We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bildungszentrum 21
Nearby Hotels
$229
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$134
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
DASBREITEHOTEL(Basel)(Great Value!)
$126
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$128
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ibis Basel Bahnhof(Basel)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
$93
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
92
141
29
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
141
29
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate buildingold townadequate bathroomtea and coffeeshort walkbreakfast is servedbasel cardparking placemain buildinghistorical buildingentire cityfree transportation passfootball matchbusiness tripthere is no air conditioninglovely bathroomcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 281 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was an absolute bargain in a city where there are few bargains to be had! Not only that but the grounds were just lovely, there was no noise, the rooms were large and nicely furnished in a contemporary style and there was a delicious and very complete breakfast included in the rate. As if that wasn't enough, the proceeds of the hotel go towards supporting the missions of the Lutheran church. But rest assured, if that last part makes you worry you needn't. No one makes a big deal of it - the only way I knew was that I had really researched the hotel and because I STILL wasn't sure, so I asked the front desk. They aren't there to convert anyone - they just believe in treating all people well and doing good in this world. You couldn't get kinder and more helpful staff who seem to take enormous pride in their hotel. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Basel.

Room Tip: We had a gorgeous corner room with windows everywhere.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tink1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arriving in Basel, we found Bildungszentrum 21 very easily. The receptionist guided us to our parking area (12 swiss francs) and we very quickly settled into a pleasant and comfortable room on the 4th floor. Coffee and Tea in the lounge was plentiful and free. This very beautiful looking house was an excellent choice and very near the centre (10 min walk). Eating in Basel was very expensive and we were lucky to find a food fair where varieties of food were much cheaper. Breakfast in the hotel was average (a buffet that is laid out in a variety of places around the room and it takes time to put your meal together). Nevertheless this hotel is highly recommended-remember, Switzerland is very expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from a combined business/holiday visit to Basel. This Hotel is excellent. Breakfast is a feast in itself in a ground floor room overlooking the gardens. The staff at reception are friendly and very helpful. Our double room at the top of the hotel was spacious and well equipped - free internet access provided a good service using my iPhone. Once the site of a Mission (hence the name Missionstrasse) where Swiss missionaries could rest on returning spell in the tropics, the current building has been transformed into a modern hotel. There are common-room facilities for making tea, coffee or other drinks and each day fresh mineral water is left in the room.
Staying in a hotel entitles every guest to a free travel pass on trams and buses within Basel city - a much appreciated facility.

The Hotel is situated close to the University botanical gardens and 10 minutes walk away from Heuberg, one of the best preserved parts of the old city. There are splendid churches and houses dating back to the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. In this area there are lots of good restaurants and bars serving typical Swiss German food.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are best but you may have to climb a flight of stairs. All other rooms are accessible by lift.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zanzara-tigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Basel
12
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very pleasant stay. The room and the showerroom where very spacious and comfortable. The televison screen could have been biger, because of the distance bed - television. I arrived in the evening and I whould have appreciated a room service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews