We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Basel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Kunsthalle

Restaurant Kunsthalle
Ranked #110 of 635 Restaurants in Basel
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Vorstädte
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Basel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, small menu but a very tasteful choice.
Location is very central and well marked.
Will definitely go back again , when I'm next in Basel, for the invaluable service.
Well done team of Kunsthalle....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DharmK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    51
    32
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“good location. confused about their theme”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

this restaurant is in an excellent location. the food is so so, for typical high Basel prices. They seem to be confused if they want to be an italian or french restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank psuscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“For me - the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Ok - it is not a restaurant you take kids along and they don't have a kids card. But the card has enough for kids and also special wides are easy handled. I was totally happy and my kids were too. Good good, service good, kids happy. Me happy.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dude2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Chalet Salon for business”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a 12 place table reserved for a business lunch and instead of being shown to the main restaurant we were directed into a wooden hut, chalet style, but without any of the atmosphere. We had pre-ordered the food to expidate the service but unlike the main restaurant this chalet was sorely lacking.The steak was hard so I left it on my plate, telling the waiter I could not cut it. I was not given a steak knife nor offered an alternative menu. Another colleague ordered beef tatar and he did not get any toast with it. When he queried this he was given a basket of cut, soft white French baguette. Another colleague asked for French fries and was told there were none on the menu. And worst of all the colleague who ordered pasta found that the Parmesan cheese he had put on his food was blue! There was no offer of replacing the pasta but a bowl of fresh cheese was provided. A lunchtime experience to forget!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The In Place in Basel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Restaurant Kunsthalle is located in the Center of the City. In Front of the Restaurant you will find the amazing fountain, a sculpture from Jeannot Tingueley!
In the Kunsthalle everybody meets everybody! Lawers, artists, musicians and stars mix with the local and enjoy the unique atmosphere from this fantastic restaurant.
The Restaurant is diveded in several sections. One of them is the Campari Bar and two restaurants, one more elegant, one more brasserie. Come and visit this marvellous place, also perfect after visting a concert or One of the theatres!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MCTaugwalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kunsthalle also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Restaurant Kunsthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing