We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spalentor Basel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basel”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

By far, the best hotel we stayed at, excellent room, courteous and attentive staff, I could not recommend a hotel any higher than this one.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Don't miss this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your nice review. We are very pleased that you felt so comfortable with us and that we were able to convince you of our service. Thanks a lot for your great recommendation of our Hotel Spalentor. We wish you a lovely time and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    409
    42
    6
    2
See reviews for
201
552
72
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The room was large, clean and well-appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly. Well-located with respect to access to public transport and Basel old town. I only stayed one night, but I would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,
we are very happy about your recommendation and the nice review. Great that you enjoyed your stay with us and our service. This is a joy for the team and a big incentive.
We wish you a lovely May and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were greeted with smiles and helpful advice about what to see and where to go. The hotel room was spotless and comfortable. The beds invite one to snuggle down for an excellent sleep. The coffe maker was really handy and we enjoyed the machine in our room. The breakfast was also good with a variety of choices. The young woman was pleasant in the breakfast room. This has been our best stay so far on our month trip.
The hotel is very near the old gate and it is a short walk into the old town. This hotel should be on every traveller's list.

Room Tip: We were on the street side but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Florasusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
first of all, we say a warm "thank you" that you have taken the time to share your impressions of the Hotel Spalentor on Tripadvisor.
Clear and brief you have describen all the important details for an unforgettable stay and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us.
Tank you very much for your recommendation of our hotel.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a small hotel that has recently been renovated. It is very clean and the room we were in was quite large. The staff was very friendly; we arrived early (and jet lagged) and they arranged to provide us with immediate access to our room. With our reservation, we were provided with free bus and tram access during our whole stay. The hotel is located just outside the doors leading to the old city and the bus stop is right across the street. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzieDp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
we thank you very much for your stay and your great review on tripadvisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and thank you for your recommendation of our hotel to other travellers. We wish you a lovely springtime and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersch, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed one night for an improvised week- end in Basel and must say that staff friendliness and assistance was way above expectations. The room was very spacious, clean to the famous Swiss standard and the bed was very comfortable. This hotel is ideally situated near the old town, very close to public transport (without the noise that normally accompanies such closeness). There is even a special parking arrangement at an appartment bloc nearby. I will definitely recommend Hotel Spalentor and choose it for my next stay in Basel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ermacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest
we are very happy about your recommendation and the nice review. Great that you enjoyed your stay and our service. This is a joy for the team and a big incentive.
We thank you for your recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spalentor hotel is a real gem. I've stayed there on easter 2014, got a complimentary T-shirt and holiday treats, and this is on top of the excellence service, the realy spacious room and great breakfast. The Hotel is ideally located near the center of town, and they have also provided me with a tram daily ticket, free of charge. There aren't many hotels that think so much of the guests such as this hotel. Best value for money indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ik251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,
we are very happy about your recommendation and the nice review. Great that you enjoyed our service. This is a joy for the team and a big incentive.
We wish you a lovely springtime and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We only stayed one night after completion of a Rhine River Cruise. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a prime location, with a tram stop adjacent to the hotel. Easy walk to the old town. The room was very spacious and well appointed, with the bed being most comfortable.

Room Tip: We had room 403 which was a corner room with views in two directions. Spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Trek520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest,
awesome that you've liked it so much being in our hotel. Thank you very much for having published your satisfaction on tripadvisor.
We wish you a lovely springtime and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#3 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Property: Hotel Spalentor Basel
Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#2 Business Hotel in Basel
#4 Family Hotel in Basel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spalentor Basel is a centrally located hotel in Basel Old Town. Renovated in 2012, this friendly city hotel offers extremely spacious, comfortable rooms, with free Wi-Fi, and a generous breakfast buffet. Welcome drinks, fresh fruit, mobility ticket and bicycle hire are all included in the price. The four-star Hotel Spalentor Basel in the centre of Basel is waiting to welcome you with its warm hospitality and impeccable service. You will stay in stylish, modern rooms with a large desk, comfortable rocking chair or sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, Smartphone docking station, mini bar and coffee machine.Throughout the day and during the evening, you can relax in the garden or hotel bar. You also have free access to the fitness centre and games room with billiards, darts and table football. A mobility ticket is included in the room rate for the use of buses and trams throughout Basel during your stay. You therefore have quick and easy access to Basel-Mulhouse (BSL) airport, the SBB and Badischer train stations, as well as the exhibition and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing