We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit, this time for lunch”
Review of Tibits

Tibits
Ranked #30 of 833 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Takeout
Description: tibits bietet ein reichhaltiges Buffet mit uber 40 leckeren und saisonal wechselnden vegetarischen und veganen Salaten, heissen Gerichten, Suppen, Sandwiches und Desserts an. Frisch und hausgemacht - fur alle, die gerne geniessen.--------tibits offers up a rich buffet with over 40 tasty and seasonally changing vegetarian and vegan salads, hot dishes, soups, sandwiches and desserts. Fresh and homemade - for all who like good food.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A visit to Basel isn’t complete for us without eating at Tibits. I’d looked forward to eating outside but it was too hot - but there are lots of tables to the side of the restaurant that look very inviting. We went after the lunch hour, missing the crowds of our last visit. Yay. Lots of cold choices - my favorites included a vegan beef tartare, lentil salad, and a vegan egg salad. Hot dishes included several fried foods, which I usually avoid, but these were great. No charge for roll or tap water. Food is weighed at the end. Our plates ranged from 14 to 20 Swiss francs forgery tasty filling meals. Too full to get dessert.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Loretta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits_restaurants, tibits Team at Tibits, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Loretta V

A huge thank you for your great review and your recent visits. How nice that you felt at home in our restaurant and loved our vegan egg salad as much as we do. By the way: it's made with tofu and Kala Namak, also known as black salt.

We hope to soon welcome you again.

Warmest regards
your tibits team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s a rather nice place, but for the price I expect a shredded carrots salad to be freshly prepared, which was clearly not the case. That’s a shame.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Appyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits_restaurants, tibits Team at Tibits, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Appyguy

Many thanks for your honest feedback.

As you maybe know we source all our ingredients locally and seasonally and work hard to bring you not only the freshest food possible, but also food you can trust. That comes at a certain price, we're sure you understand that.

We take your feedback by heart and make sure to double check the carrot salad, so it tastes great with every bite.

We hope that you'll give us a second chance and try our dishes again.

Warmest regards
your tibits team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently went through Basel by train. This restaurant is right beside the SBB station, and it is an excellent place for a nice lunch while waiting for your next train.
It's a vegetarian buffet. You fill up your plate, and you are charged for how much it weighs. We also had a good local red wine.
The staff were very friendly and they assisted us with our plates and drinks to our table.
The restaurant is very clean and modern.
Definitely coming back here again...

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits_restaurants, tibits Team at Tibits, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dave C

Many thanks for your review and the time you took to tell us about your tibits experience.

We are happy to hear that we could convince you with ourconcept to the fullest and we are looking forward to soon welcoming you again.

Warmest regards
your tibits team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious!!! Had many meals there and was never disappointed. Self serve buffet style. All ingredients are top notch.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank billhO8430NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Despite being a fan for years, we decided to not go that often because the choices are repetitive for many days during the week
The chefs apparently don't taste before serving because many times the hummos and other dishes were very salty and other dishes are very oily
The gluten free options are very limited
The gluten free bread options should improve in terms of choice and quality, very cold and like stones most of the time and not feeling like eating decent bread
Yes we still find it very expensive

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank san852018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits_restaurants, Community Manager at Tibits, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Dear san852018

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review about tibits and letting us know your thoughts.

We understand your criticism of our variety of the dishes. At the request of many guests, we have adapted our menu planning so that our guests favourite dishes can be found more often at the buffet than others. But this summer we will do it again as it was before, as we have noticed the same as you. The offer will be bigger and again change daily.

The amount of salt and oil we use in our recipes is generally low and this is very important to us. That’s also why we offer our guests salt and pepper shakers at every table. If you notice too much salt or oil again on your next visit, please do not hesitate to approach the team. That way we can immediately take action and improve the tibits experience for our guests.

We are currently looking for new gluten-free breads, but because of our standard of having them in organic quality, it's a little more difficult. Don’t worry though, there is a good chance that we will soon find the perfect replacement.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards
Zoë from tibits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibits also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Tibits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing