We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The home feeling.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bildungszentrum 21
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The home feeling.”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed for 5 nights in the beginning of november for a conference. I had a single room on the third floor. The room was very nice.It had a new bathroom with a well functioning shower, nice light in the room and windows that could be opened wide. The room was cleaned every day and a bottle of sparkling water was provided. A fine touch. What I missed was a mug to get a cup of tea or coffee from the samovar room on the fourth floor. There were styrofoam cups at the samovar, but tea and coffee do not taste the same from those cups. It was also kind of dangerous to balance the small soft styrofoam cups on the stairways.
The breakfast room (rose garden) was very cosy and tranquille early in the morning. There was a wide range of choises to eat for breakfast and a lot of different coffees and teas to choose from. The hotel buildings are great, you can feel it is an old house, but everything is held in good order, functions and looks nice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CopenhagenCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    121
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
36
54
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

During our stay my husband and I enjoyed a large, comfortable room. The hotel is set in large grounds, but very centrally located, and easy walk to the center of town and an even easier tram ride. Like all hotels in Basel, guests are provided with a free pass on local transportation. The staff is knowledgeable and the breakfast ample, although it is necessary to walk to a separate building to get to it. The guide book that I used to book the hotel described it as a "value" which to my mind is dubious although it is probably the case that Americans find it difficult to call anything in Switzerland a value. We were somewhat surprised when, arriving in the morning from our trans-Atlantic flight, we were told that, while our room was ready, we would have to pay half the room rate to move in before check-in time. This is not something I have ever encountered before. We were, however, provided with a place to store our luggage when we opted to talk a walk before checking in to save what would have been a rather substantial fee.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Berkeleian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This place was very nice, the cuisine here exceptional. Can just recommend. It is close to city center with tram stop just outside.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OP255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had to book this hotel in order to catch our flight home in time. We had been staying in Uberlingen on Lake Constance which is nearly two hours away by train. I had not known at the time of booking just why so many Basel hotels were full but there was an art fair on. This hotel was booked in desperation after trolling many sites.
We booked through Booking.com and were charged the extortionate price of £306 for one night which was way beyond our means but we were desperate by then. I expected for this price to be staying in a plush and elegant Swiss hotel. The reality was very different. The hotel building looked grim from the outside, painted a dull grey with no decoration whatsoever, and weeds two foot high in the garden. The entrance was up a steep flight of steps, and having two suitcases we looked for an alternative access - there was no sign of a doorman. Round the other end of the hotel we found what looked like a wheelchair ramp constructed out of metal and wheeled our cases up that. Inside, were more grey walls and not a soul in sight. We eventually found the reception in another corridor, where there was a nondescipt counter and an apathetic receptionist. On the wall opposite was a list which described what was on each floor - not only ;hotel rooms but also university rooms, business offices and so on.
We were given a key to the luggage room as our room was'nt ready. When we eventually did go up to our room we were faced with a long corridor all painted grey with grey anonymous looking doors. The room was large and clean but again very sparsely furnished and again in shades of grey with a steel headboard and a steel wardrobe which looked like an oversized fridge. The bathroom was small and basic with no toiletries other than a soap dispenser over the sink and shower.
Breakfast, far from being the lavish affair I'd expected for the price we paid, was like breakfast at a youth hostel - a do-it-yourself affair with no staff in sight. Tables were like boardroom tables, 12 seats either side, and our places were marked by two paper place mats bearing a knife on each one. The buffet was frugal and boring and coffee and tea were obtained from a battery of machines.
In our room, we found a list of charges which quoted 160 swiss francs for a family room. We had been well and truly ripped off. We advise you to avoid this hotel like the plague!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiverpoolTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

For a three days city trip in Basel we booked the Bildungszentrum 21, ahotel that I would dexcribe as half academic and half missionary. It is right in Basel centre, tram 3 at 100 m, mobilty card for tram and bus free: splendid/ Rooms are clean and modern, eficiency is high, good breakfast bufet included, wifi in all rooms, free tea and coffee all day long, huge garden.
A quiet gem in the centre. Own parking on location for a decent fee.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We found this in "Frommer's" and were not disappointed. The service was very good and we received a huge room with a kitchen and sitting area. WiFi was included as was an enjoyable breakfast. One thing stood out - in the Frommer's Guide it said parking was free, whereas they normally charge SFr12 for 24 hours. When they saw the book, they waived the parking fee for us.
The hotel is a short walk from the Old Town and there are tram stops nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregoryTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Located in a daunting-looking building, we had to drag our bags up the steps outside to the imposing wooden door. The Addams Family feel was heightened when it swung open automatically.
The room had cork tiles for a floor and low, futon-style bed. A low, exposed wooden roof beam made for an interesting if potentially dangerous feature.
The room had a TV and nothing else. Very Spartan. Then I found out it was a hotel owned by evangelical missionaries and it all made sense, particularly the lack of bar or restaurant. The location is close to the city centre but there aren't many food or drink options in the immediate vicinity.
The breakfast was very disappointing. No cooked option, just cereals or cold meats, a fruit salad or breads. Hot drinks aren't
properly prepared but provided by machines.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OBL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
Hotel Rochat
Hotel Rochat
#20 of 51 in Basel
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 51 in Basel
524 reviews
Hotel Euler
#14 of 51 in Basel
247 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bildungszentrum 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bildungszentrum 21

Property: Hotel Bildungszentrum 21
Address: Missionsstrasse 21, Basel 4055, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bildungszentrum 21 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1890s could be a strict era for children, and this is when a certain missionary family child, the future writer and Nobel laureate, Hermann Hesse, roamed our park. We imagine it was prohibited for young children to snack on the grapes and berries in the park at the time. But it seems equally likely that young Hermann ignored the restrictions. He already had a well-earned reputation as a rebel. So, if during autumn in our park a red-cheeked apple smiles at you, give in to its innocent seduction, just as Hermann would! And during the rest of the year we will lead you into further modest temptations because we are enthusiastic about our park and want to share this with all our guests. During the warm seasons we invite the ice cream man into our park, and when it is cold the roast chestnut vendor, so you can indulge in these little treats too. And if, as has happened with many other guests, attending one of our events gives you food or refreshment ideas for your next reception or barbecue, please come see us. In our park, a thousand and one such dreams can come true. PS: Throughout our park, no chemical insecticides or herbicides are used. Instead, all the fruit is grown using only certified organic cultivation methods and substances. And if you rest for a while on one of our cosy park benches, you will share your time with many birds and butterflies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bildungszentrum 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing