We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in the Middle Nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airport Hotel Basel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Luton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel in the Middle Nowhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Half way between the airport and the Basel centre, no evening restaurant apart from burger and chips at the bar. Rooms are clean and tidy and well serviced, however pillows are filled with cotten ball, very soft even when sleeping on two of them. Breakfast has improved and you can now access the full breakfast range. Free bus service to the aiport or downtown Basel is the highlight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meriva2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Meriva
Thanks for your comment. It is nice to hear that you appreciated our free shuttle bus service to the airport and to downtown Basel, which is both reached within 5 – 10 minutes. During your next stay, please just ask for a firmer pillow which we offer upon request. Great, that you see the improvement of the breakfast service since we took it over. We are pleased to inform you, that the restaurant La Rose will reopen for dinner mid of April and will be managed by the restaurant Noohn. So it would be a good reason to come back and try it out – it would be our pleasure to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    273
    66
    20
    10
See reviews for
100
157
70
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed 4 nights. The hotel is close to airport and to Novartis Campus, which can be easily reached by Bus /Tram in approx. 15 min.
Good service: free parking, friendly staff, clean rooms, free W-LAN.
What may be is missing. e.g. for longer stays ( several days) a refridgerator in the rooms, and a tiny wardrobe. Bath/shower well equipped and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HessieJames_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Hessie
Thanks for staying with us for 4 nights and for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased, that you enjoyed your stay and our services. We are more than happy to share it with our staff. We would like to inform you, that we can provide you with a little refrigerator upon request during your next longer stay. Furthermore an upgrade to one of our executive rooms could be an option for your as they are equipped with bigger wardrobes. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hotel is quite new and has its own character. Recepzion, bar, Restaurant is all One Big room which makes it very lively. Since it is enough space you still feel very comfortable. Nice rooms, nice Service, will go there again when in Basel. Good price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamburgali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking time to write the review. We are glad that you feel comfortable with us and that you will come back to us if you are in Basel again. See you soon! Dimitris Argiakis, Director Airport Hotel Basel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I statyed one night while waiting for a early morning flight. I found the hotel staff very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. Since I left early I had the quick-breakfast option (a croissant, a coffee, juice and a fruit) which I found was a good solution. Obviously, the location is not interesting, but for an aiport stay I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasmus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, appreciated our friendliness as well as the free express breakfast. We are looking forward to welcome you in the future! Dimitris Argirakis, Director Airport Hotel Basel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights last week. It was not my selection and I ususally prefer a boutique or traditional hotel in downtown. However, I found this hotel very convenient to the town as well as the airport, and even better is the staff who suggested good places to eat outside the hotel and shared some personal stories informative to us understanding the surrounding towns and lives in Basel. The hotel is not adjuscent to the airport and you have to either take a cab (5 min. ride) or ask for the hotel shuttle. There is a casino next to the hotel but I was not bothered at all with the noises and crowds. The room is big enough for business travellers and the internet access was good too. The only negative side is the restaurant and its limited menu and high price. You should ask the hotel staff for another selection unless you are too tired to go out. I went with my colleagues to a small restaurant on the French side as recommended by one of the hotel staff and the price was much more reasonable and relatively good food. The hotel gave us a free public transportation voucher but I did not have a chance to use it. It seems there is frequent bus service to town.

Room Tip: All the rooms look quiet and comfortable. There was no big trafic noise during my two-day stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiigataTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest
Thanks for staying with us and for your positive comment. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our services and offers. We are pleased to inform you, that our restaurant will reopen mid of April by the restaurant Noohn. So there will be wider selection of food available in the hotel. Otherwise we are of course still available for any restaurant suggestions in town, to where we could bring you by our shuttle bus or which you can reach easily for free by the frequent public transport. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon again – see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I wish I could give this hotel a higher rating. In many ways it deserves it. It is easily reached from the Basel train station or airport by the No. 50 bus, which runs regularly and stops right outside the door. (If you're coming from the train station, make sure you buy your ticket at the machine adjacent to the bus stop before boarding the bus.) There is a shuttle service to the airport and a free wireless internet connection. The hotel is clean and modern and the staff are exceptionally welcoming and friendly. There is even a buffet breakfast available from the early hours of the morning. (We ate at 5 a.m.)

However, there were a couple of downsides.

Having initially confirmed in writing when we booked that they would pick us up from the station, they subsequently reneged on that. Ulrike, who was on reception when we arrived, gave us a warm welcome, apologized for the mistake and offered us a complimentary drink. (Fortunately, we had checked up a couple of days before our arrival to ensure they had not forgotten, so at least we were not left waiting at the station.)

More problematic was that the room we were given was terribly hot. I called reception to confirm that I had set the temperature control on the lowest setting. They suggested that we open the window, which meant that we heard some traffic noise, or that they could send us up an electric fan! In short: I didn't sleep a wink and, yes, the pillows were incredibly soft.

I hope they get their air conditioning system sorted out. It's a shame that such an ideal hotel and welcoming staff should be let down by something so basic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBoyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, General Manager at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mr Boyden, thank you ever so much for taking the time to place your review with your coments on line. I do regret the fact that you did not manage to sleep due to the room being too warm. I will be looking into this personaly any can asure you that should the incident be a result of a technical problem, this will be fixes asap. Thank you once again and look forward to meet you in person the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful i.e. customer-orientated customer service. Very handy hotel bus shuttle service to and from the airport within 5 minutes travel distance. Modern and spotless facilities in rooms.

Suggestion: Have mini-bar in rooms filled with drinks and little snacks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basel
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#10 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Mulhouse Bale Aeroport
#2 of 6 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Basel

Property: Airport Hotel Basel
Address: Flughafenstrasse 215, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Basel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#12 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Hotel Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing