We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard holiday inn close to Bern center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a holiday inn in Europe
The rooms are on the smaller side and the bathroom basic but functional. They were tight with towels issuing only one set for a double room but if bet if you ask for more they would give it
Mall next door is convenient with some nice food choices that felt like an upmarket food court
Service was efficient and friendly
Parking in attached garage was Swiss prices and expensive given you were out of town

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear DrNic1,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our mall and food court variations. Since you seem to be a regular traveler, i am thrilled to hear you are familiar and enjoying our Holiday Inn Standards.

We looking forward to welcoming you back in the Holiday Inn Family during your future trips.

Best Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

An overnight stopover was a surprising pleasure - even though restaurant was closed Sunday evening (this is what happens in Switzerland) we were guided behind to the local mall where there were many choices of food after a long days travel. Hotel itself was clean and efficient, rooms were quiet. Breakfast next morning was good and filling. Pricewise - standard Holiday inn rates so not a shock....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Neil H,


Thank you for sharing your review at Holiday Inn Bern Westside. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the food options in our mall as well as your room cleanliness. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards to the UK

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is part of the mall of Bern Brünnen, called westside.ch and is located only a 8 minute trainride from Bern central station. the mall has some good dining options such as Cha Cha, a few italian restaurants and a Starbucks.

The rooms are smallish but Ok, no minibar, no carpet on the floor and the special Holiday Inn green color...you have to like this for 200 CHF a night.

Breakfast was very good, one asian male server was very pleaseant, thank you for your attention!

Unfortunately the hotel seems to have a very unmotivated staff, the room they assigned us to in the first place was already occupied when we came in, fortunately the other client was all dressed up an watching TV. This was very embarrassing for all parties. When we came back to the reception they simply said: sorry, you can have a coffee on the house. I honestly think this was not appropriate.

Staff never even looked at you to say hi or goodbye. While checking out, we overheard the reception staff talking badly about other clients. They said some nasty things in Schwitzerdütsch about a couple that asked whether they accepted payments in Euros.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Paul L,

We really appreciate you comments on holiday.com as well as here on tripadvisor.
Further to this please allow me to refer to my Front Office Manager's comments to your feedback on Holidayinn.com:

First of all we would like to thank you for your Feedback. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion and experience. Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast area and -team, we will be happy to forward that.
I am very sorry to hear that you were not as satisfied with our staff’s friendliness as we would like you to be.
Furthermore I would like to refer to the incident that happened upon check-in. This is definitively a mistake from our side and should not have happen.
Unfortunately it was the very first day of our receptionist, which does not make it any better but may be at least an explanation.
We do apologise for the inconveniences this caused you and I completely understand that it was not a very nice start at our hotel.
Since you did not want to accept our try to apologise, I would be more than happy if you could let me know what you think is appropriate in such a situation?
In terms of furniture, I guess there are always different tastes and it is hard to meet everybody`s taste in this matter.
Please be sure that your comments are important to us since they give us the chance to improve continually.For any further help, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time directly under fom@hi-bw.ch. Kind Regards from Bern, Aleksandra Dajic / Front Office Manager

Best Regards

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family (two kids ages 10 and 13) stayed in Bern for two nights while my husband was on business. Bern is a UNESCO World Heritage site, but we found it to be very commercialized and built-up. Somehow it seems to have lost its charm compared to other European cities we visited. We stayed in at the Holiday Inn Bern because we needed two rooms and the lodging in the actual city of Bern was very expensive.

The Holiday Inn is an 8-minute train ride away from Bern's center and the train stops directly in front of the hotel, so it is convenient. The hotel is in a mini-business complex, part of a urban architecture project (designed by architect Daniel Libeskind) whose main feature is a huge shopping mall. There is also a small residential area, all of which sits in the middle of fields in the Swiss countryside. The whole area has an odd empty feel, like a ghost town. There is no "environment" or "atmosphere" at all.

The rooms are very clean, but cold with hard tile floors and there is no style in the hotel decor. The bathroom door is semi-frosted glass, so be sure you are comfortable with your traveling partner!

There is free wifi, but it is slow and spotty.

The hotel bistro is not bad and kids eat free. There is also free admission to the mall's water park. My kids loved this - there are 18 pools and three giant water slides.

So if you are looking for a well-priced, convenient, clean place to stay in Bern with kids or while on business, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABCnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear ABCnyc,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
I am happy to hear your mention of the great train connection and our wonderful water park BernAqua. I will be sure to share your review with our staff and hope to welcome you back soon for your next trip.

Best Regards from Bern,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went there for a three days family break and booked two rooms. Nice welcome and swift check-in. As a Platinum member, one room got upgraded to a Deluxe one. These are larger with a minibar (free soft drinks), a Nespresso machine and additional bathroom amenities, features not available in regular rooms. Good beds (although the plastic mattress cover is annoying), TV, in-room safes, free wifi. The main issue when you share a room (deluxe or regular) is the lack of a proper bathroom door (a half transparent slider that is not filtering any noise). Really an uncomfortable lack of privacy!
The hotel has two main great feature: 2 1/2 hours free access per day per guest to the adjacent BernAqua (http://www.bernaqua.ch/) and direct access to the public transport system (tram and train). Access to the mall was nice too, although prices there were expensive (even for Swiss people!). Parking is available at a preferential rate.
Great staff although I was really annoyed to pay for the late check-out (at 4pm), something I was never asked as a Platinum member for almost 15 years!
Bottom line: I might well go back on leisure to enjoy BernAqua and the quick access to the centre of Bern.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Swissdiver,

Thank you for your review on your last stay at our Hotel. I am pleased to hear your family break was a success and you enjoyed our amenities especially the 2.5hours entrance for BernAqua.
The hotel style including the bathroom door is designed by Daniel Libeskind but i agree, it is absolutely a matter of taste. Also thank you very much for the nice compliment about our staff, it is great to hear you would come back! We will be delighted offering you a late check out for free next time, if we are not fully booked on that date.
We are looking foward to welcome you as a returning customer in our Holiday Inn Bern Westside!

Best Regards to Geneva

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is part of our Swiss tour, we checked in here after Zurich. As always, we were trying to check-in earlier than the actual allowed time.

It was my wife's birthday, so I had planned a cake and room decoration before arriving in Switzerland. The actual delay was due to that setup.

While we waited, and not to make us feel embarrassed, they treated us with a glass of champagne each. It was raining that day, and being a smoker, I preferred to sit outside the café, near the railway line. Divine.

The room was finally decorated, we went up, beautiful nice room, good washroom and an amazing view. The hotel is attached to a mall with good outlets and great food options.

I have to acknowledge, the staff was SUPER friendly and tried their best to provide extra for anything that was asked.

Breakfast has limited options, but when you are there, you don't really mind if you have to eat one thing multiple times rather than having multiple things every time.

It has it's own train station, so you just can't ask for more.

Overall... It was just Perfect!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators in case there are any groups staying. They make a lot of noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Az_Ispahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Az_Ispahani,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel and the features we offer.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our room and the decoration for your wifes birthday. We are delighted to hear your wifes birthday was a wonderful experience!
Also I appreciate your kind comments about our staff, "super" is a very kind way of telling us we did a great job for you! Thank you!
We hope to see you again in Bern for a perfect experience in our Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

Best Regards to Dubai,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for two nights and were overall very impressed. Here are the many pros: An incredibly friendly staff who all speak English, a huge breakfast buffet I still can't believe was free, it's connected to a mall with a supermarket/movie theater/water park in it, free admission for 2 1/2 hours daily to the spa/water park, it's right next to the train/tram station which will get you to the center of town in less than 10 minutes, there is air conditioning and you can store your bags with them in a locked room.

The con were overall minor. The shower is poorly designed; instead of a full door or curtain, there is only an unmovable piece of glass covering part of the opening. Expect to get lots of water on the floor. The bathroom door is mostly clouded over, but not totally. The only tv channels in English are SkyNews and CNN, so it's really good if you like watching the news. The positives far outweigh the negatives here, and we would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJC1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear SJC1020

Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay with us.
I am so happy our personnel and services impacted your stay in a positive way.
Please contact us in advance on your next journey to Bern and we will ensure you next stay is as flawless as your first!
Be asured we are taking your contras seriously and work on it for your future stay with us.

Greeting to Plantation,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
836 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
3.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
187 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $151 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing