We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
186
193
42
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
193
42
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmemory foam mattressexecutive roomnice hoteltram stopbusiness travelaccor hotelswalk in showernecessary amenitiesthe central railway stationfast wifimodern facilitieslong stayroom pricefamily roomstayed at this hotel for nightssmall fridgegood size
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 441 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2017

This is good business hotel close to the Main Railway Station. Additionally tram lines are easy to use and there are many stops close to the hotel.
Breakfast is good and there was plenty of good quality choices.
Rooms are large and modern style gives a good qulaity feeling for everything.
Free Wi-Fi and free ticket of the local traffic are given for the hotel's guests.

Room Tip: Some noise of traffic and trams in case your windows are ahead to the street
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna-Loviisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Anna-Loviisa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Max Lavori
Room Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

the hotel is good,clean,comfortable.the reception staff very friendly and helpful,the cleaning ladies good.they have free mineral water in the rooms,a boiler,i don't know if the coffee is free?the breakfast is good and the waiters very polite.the problem is that they will ask for 350chf,deposit when you arrive,but they don't let us know about this when we made the reservation?! i had no problem,because when i left the hotel they cancelled the amount of 350chf,and next day the money were availble.so,a good hotel go for it.the best way to find the hotel is to walk;take the posstenpassage,at the train station,then cross the street and take jackob burhard passage ,and in 10 minutes you;ll see the novotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
Thank aurica427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Dear aurica247
Thank you very much for taking you time to send us your feedback.
We are very happy that we could meet your expections with our service and friendliness.
While arriving we do take your credit card as an guarantee, the authorization will only cover
the cost of your stay plus some extra if you like to use any service in the hotel.
But as you mentioned, as soon as you left the hotel the block will be released.
For the minibar all rooms will have the water inclusive and the water will be replaced very day as well as the coffee/tea station. Only the snacks and the soft-drinks/beer will be charged if you use it. With the executive room the soft-drinks will be free as well.
We hope to have you back someday.
Have a great day.
Kind regards
Max Lavori
Rooms Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. When you first walk in it looks like a high class place. When we walked in there was free ice tea. Very good. The rooms are amazing. Bathroom is very nice. Shower has a switch to switch on and off to see through the glass when someone is showering:).

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ivanshantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Ivanshantel,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Max Lavori
Room Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

One night stay en-route between Interlaken and home in U.K. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Room very good. Housekeeping not up to standard as shower soap was empty. Reported to reception and housekeeping came to room while we we at dinner, cleaned shower but left soap dispenser still empty. Should be more choice in restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank N2198WIronaldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear N2198WIronaldw
Thank you very much for send us your feedback.
First at all we are very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay.
We forwarded your comments about the housekeeping issue to avoid any further inconveniences.
And know thank you about your great comments about our staff and facilities.
We really hope to have you back someday.
Have a great day!
Kind regards from Basel
Max Lavori
Room Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

The gym had very nice posters of exercises with a Pilates Ball, as well as stretching exercises on a mat, but the gym did not have a ball nor a mat! Instead, there was a large fatboy bean bag, absolutely not recommending for sports or stretching.

The gym lacked air conditioning, and reception was not very nice, saying they would not disturb the facility man for such a minor thing (seriously!). Wow... very little customer focus!!!

The travel from the city with the tram card given by the hotel is straight forward with Tram number 15 going to the Market Platz downtown.

Parking is 26CHF with an elevator directly to your room, worth the price.

The hotel is in the Swiss part of Basel, I could not find a staff who speaks French...

The room is a standard Novotel room. The only unusual detail, you could flip a switch which made the wall between the room and the bathroom transparent. The kids loved it!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank pptar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear pptar

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Max Lavori
Room Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews