We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really was the "friendliest airport hotel".”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airport Hotel Basel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very clean and quiet. Would definitely stay again! The casino was amusing and not a bother at all. Great attitude from all the staff, great follow up on my reservation both before and after. One of the best airport hotels anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drubyParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear guest
Thanks a lot for your positive comment and your compliments, which we will share with our staff with pleasure. Great, that you also enjoyed the casino just next door and that you appreaciated our cleanliness and quietness. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you soon again to the world’s friendliest airport hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 737 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before taking a plane the next morning at the airport.
Closest airport hotel (at least on the swiss border).
Room service was ok but nothing more.

Service staff however was very friendly and attentive.
However, we needed to go to the airport very early in the morning and their shuttle was not available yet... Maybe they changed it in the meantime (I hope so)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Chris,
Thanks for staying with us and for your open feedback. We will keep your comment regarding the room service in mind for any changes in future. We are happy to forward your compliments regarding our friendly staff to the employees. Officially we are offering the shuttle bus free of charge starting at 6am. However if there is a request and the shuttle is available, it can be taken already from 4.50am onwards. The earliest public bus, which you can use free of charge with the mobility ticket, runs at 5.04am directly in front of the hotel and only takes 5 minutes. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you in future again, maybe not only when you have to catch an early flight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

by driving up tot his hotel,one could see this has 'tacky'written all over it.
this hotels shares a casino which is normally not a good match, if you're looking for a place to rest.
checking in was horroble, no adequate help, telephones ringing, and it took my over 30 minutes. when I made an argument I was given rude reply from the staff.

entering the room, it was OK, not great, but OK, airco not functioning, so very warm room. in the bathroom the rope holders just fell off...

we all where hungry so to the bar/restaurant, where we énjoyed a worst dinner, french fries and cheeseburger, how can you crew this up.

Anyway, I can add this hotel to my "never again 'list

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingBizzMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Mr. van der Molen
Thanks for staying with us, however we regret, that you didn’t enjoy your stay at all. We appreciate open feedbacks like yours to improve our services and offers and to enhance our quality. The way you describe your impressions at the Airport Hotel is not the way we treat our guests and it is not our level of service. Therefore we will definitely share and discuss your comments with our staff as mentioned to you in the personal e-mail from our hotel director. We hope you will accept our apology in the e-mail received and we maybe get a second chance to welcome you again and to show you our services in a different way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this very nice and clean hotel. The staff was very friendly and the inside of the hotel with the connection to the casino made us feel like staying in Las Vegas :-). The bus station is right in front of the house and it only takes 5 mins. to the airport. We can absolutely recommend this hotel and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Cornelia B
Thank you for your positive feedback and your recommendations. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt like being in Las Vegas – it would be our pleasure to welcoming you back again to Swiss Las Vegas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had two stays here a month apart as I was renting a car from the Mulhouse France side of Basel Europairport. Even though they offer shuttle no real need as the bus 50 runs every 10 minutes from train station to hotel to airport and return. They give you a local transport card at check-in.

Rooms have view of Airport, boarder check-point or basel city. Very comfortable, well appointed and good walk/in shower.

They give a voucher for a 9 chf value for drink in the attached Casino. Decent casino and they seem to have added more 2 rp (2cent) slots. Passport or ID for casino entry and they are scanned.

Second stay booked through online agency through spain where breakfast was included. Expectations were minimal as the continental is simply a croissant on coffe, but was very surprised. The table settings were elegant, the meat and cheese table well kept. Only prolbem is they had an egg cooker system that appeared to not be hot enough, but maybe I was supposed to hit some button to use it properly. Well, the conclusion is a very varried breakfast that had elements to please everyone.

Would give this hotel a solid 4.5 for a 3 star plus hotel. Very good value, with free parking as well. Even had ice machine on every floor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelbasel1, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear guest
Thanks for your compliments! Great that you enjoyed your time here in the hotel and in the casino and nice to hear that you appreciated our services and free offers like the shuttle bus, local transport card, casino drink voucher, parking… We offer the Express breakfast with coffee/tea, orange juice & croissant free of charge in the hotel lobby and the full breakfast you experienced is served in the restaurant, just feel free to contact our waiters next time for helping you with cooking your eggs. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Certainly one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in. Excellent service, superb room, good restaurant and excellent breakfast. Who cares if it is a bit out of town. The bus/tram take you there in a matter of minutes and it costs nothing!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justbarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear guest
Great to hear that you rate us as one of the friendliest hotel. Thanks for visiting us and for all your compliments. Yes, the hotel is just few minutes away from town and with the mobility ticket guests can you the public transport in town for free or you could ask at reception for our free shuttle bus to bring you there (upon availability). We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stay at this hotel on regular business trips. It is always spotlessly clean and quiet. The staff are friendly and attentive and the restaurant now offers a very good quality evening meal. Public transport in Basel is superb, so the No. 50 bus will get you downtown in just 10-15 minutes. I do think that breakfast is quite expensive when you want something more than a croissant, but less that a fully cooked breakfast. One hint - if you have a hotel booking in Basel (and carry proof of booking) you don't need to buy a bus/tram ticket before you check in and get your free city pass from reception.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank roadwarriror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Guest
It is always our pleasure to welcoming you here with us – hopefully soon again! It is nice and important for us to know, that our regular guests enjoy their stay.., our services and offers. Thanks for your open feedback regarding the breakfast, however the express breakfast with coffee/tea, orange juice & croissant is still free of charge at our hotel bar starting at 4.30! Yes, the mobility ticket is an advantage and as you mentioned the booking confirmation is also valid as a free ticket on the way to the hotel. See you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
Novotel Basel City
Novotel Basel City
#22 of 52 in Basel
375 reviews
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#12 of 52 in Basel
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#16 of 52 in Basel
932 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#31 of 52 in Basel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Basel

Address: Flughafenstrasse 215, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Basel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#12 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $115 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Hotel Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unparalleled friendliness of our atmosphere from the first moment in the Airport Hotel Basel. Dynamism, flexibility and warmth, coupled with the optimal accessibility of local companies, offices and the city of Basel with its various cultural highlights make our hotel the perfect springboard for business travellers and leisure tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airport Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing