We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
hotel brasserie au violon
Nearby Hotels
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel D - Basel(Basel)
$130
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$120
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Balade(Basel)(Great Value!)
$114
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Rochat(Basel)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
$118
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel City Inn(Basel)(Great Value!)
$112
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Passage(Basel)
$130
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
35
45
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
45
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristmas marketprison cellformer conventcreme brûléeinner courtyardbreakfast roomgood sizereception staffpublic transportationdollscentre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 90 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an interesting place! It is a former police station and someone had reserved a room for me in the former cell complex. Two cells were made into one small room with a limited view on a courtyard. There was neither phone nor TV, so it felt a bit isolated. Very clean, impeccable service at reception.The breakfast is fine, but the lady who worked there simply 'looked me out of the room' when I was the last guest.The restaurant is fine: good food and nice interior, although somewhat pricy. It is run by Frenchmen who are not fluent in German. All in all next time I would stay in one of the better rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polderpolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a fairly long business dinner at the restaurant associated with Hotel Brasserie au Violon. I speak reasonably fluent German, but at times struggled to understand our waiter who spoke VERY Swiss German. It was an amusing interaction. The food was very good, perhaps a bit expensive, but overall, I was happy with the quality and service. It is a tricky place to find, as the main entrance is an almost unmarked elevator entrance just off the main tram depot/interchange.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank stubby_galavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel was quaint and provided great directions on how we would need to get there from the airport. Reception staff were very pleasant. The room in the C category was clean and minimalist, no TV. nice view of the lovely courtyard. bathroom was tight, but thats nothing new in Europe. it was very very clean!! we did not eat there, but breakfast smelled great! the hotel is near the town hall historic site and great shopping. if we had more time in Basel, i would have probably gotten a better category room, but the one we had was perfect for our needs. the fact it was a converted prison was an added bonus! Thanks for being easy to do business with!

Room Tip: if you will be there for more than one night i suggest you dont pick a Cat C room, as it is bare bones, but servicable.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ljones3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We got to the Hotel Brasserie au Violoncello on our way from Austria to the Alsace as a stay-over in Basel. The location (above the noisy part but still just a few hundred meters from the centre) is just great although you have to get your car to the next public parking garage. The room was clean and nice. The best thing however was the (garden) restaurant in the courtyard under the old trees. Fantastic for a lunch or a beer outside. The only annoyance was that internet was not for free. And careful: Switzerland has become a really expensive location for eating out. Just carry on a few miles into Alsace and prices become reasonable again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Manfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed for 2 days in this nice little hotel in the center of Basel and can only recommend it.
I had a "Polizeizimmer" = police room with a wonderful view down to the Barfüsserplatz and the "skyline" of the town. Attention: The Barfüsserplatz is one of the main tram meeting places of Basel, so there is always some noise. The cell rooms are looking into the inner yard and are totally quite.
Colleagues stayed at the cell-rooms and were also very satisfied.
The builing is a former jail and has been carefully restored some years ago.
My room was very spacious and also the bath was fine.
The breakfast is reasonable and the waiters are attentive.
A highly recommendation for people who like hotels away from the "normal" and who appreciate this special atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Barfüsserplatz when you want a view, if you want to have silence you should choose a cell.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_E_Pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews