We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airport Hotel Basel
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel is in a fairly remote location but right next to the airport. There isn't much in the way of shops/restaurants nearby if you wanted to walk somewhere.
However, the hotel is very nice. The staff were friendly & efficient. The room was a decent size & was spotlessly clean. The shower was a gorgeous walk in shower. The sink area was separate to the bathroom.
The double room was 2 single beds pushed together but it was comforable and the bedding was nice & cosy.
There was free wifi available. There was also a nice modern tv in the room if you did want to watch movies.
I ate in the hotel bar (the restaurant was not open the evening that I stayed). The food was very nice, if a little overpriced. Again, the staff could not be faulted for their friendly attitude and attention.
Breakfast the next morning was served in the restaurant. The selection was fine - nice fresh pastries, meats, lovely coffee. There is also an express breakfast service available.
There is a casino attached to the hotel, for which I was given a free drink voucher on arrival. I didn't use the casino, so I can't comment on it apart from that.
There is free parking in the hotel.
All in all, it is a bright, modern & welcoming hotel. Probably not the place you would stay for an extended visit but certainly very good for business purposes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynseyg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment. We are glad, that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you appreciated our services and offers. We are pleased to forward your compliments to our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 737 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

All was good on first apearances but that soon became bad. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but the adjoining Casion does ... who limit the bar menu at the hotel. This you may say is not bad but then the casion limit the number of hotel residents that can dine there so be early.
I ordered my Cesears salad to wait over 30mins for a cold chicken salad!! Say no more ...... clean hotel but very poor service!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you ever so much for your comment and the critic about the restaurant. Please note that the restaurant, like every restaurant, has a first come first serve service when it comes to table space. There is not a limited hotel table allocation. Nevertheless we will be looking into the correct information flow and so to illuminate any wrong information passed over to our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you to our hotel to show you our services and offers again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The rooms are really comfortable, modern and well designed. The front desk and staff is kind and helpful. Top classed hotel in every sector, i can only recommend it and would return at all events. The casino makes the hotel even more attractive ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Cedric G.
Thanks for your positive feedback! Great to hear that you would recommend us and visit us in all events again – so see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Top class service from check in to check out. Check in very friendly and efficient, offered a cold drink on arrival. Hotel offered minibus service which was great.Room service good . I even went back to the hotel after I had checked out to wait for my plane in some comfort with good food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skillstrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear guest
Thanks for your comment. We are pleased that you appreciated our services and offers and to forward you compliments to our employees. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very clean and quiet. Would definitely stay again! The casino was amusing and not a bother at all. Great attitude from all the staff, great follow up on my reservation both before and after. One of the best airport hotels anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drubyParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear guest
Thanks a lot for your positive comment and your compliments, which we will share with our staff with pleasure. Great, that you also enjoyed the casino just next door and that you appreaciated our cleanliness and quietness. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you soon again to the world’s friendliest airport hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before taking a plane the next morning at the airport.
Closest airport hotel (at least on the swiss border).
Room service was ok but nothing more.

Service staff however was very friendly and attentive.
However, we needed to go to the airport very early in the morning and their shuttle was not available yet... Maybe they changed it in the meantime (I hope so)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Chris,
Thanks for staying with us and for your open feedback. We will keep your comment regarding the room service in mind for any changes in future. We are happy to forward your compliments regarding our friendly staff to the employees. Officially we are offering the shuttle bus free of charge starting at 6am. However if there is a request and the shuttle is available, it can be taken already from 4.50am onwards. The earliest public bus, which you can use free of charge with the mobility ticket, runs at 5.04am directly in front of the hotel and only takes 5 minutes. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you in future again, maybe not only when you have to catch an early flight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

by driving up tot his hotel,one could see this has 'tacky'written all over it.
this hotels shares a casino which is normally not a good match, if you're looking for a place to rest.
checking in was horroble, no adequate help, telephones ringing, and it took my over 30 minutes. when I made an argument I was given rude reply from the staff.

entering the room, it was OK, not great, but OK, airco not functioning, so very warm room. in the bathroom the rope holders just fell off...

we all where hungry so to the bar/restaurant, where we énjoyed a worst dinner, french fries and cheeseburger, how can you crew this up.

Anyway, I can add this hotel to my "never again 'list

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingBizzMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Mr. van der Molen
Thanks for staying with us, however we regret, that you didn’t enjoy your stay at all. We appreciate open feedbacks like yours to improve our services and offers and to enhance our quality. The way you describe your impressions at the Airport Hotel is not the way we treat our guests and it is not our level of service. Therefore we will definitely share and discuss your comments with our staff as mentioned to you in the personal e-mail from our hotel director. We hope you will accept our apology in the e-mail received and we maybe get a second chance to welcome you again and to show you our services in a different way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#11 of 52 in Basel
476 reviews
St. Alban
Novotel Basel City
Novotel Basel City
#22 of 52 in Basel
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#33 of 52 in Basel
259 reviews
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#16 of 52 in Basel
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Basel

Address: Flughafenstrasse 215, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Basel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#12 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $113 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Hotel Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unparalleled friendliness of our atmosphere from the first moment in the Airport Hotel Basel. Dynamism, flexibility and warmth, coupled with the optimal accessibility of local companies, offices and the city of Basel with its various cultural highlights make our hotel the perfect springboard for business travellers and leisure tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airport Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing