We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When the craving hits...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namamen

Namamen
Ranked #146 of 635 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vorstädte
Description: We love Ramen. We love Design. And we love to connect people with different cultures.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“When the craving hits...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Basel is not known for its share of Asian restaurants so when the craving hits, Namamen is a good place to fix that itch. =) If you like your ramen spicy, ask for the spicy pepper.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    46
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ramen (not noodle soups!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

For those of you reading the reviews below, I am not sure I would trust anyone who writes a review calling ramen "Japanese noodle soup" -- it's ramen! And for that reason, I don't think you can assess how great the place is without trying it out first. I've dined in many Basel restaurants and find things overly expensive and not very good (Swiss sausage in a salad was like chopped up hot dogs in a salad in the US, ribeye steaks were small, overprepared, and not juicy... the list goes on).
I tried the miso ramen here with pork. Being from New York City and living in San Francisco, I can say that I've tried multiple ramen places, and the ramen here is great. (Yes I admit the sushi isn't great... have yet to find a good sushi place in Basel). Service was great. Selection of drinks were great. Yes it's expensive for ramen but anything in a restaurant is expensive in Switzerland.
Overall, a good experience. Would definitely recommend (and don't listen to the naysayers). It's cash only (pay in CHF to avoid being ripped off with the Euro as other reviews have stated).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Came here for a very late lunch, because this place looks really packed during lunch hour. We had couple of soups that were pretty decent. The place itself is pretty clean and modern and the staff was friendly, but the prices seem too high for what you get. Also, they don't take credit cards.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pilsen_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Japanese soups”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Lovely Japanese soups in a simple location. Practical for a quick, healthy meal

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baselgirl_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can I put negative stars?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The place looks clean and decent. But the noodle soups are bad. From an Asian taste bud stand point. It is absolutely horrid. The soy based soup tasted like it was diluted straight from soy souce. Nothing like Japanese noodle soup in my opinion. And they don't take credit cards. If pay in Euros, be prepared to get ripped of by their own conversion rate. Then they retrun the change in Swiss Francs, again rip you off with their conversion rate. So, in a nutshell, you got double dipped with their ridiculous conversion rate.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namamen also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Namamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing