We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airport Hotel Basel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. I was in town for a work function, meeting at Swiss Airlines corporate office just up the road. I did not have the opportunity to fly into Basel, but opted to take the train from Zurich instead which I highly recommend!

As for the hotel, the rooms are spacious, beds extremely comfortable, showers amazing (massive water pressure) and free wifi! I did pop over to the casino with my free slot voucher which went away in a blink.

They also offer a good variety for breakfast. This is my first visit to Switzerland and wasn't fully prepared on pricing. A basic hamburger and fries is a bit steep at 22CHF, even by European standards that I've seen so far.

The rooms are warm, be prepared to keep your window open. I had the thermostat down as low as it would go without much luck. I'm not sure what the settings represent though, the sign on the wall states it's neither Celsius or Fahrenheit.

Getting around town is very simple. The #50 bus picks up right in front of the hotel and will take you to the airport or the train station where all the action is. Pick a tram or bus and explore the city at random. I walked to the Rhine on my first day and enjoyed the local flavor. Everyone was very friendly.

Room Tip: As for a high floor so you the bright red lighting of the casino doesn't infiltrate your room, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPIguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for writing such a great review. We are glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear about your room being warm. In Switzerland due to environmental reasons, we are not allowed to freely cool down the rooms. The max temperature in the room can be 5 degrees lower than the outside temperature. For the windows, as our hotel is a high building, the windows to not widely open. We are looking forward to welcome you the next time when you will be in Basel. Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    273
    66
    20
    10
See reviews for
100
157
70
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the 3 plus stars - it is a very good hotel, superior to many 4 star places I've been to. Great free wifi all over, big clean modern decorared room (mine was 711) very silent and a nice restaurant area. Food was internatinal and easy. I had a filling dinner they also offer a free gym I didn't use. Nor did I visit the Casino. My outbound flight was at 6:26am and they offer basic continental breakfast, more than enough, from 4:30am. I made use of the free public PCs to print our boarding cards and the taci qe ordered was waiting for us at 5:00 am as requested. And on top of everything there was a friendly and helpful attitude from all staff, especially from Jordi at reception.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicente C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we deserve in your opinion more than 3 stars superieur. It`s great to hear that you liked our friendly staff particularly Jordi. We will forward this compliment to him! We are looking forward to welcome you in the nearest future! Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights during the Basel watch fair. Easy and near and offer a shuttle bus to and from the fair which was really handy. Breakfast is extra. 20 Swiss francs and lots to choose from. Hotel and staff very helpful and friendly. Only complaint my room was really hot and Ac didn't seem to be working can open a window but it's only small. Housekeeping also don't replace shampoo /shower gel everyday. Apart from that room great nice and big bathroom great powerful shower. We ate 1st night in hotel ok food . Breakfast better. It's clean, quiet and very comfortable beds.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment. We highly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your room being warm. In Switzerland due to environmental reasons, we are not allowed to freely cool down the rooms. The max temperature in the room can be 5 degrees lower than the outside temperature. For the windows, as our hotel is a high building, the windows to not widely open. As for the amenities not be changed every day I will personally look at this.

Once again, thank you for your comment and hope to be able to welcome you next year during the Baselworld 2015.

Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

very good, nice comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff.prices fair for offered luxury-rooms. spacy rooms with all refinements, very good beds,all design and modern.also very good wi-fi connection (free). included at the price is a free busticket for public transport in and towards Basel city, also a 5 euro voucher is included for the casino next door.No n oises from airport or autobahn.i did not use the spa or the swimming pool but i guess it would have been okay as well!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canderbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment. We highly appreciate your feedback and are glad that everything was ok and you had a nice stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you in the future! Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Friendly and helpfull staff. One bus station from the National Airport and great connection to center at the same time. The hotel is spaceious, the rooms are clean and food is good. For any recommandation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarijaKlinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our friendly and helpful staff. We are really looking forward to welcome you in the nearest future! Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Airport Hotel Basel is well situated for getting into and around Basel as well as for getting to and from the airport.
My room was clean and well appointed. Free WIFI throughout the hotel is always a bonus. There are plenty of places to sit and do work or meet with people outside your room. There is a nice terrace on the first floor if the sun is shining.
You don't have the curse of the tram noise that you do in hotels within Basel. The number 50 bus takes you in and if you download the BVB public transport app it is easy to plan your journey around the city by bus and tram. In Basel of course this is free as you have your mobility card which you get along with your hotel room.
The gym is functional and you can access it anytime you like with your room key.
I found the staff very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is good with enough of a range to keep most people happy and once you work out the industrial class nespresso machine the coffee is great.

Room Tip: Honestly all the rooms are good. get higher up if you can and you get a view that includes the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike4328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for writing a review about your experiences in our hotel. We are glad to hear that everything was fine and that you had some beautiful hours in our hotel. We would be glad to welcome you in the nearest future! Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Short bus ride from the airport. City bus every 7 minutes, so easy access to the city.
Friendly staff and nice breakfast.
Some construction work outside at the moment, so if you're planning on sleeping at daytime - choose another hotel until this wok is finished.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julenielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for writing a review. It`s great to hear that you liked the friendly staff as well as the breakfast buffet. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the nearest future! Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basel
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#10 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Mulhouse Bale Aeroport
#2 of 6 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Basel

Property: Airport Hotel Basel
Address: Flughafenstrasse 215, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Basel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#12 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Hotel Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing