We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed April 16, 2013

very nice hotel, a little bit out of the city but public transportation and tram station is just a few minutes walk away from hotel. polite and helpful concierge and reception, smiley and fast service stuff. small but delicious braekfast buffet. ice hockey stadium and shopping mall is the additional places near the hotel, there was a small local fair front of the shopping mall and we tasted many kinds of swiss cheese:))..free

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egitimgezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear egitimgezer,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our service the Shopping and the great swiss cheese.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 479 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

For one night this hotel is very good choice, the price is okay and the hotel is modern and well decorated. free WiFi. friendly staff.

location is not too bad, easily reached by bublic transportation or car.

there is a shopping mall, food court, cinma & water park next door.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unique_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear unique_1111,

Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your comments about our staff and thank you for your time writing this comment. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. The room was clean, spacious, and spartan. The hotel adjoins a shopping mall which gives you access to Swiss chain restaurants and, notably, a great water park (which you can use for free). The hotel is right across the street from the commuter train into Bern which takes about 10 minutes.

Service is polite, efficient, not particularly warm.

The best part of the hotel were the windows in our room. Huge picture windows that made the farmland across the road look like a beautiful picture. I tried to take a picture, but the picture didn't do it justice.

Don't expect luxury - it is a clean, modern, efficient hotel, but worth the money

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room that faces across the street to the farmland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjkimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear sjkimm,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Spa and the views overlooking the Alps from your room.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.

Best Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was a bit disappointing. Rooms were large and clean but not luxurious as I expected for an executive room. I booked two rooms with panoramic view and we received only one. However I did not get any discount for it.

TV far too small compare to the size of the room.

Breakfast was ok, no premium product, no hot drinks service, no welcome, no farewell.

I ordered a package giving a welcome drink alcohol free and the receptionist repeat it at check in. However when I decided to order it and ask for a coke, the answer was no. It has to be a specific fruit cocktail: low quality orange juice, pineapple juice and red fruit sirup in a tiny champagne glasses. Don't offer a drink like this at more than 300 swiss franc a night for 1 room.

Swimming pool was great.

Room Tip: ask for at least 6th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

PA

Dear jpetto2,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the swimming pool.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on customer service. We will look into this. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The staff checked us in was friendly and very helpful, great Swiss hospitality! The room was spacious and comfortable and with lovely mountain views. One of the hotel's entrances is connected to a new and modern shopping centre which has lovely shops, supermarket and restaurants. It's next to a train station and tram station which connect the hotel with the city centre and Bern main train station. We took tram NO. 8 from the tram stop (at the main entrance of train station turned right and crossed the road at the traffic lights and the stop for NO.8 was facing the main tram station). It took us about 20 minutes on the tram. I would recommend that you take the Urban Train to the hotel (Bern Westside stop) if you arrived in Bern by train, which would be easier. Just ring the hotel for advice if you are unsure.

We had a great night sleep and we enjoyed the delicious breakfast which included cold and hot selection...fresh fruit and Chinese boiled rice and sauces. The chef was lovely too.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay! Thanks for helping us to choose this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor and room with mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Lipsytravel,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bern Westside.
I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience and thank you for the nice comments about our service team.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bern.

Kind Regards,

Martin Mager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thanks to tripadvisor, after reading a lot of reviews I booked this hotel for my trip to Bern.

what I found great - to name a few.
1. Great rooms - Big compared to Europian standards.
2. Rooms were super modern and looked new. WiFi was working great.
3. Bathroom had great NEW fixtures.
4. The breakfast (I paid for breakfast included rate) was great. Cold cuts, eggs, breads everything.
5. Location - great location. 20 Mins ride by Tram 8 very frequent and 8 mins ride by train every 20 mins or so, to the central Bern Station.
6. Connected to a big shopping mall in case you needed some groceries or wanted to shop.
7. Super friendly staff - my checkin was at 3 but reached around noon, after checking the status of the room - they allowed me to check in. Thank you.
8. Our room had great view of fields and Swiss Snow capped Alps in the distance.

So overall - a GREAT BET to stay when visiting Switzerland (Bern region).

Room Tip: Check the breakfast included rate - It is a great option. See if you can get the mountain view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel staff was very helpful and professional. Clean and quite hotel. Connected to shopping mall. There are couple restaurants in the mall. Italian, Thai and Japanese. Hotel has restaurant and bar.
Will choose this hotel in future
But Internet was slow.

Room Tip: Hotel is 15 mins ride from Bern center city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDBPatel-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
4.4 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
850 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
190 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
536 reviews
3.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $144 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing