We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Spalentor Basel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

For me the Spalentor is the best hotel in Basel.
Very well located with a very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast is richa nd one can have the choice. A good surprise I had was to discover the botanic garden just a cross the street.
It is my 3rd time there but will go again a couple of times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neige1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear guest,
awesome that you've liked it so much staying in our hotel. Thank you very much for publishing your satisfaction on tripadvisor.
We wish you all the best and a lovely summer and are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

The staff were always friendly and helpful, the room very comfortable and spacious, breakfast also very good; very relaxed atmosphere. Our only problem was with the temperature of the room for sleeping, the air conditioning did not seem able to cope, so we slept badly. The price seemed expensive from a UK viewpoint but this hotel was much cheaper than another being used for the same conference; the standards would merit this sort of price in the UK but we would not usually use anywhere at such a cost!

Room Tip: We stayed during a very hot spell and the A/C was not really up to the job, hence lower score on sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear guest,
we thank you very much for your stay with us an your nice review on tripadvisor.
Regarding the air conditon we appologize for the inconvenience and will check it immediately.
We wish you a lovely weekend and are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel s location is excellent just outside the old city, the rooms are comfortable, modern and clean, the breakfast is great and all members of staff were very friendly and helpful.

Excellent choice in Basel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaNicosia_Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear guest,
we are very happy about your recommendation and the nice review on tripadvisor.com. Great that you enjoyed your stay and our service. This is a joy for the team and a big incentive.
We wish you a lovely summer and are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel was very welcoming. We were upgraded to a wonderful suite, which was one of the most spacious hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. The receptionists on the desk are very helpful and pleased to give directions to different landmarks in Basel. The price was reasonable. The breakfast price was a little high(16 Euros) but there was plenty of food on the buffet.
This hotel is conveniently positioned, just outside the old city gate which leads into the old part of Basel, where there are narrow streets, many shops and sidewalk cafes. Basel is VERY expensive if you plan to shop. The hotel is opposite the Botanical Gardens, which are well worth a visit. Wonderful flower beds and greenhouses housing tropical plants and desert plants.

Thank Joy2BritnearBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear guest,
first of all, we say a warm "thank you" that you have taken the time to tell your impressions of the Hotel Spalentor on TripAdvisor.
Clear and brief you have describen all the important details for a nice stay and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay so much.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Finally decided to try this one out on one of my stays in Basel and pleased I did. So impressed that I have given it one of my very rare 'excellent' grades! It's just outside the city gates but easily accessible by bus or tram. Rooms would be big even by American standards, never mind European. It's clean and the staff helpful. Excellent choices for breakfast. Got a good last minute price on booking.com. Couldn't get the wifi to work when I arrived (normally would guarantee at least a one point reduction in score), but it was fixed in the morning and the rest was positive enough for me to overlook this. The only weird thing was that the door to bathroom seemed to be only about 2 feet wide, which made it feel like Aladdin's cave inside!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear guest,
first of all, we say a warm "thank you" that you have taken the time to tell your impressions of the Hotel Spalentor on TripAdvisor.
Clear and brief you have describen all the important details for an unforgettable stay and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us so much.
We wish you a lovely summer and are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very comfy stay and staff were great. Couldn't fault with trams close by, central location and near lovely historical areas. Will definitely stay again and would recommend.
My room was very modern, bed was the most comfortable in a hotel I've slept in for a long time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear guest,
we are very happy about your recommendation and the nice marking. Great that you enjoyed our service, your room and the comfortable bed. This is a joy for the team and a big incentive.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We loved staying at Hotel Spalentor. We felt very well looked after.
The hotel is in an excellent location near the old city, tourist features, shopping and great food.
The room was very comfortable with plenty of room for us to relax for a week.
We have already recommended it to local business contacts who have visitors to Basel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for having taken the time to evaluate your stay. It is a pleasure for us to read that you felt comfortable in our hotel and that you enjoyed your time here in Basel. Awesome - thank you some much that you have already recommend our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back some other time. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
657 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 52 in Basel
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,064 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#6 of 52 in Basel
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#2 Business Hotel in Basel
#3 Family Hotel in Basel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $117 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spalentor Basel is a centrally located hotel in Basel Old Town. Renovated in 2012, this friendly city hotel offers extremely spacious, comfortable rooms, with free Wi-Fi, and a generous breakfast buffet. Welcome drinks, fresh fruit, mobility ticket and bicycle hire are all included in the price. The four-star Hotel Spalentor Basel in the centre of Basel is waiting to welcome you with its warm hospitality and impeccable service. You will stay in stylish, modern rooms with a large desk, comfortable rocking chair or sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, Smartphone docking station, mini bar and coffee machine.Throughout the day and during the evening, you can relax in the garden or hotel bar. You also have free access to the fitness centre and games room with billiards, darts and table football. A mobility ticket is included in the room rate for the use of buses and trams throughout Basel during your stay. You therefore have quick and easy access to Basel-Mulhouse (BSL) airport, the SBB and Badischer train stations, as well as the exhibition and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing