We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mazot

Le Mazot
Ranked #30 of 512 Restaurants in Bern
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Step in off the street and get quick and friendly service, side salad was big and fresh. The main meal rosti (American skillet to us) was amazing. Would come back again.

Helpful?
Thank Flashwpb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    155
    66
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, excellent fondue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Service here is fast and very customer friendly. We had a regular fondue which was perfectly spiced. After the four of us finished the entire pot, the waiter brought us a little extra pot of cheese. This is customer service. Cheaper than other Fondue Restaurants in Bern. Make sure to book a table on the upper floor in a cosy environment away from the noisy crowd downstairs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeuxJardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food - Nothing Fancy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We ate here during our trip to Bern. It is located in a square just at the "entrance" to old town and close to the parliament building and the clock tower. During the day there was a "green market" in the square. The location was perfect. It has traditional Swiss food and we wanted to try the "Rosti" which is basically hash browns with your choice of toppings ranging from sausage with onion sauce to raclette. It was very good and for Bern it was very reasonably priced. We sat "outside" which is to say in a covered front area with sliding doors that allow it to be opened up to the square, weather permitting. The service was efficient, the staff spoke english and were very attentive. This was a good find and we would return on our next trip to Bern. Its not a fancy, high dollar swiss restaurant but the food and service were good, the price was right and it had a great view of the square for people watching. A+++ restaurant find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LDV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
167 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Decent meal in central Bern”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived a bit late in downtown Bern, on a Sunday evening, so we began our search for an open restaurant. We knew on Sunday night can be very complicated to find any open food outlet, so we were prepared to the worst. We found Le Mazot and, had our dinner at a table in the main square. My Valais style Roesti was good, and my wife also appreciated her. We bot had a couple of beers in the very warm Swiss evening, pleasant enough despite of the nearby roadworks. Service was quick, maybe not a smiley guy but, hey, we are there not to get new fellows waiters. Price on medium level, acceptable in the very expensive Bern.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Achille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
682 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“friendly staff and traditional food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

the staff here is very accommodating. They do prefer if you speak german but are willing to speak several languages. The dishes are traditional and good value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mazot also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Le Mazot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing