22 minutes (4.8 CHF).


Pros:
Clean Hotel
Located in a mall, different restaurant options and shopping
Located next to train and tram stops
Free internet
20 minutes from Old Town Bern (train and walking)

Cons:
Small room
Check in at 3 pm (not a minute earlier)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear drmerkulov,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

We are happy to read you enjoyed our convenient location and the cleanliness conditiones in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again here in Bern.

Kind Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We returned after a few years because this is located close to the S Bahn so access to Bern train station and city is very easy. Staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful and assisted with problems we had in adjusting the air-conditioning. Buffet breakfast was consistently good and wholesome -despite the onslaught of the tour groups! The room was large, well appointed with free wifi , the bathroom was clean and had good quality towels and linen. It's a pity there was no mini bar in the room - why ever not?????

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear winwander,

Thank you so much for your reveiw about our property.

It is great to hear you as a retourning guest are still happy with our services!
We're glad you enjoyed your breakfast experience.
Also i would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff.
Our location is very convenient to almost all Bern attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Best Regards to Brisbane,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

At first we thought the hotel is near the train station should be close to town but the hotel is actually out of town a bit but train station is just right opposite of the hotel and a shopping mall beside the hotel is quite convenience. Toiletries are upon request which is kind of weird for holiday inn standard hotel. Room is clean, modern and nice view.
Currently have some problem for paying the hotel room tax twice by cash and credit card.
Hope will be sort out soon.

Room Tip: Request for high floor room to get nice view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvintwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Alvintwp,

Thank you for sharing your feedback at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location and the comfort of our rooms.
I appreciate your feedback on the toiletries and hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel standards very good.Rooms nice and comfortable with all basic amenities .Restuarant provids good service and menu is good for non vegetarians but not good enough for us vegetarians.Its a bit expensive,similarly at breakfast choice for vegetarians is limited and the chef and some staff could not understand English so found it difficult at times to ask for something different. But overall it was a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Rooms at higher level with better views
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rameshchandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Rameshchandra M,

I am pleased to hear you had a very memorable stay and appreciate your nice feedback regarding our Hotel standards.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit regarding the vegetarian food selection. I already informed our F&B Manager regarding that issue to review our menu to be able to offer a wider selection in the future, thank you very much for letting us know.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
836 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
3.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
188 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $152 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing