We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good choice, best airport hotel yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Airport Hotel Basel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“A very good choice, best airport hotel yet”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Airport Hotel Basel last night with my family consisting also of a baby and a toddler.

We had room 810 on the eigth floor, a very spacious family room, with ample space for all our luggage (and it was lots of it),pushchair and plenty more space to move around, sit down and so on.

Check in was early and we were greetes warmly by the attentive staff, who spoke excellent English. Our room wasn't ready but that was expected at 11 a.m and we were offered a welcome drink, a tou for each of the children, which was very happily accepted, and storage for our luggage. We asked if our luggage could be taken to our room (seing that we were planning to do some shopping and had a pushchair to take up as well), when our room was ready and this was met very well.

We were issues with what they called mobility tickets, basically all inclusive public transport cards for all of us for the duration of our stay.

We chose the hotel for its close proximity to the airport (a 5' hotel shuttle drive) and proximity to the city of Basel as we have never been before and had a whole day to do some sightseeing.

The hotel is perfectly situated for access to both, putting it on my list for when we go sightseeing in Basel again. It is a short bus ride to the Basel train station (about 15' plus waiting for the bus) and then a 2 stop tram ride to the Old Town (Markplatz stop on 8 or 11 tram). The front desk staff explained all that and gave us a map with all the info on, which was very helpful.

The city itself is really lovely, the pedestrianised old town has plenty of things to see and enjoy.

Back to the hotel proper check in was smooth, no queues or waiting (Saturday evening) and our room was a breath of fresh air.

I am quite puzzled as to why it has 3 stars only, I have been to many 4 star airport hotels both in the UK and abroad, and there was a lot more on offer here than an average 4 star elsewhere.

Big modern very well utilised space in the room, ample of wardrobe space, space to store luggage, big bathroom with large bathtub (and i mean large!) and walk in shower. Elemis products and plenty of fresh fluffy towels (including a single robe in the wardrobe). Really good fixtures and fittings and modern decor.
The hotel thoughtfully provides small bottles of water in the room with compliments, again very well received as we were thirsty and tired when we want back after a day's sightseeing in beautiful Basel.

The corner sitter/toddler bed was far enough from our kind bed and a good quality travel cot with good mattress and child friendly bedding for baby were all kindly prepared for us.

Free wifi for a gadgetaholic like me was of sufficient speed and reception in the room as well as public areas. I loved the fact that they have 2 pcs by reception and free printing right there. Which meant a hassle free printing of our boarding passes. Very well thought out, thank you.

The large HD TV embedded into the furnishings is far enough from the bed to be a great enjoyment to watch once the children were asleep. Enough English and other european channels to find something to watch.

The hotel has a pleasant entrance and bright coloured seating area behind the reception, restaurant,casino and fitness rooms but we were too tired to try any of these. We were more than happy with the facilities we did use, and the service we got.

I would like to especially thank the kind lady at reception at 5.20 a.m this morning who let me borrow some of her brown tape as we bought a very large toy in Basel for our baby unexpectedly and it needed additional packaging. And the gentleman yesterday morning around 11 who helped book the hotrl shuttle for our crack of dawn transfer to the airport- very smooth indeed.

We will definitely be returning - keep up the outstanding level of care and service.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lia-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time to write such a great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could surprise you with our services of a 3 star hotel. We will forward you compliments to our staff. We really looking forward to welcome you and your family in the nearest future! Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    277
    67
    20
    10
See reviews for
100
159
71
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merksplas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very good hotel in the direct neighborhood of Basel Airport. Good service: check-in, check-out, restaurant,...
Convenient airport shuttle. Free ticket for the public transport in Basel. Bus directly at the exit of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast, vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns online zu bewerten. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und dass Sie den kostenfreien Shuttle zum Airport als praktisch empfunden haben. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie in naher Zukunft wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen! Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Untersiggenthal, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were really pleased we choose Airport Hotel Basel as our stopover before an early flight from Basel Airport. Right from the moment we walked in the door we were made to feel very welcome. We enjoyed the meals chosen and the service provided. The provision of the early free shuttle service was a bonus. Although we did not utilise the casino next door it is always nice to have the close facility. We look forward to our next visits later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time to write a review. We are very pleased that you felt welcome from the beginning. We really looking forward to welcome you this year once again. Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walchwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you have an early flight from Basel the Airport hotel Offers nice Roms, good Service and a good price Quality value! And parking for free as well as a Free Shuttle Service! It is worth a try for this great Opportunität....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guests, thank ever so much for your kind comments. We are happy our services made your visit in our hotel an enjoyable one. We hope to see you again soon. Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had an early flight out of Basel so we spent our last night in this hotel. In this function the hotel was excellent. Nice room, comfortable bed, close to the airport, wifi included, big HD TV with lots of channels (including dozens of English channels)..... Its also got a casino in the building (which I didn't visit) and it serves breakfast from 4:30am (which we didn't eat). All in all it delivers what it advertises.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad to here that you liked our new renovated rooms as well as the new TV`s. We would be glad to welcome you in the nearest future! Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you land in Basel as a base for your trip this is a perfect hotel before and after flights.
Rooms are very nice. Hotel has options for dinner which are good and you can get free transportation tickets to go to Basel and back. Bus station is right outside the hotel.
If you want to spent an evening at the casino it is attached to the hotel which is very convenient.
The hotel also offer free parking if you arrive with a car , which we found very helpful.
Breakfast is excellent with large variety and choices . If you have an early flight the hotel offers free continental breakfast from 4:30 to 6:00 which was very good for us as our flight was at 7:00.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the public transportation into Basel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EitanIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for writing a review. It`t really great to here that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you in the nearest future. Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Was at the hotel just for sleeping as I had to take an early flight from basel airport. While the hotel is quite near the airport (but not adjacent), the colourful neon lights and modern style were not really relaxing. Anyhow, everything I needed was more or less there, including in house parking place except food and drink dispenser machine was out of order. The hotel is in the same building as the casino. But atmosphere a bit pragmatic. For catching the flight in the morning just ok and price reasonable. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We are delighted with your positive experience. We have replaced the food and drink dispenser that was faulty while you were here. Hope to see you soon. Dimitris Argirakis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basel
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#11 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Mulhouse Bale Aeroport
#2 of 6 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Basel

Property: Airport Hotel Basel
Address: Flughafenstrasse 215, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Basel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#12 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Hotel Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Airport Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing