We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“some things are great, other disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“some things are great, other disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

great
- rooms are very modern
- status recognition, perfect
- friendly staff
- lots of power socklets in the room

disappointing
- no toiletries in a four star hotel
- rooms are too minimalistic
- way below US Holiday Inn standard
- open shower = bath under water

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear philosion,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the modern atmosphere of your room and appreciate your nice feedback on our staff.

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in regards to bathroom amanitys and shower experience. Since we offer competitive amenity standards to our competitors and of course to our own brand including the US Hotels, i would be happy to discuss your stay personally with you, and can be reached at martin.mager@hi-bw.ch or 031 985 2430.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    214
    59
    15
    5
See reviews for
105
145
30
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Near Westside shopping mall with free access to the extensive swim and leisure club...close to movie theatre..good basic restaurants. .. nice clean good sized rooms with a good restaurant avoid breakfast with coach trippers though...good rail and tram connections...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear NCtravellerUk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our Westside shopping mall, BernAqua with close proximity to the Bern city and our spacious and comfortable guest rooms.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvinience caused at the breakfst. We are proud to offer you our Business Club Breakfast Area, which will be available from December 2013. It is created for your personal comfort and it will offer you more room and personal space to enjoy your breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

Best Regards

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend vacation for a concert in Bern and to enjoy the big water park and spa in the mall complex. It was great for what we needed. Staff were helpful and forthcoming. The breakfast was varied and of good quality. The spa was large, top notch quality and you got a hotel rate for the entrance to the water park.

For those unfamiliar with the area it should be noted that the hotel is a bit outside Bern and that you need to drive or use the commuter train to get downtown. We used the train and it was easy and convenient. On the weekend after the mall closed saturday afternoon it did nevertheless feel a bit isolated and the main entertainment (apart from the spa) then was the hotel bar and restaurant.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again for a combined spa and shopping trip.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are good enough for what you need as a traveling couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our mall and spa access location just 8 minutes by train from Bern main station.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast variations and the quality.

I am thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations from the personalized and intuitive service provided by our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next weekend vacation!

Best Regards to wonderful Geneva,

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff was very friendly, providing excellent support when needed. They spoke English fluently. The hotel is modern in style and furnishings. WiFi and LAN-Cable were available. The hotel connects to a world class shopping mall with numerous stores and restaurants. It is located about five miles west of the train station and the taxi cost was 43 Euros. However, we later found out that train service to the downtown train station leaves from next to the hotel every fifteen minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kybuzzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Kybuzzbee

Thank you for sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Bern Westside. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff as well as the restaurant and the mall. We take all of our guest feedback into great consideration. I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

Kind Regards

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just a dream come true. I booked the hotel due to accessibility reason. Train station was right in front of this hotel which take you to Bern city and then every city is within an hour or two away from there. We had the swiss rail pass and it was very convenient. Hotel itself is just beautiful and with great views. I would agree to one of the comments earlier that it may not be a good hotel for someone who has adult kids as the washroom has see through glass. Beautiful water park in the mall included in the hotel price which would go for atleast 20-25 franc per day. Only hickup was the check in where they charged me extra for my 8 month old unlike US where under 2 year doesnt even get counted. According to the receptionist, hotel policy is to have maximum of 3 ppl in the room regardless of age.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportz_Fan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sporz_Fan12

Thank you for your review on Holiday Inn Bern Westside. I'm thrilled to hear you and your family had a great stay and enjoyed the views, service and the BernAqua. I hope you will be able to return on your next trip and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Best Regards to Naperville

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Level Contributor
553 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a holiday inn in Europe
The rooms are on the smaller side and the bathroom basic but functional. They were tight with towels issuing only one set for a double room but if bet if you ask for more they would give it
Mall next door is convenient with some nice food choices that felt like an upmarket food court
Service was efficient and friendly
Parking in attached garage was Swiss prices and expensive given you were out of town

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear DrNic1,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our mall and food court variations. Since you seem to be a regular traveler, i am thrilled to hear you are familiar and enjoying our Holiday Inn Standards.

We looking forward to welcoming you back in the Holiday Inn Family during your future trips.

Best Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

An overnight stopover was a surprising pleasure - even though restaurant was closed Sunday evening (this is what happens in Switzerland) we were guided behind to the local mall where there were many choices of food after a long days travel. Hotel itself was clean and efficient, rooms were quiet. Breakfast next morning was good and filling. Pricewise - standard Holiday inn rates so not a shock....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Neil H,


Thank you for sharing your review at Holiday Inn Bern Westside. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the food options in our mall as well as your room cleanliness. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards to the UK

Martin Mager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Property: Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing