We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A seceret place behing the station”
Review of Tibits

Tibits
Ranked #31 of 852 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Takeout
Description: tibits bietet ein reichhaltiges Buffet mit uber 40 leckeren und saisonal wechselnden vegetarischen und veganen Salaten, heissen Gerichten, Suppen, Sandwiches und Desserts an. Frisch und hausgemacht - fur alle, die gerne geniessen.--------tibits offers up a rich buffet with over 40 tasty and seasonally changing vegetarian and vegan salads, hot dishes, soups, sandwiches and desserts. Fresh and homemade - for all who like good food.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

I come here often between trains and its always well visited (though not be rail travelers).
They have a bit of everything for good variety but nothing too special and not their signature taste. Also, I found things bland overall but for everyone to like.
This location is usually well visited but so far always found a space for one.
A little struggle is sometimes that I do not want a lid or cutlery and they tried to charge me extra for eating immediately even though I carry to the station before eating.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matilda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2019

A wonderful selection of very yummy vegetarian and vegan food. Try the hummus! Cafeteria style selections with descriptions of each food. Moderately priced- pay by the weight of your plate! Dessert selections, including an excellent array of ice cream treats. The seating indoors is very cozy and comfortable, or you sit can sit outdoors and people-watch. If you’re in a hurry, you can pack a container for take-out.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donnaa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

Note that each plate is weighed at the end and then you are charged depending on the weight of your plate. The food was decent — I like vegan/ vegetarian food but I felt like a lot of the dishes could have benefited from more spices. The bread was not good at all — rock hard and no flavor. The lentil salad was definitely the best option on the buffet.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank kellyfG7142ZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

This is an all vegetarian and Vegan buffet that serves alcohol. Great options including deserts. Clean environment and helpful staff. This is my 3rd trip to this restaurant and have had a great experience every time.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank F5749WHmarkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

It’s cool as a vegetarian to have a decent restaurant with delicious food. Tibits offers without a doubt good and tasty food, but the price is way to high for a self-service restaurant. In other cities we’ve already seen the concept of ‘pay for what you eat’, which we encourage, but normally this comes with a decent price.

The buffet was hectic, a lot of people weren’t queueing and didn’t wait their turn. Even the personel encouraged their clients ‘not to queue’ but ‘just grab the food’. The payment was hectic too and this was probably the most upsetting part. While we ‘asked if they have Coke Zero’, the waiter (who afterwards appeared to be the boss) charged immediately one. This was against our own will, since it’s Coke Zero of a ‘fake brand’.

When we asked afterwards to cancel the Coke Zero, the owner told us that we only could ‘exchange it’ since the money we paid was with credit card and he ‘didn’t receive this cash’. We decided to exchange it for a sparkling water, which costs 30 cents less. Maybe you can guess it, but the owner didn’t want to pay our 30 cents in the first place. Because we didn’t agree at first, he dramatically told me he was going to pay it from his own purse. We think the boss exaggerated and didn’t act customer friendly. It’s poor that a ‘boss’ of a business like this, makes such a drama for only 30 cents ‘of profit’.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YannickVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibits also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Tibits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing