We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good pkace to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spalentor Basel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very friendly staff that go out of their way to help also with non-standard requests (like shabbat observance for religious jews )
Central location but quiet. We had a corner room with view on Spalentor

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocheved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear guest,
we thank you very much for your great review and we are happy that you were satisfied with your stay and our service. We wish you all the best and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We really have a warm and full explanation about the hotel and city and thinks to do, on the arrival to the Hotel by the blonde German receptionist, she is a very plus to the Hotel.
Room quite comfortable and clean..very good location. Recommend this Hotel without question

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luis-Apolinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear guest,
awesome that you have liked it so much being in our hotel. Thank you for having published your satisfaction and your recommendation. We wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

excellent hotel beautiful clean room extremely helpful young and warm staff. Highly recommended.good quality for money. delicous breakfast convenient location next to tram and bus. free wi fi. even nice and free fruits and fruit juices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shmuel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear guest
thank you very much for your praising words, which do really motivate us and show that we are on the right way. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A friendly, relaxed but efficient hotel situated perfectly for visiting Basel. Extremely courteous and helpful staff, clean comfortable rooms (beds very comfy indeed) and an excellent breakfast. My only worry is that the good reviews will tempt the prices up and currently they are affordable if you time your visit correctly!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisette6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We thank you very much for your stay and your review. We are happy that you were satisfied with our service. Regarding the rates please note that the rates depend on low and high season as well as fairs an congresses taking place in Basle. We wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very well run and appointed hotel; right next to Spalentor where the old city center starts and convenient access to excellent public transport. Room was great, large and very well appointed like other travelers have said with nice touches. Staff is highly service oriented, friendly and immediate attends to your needs. Breakfast is excellent. Free public transport during your stay which was convenient. Overall excellent experience for business traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stroopwafel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear gutest,
awesome that you've liked it so much being in our hotel. Thank you for having published your satisfaction. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The reception lady was wonderful and eager to help with all our questions. We felt very welcome with our two little kids. The room was big, clean and very nicely appointed with little touches such as espresso machine and bath slippers. The breakfast was plentiful with great selection of breads and cheeses.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tuchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest
thank you very much for your praising words, which do really motivate us and show that we are on the right way. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a wonderful time here. We spend three nights for a birthday party of a friend. When we checked in we had the pleasant surprise that our room was upgraded for free from standard to comfort. An outstanding room with a king size bed. The bed is lovely, we slept awesome. The heating wasn't adjustable, with 24 degrees is was too warm in the room for us. One night we had the bad luck to have a family with yelling kids near, the rooms are noisy then and you'll wake up way to early. The breakfast is brilliant. Sitting near the window with a view on the Spalentor in the middle of the morning sun, eating your breakfast, what do you want more? We borrowed bikes form the hotel for free, riding through Basel is then extra fun. The hotel is near the center and tram. Tip, visit the botanical garden across the street. There is a lovely garden to sit and read in the sun. That all makes the real Swiss Life feeling! Too bad we had to go...

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a corner of a busy road crossing with trams, rooms on the backside are some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest
we are very happy about your recommendation and the nice review. Great that you enjoyed our service and your stay with us. This is a joy for the team and a big incentive. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
992 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#10 of 52 in Basel
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,045 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#5 of 52 in Basel
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Basel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#3 Family Hotel in Basel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $110 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spalentor Basel is a centrally located hotel in Basel Old Town. Renovated in 2012, this friendly city hotel offers extremely spacious, comfortable rooms, with free Wi-Fi, and a generous breakfast buffet. Welcome drinks, fresh fruit, mobility ticket and bicycle hire are all included in the price. The four-star Hotel Spalentor Basel in the centre of Basel is waiting to welcome you with its warm hospitality and impeccable service. You will stay in stylish, modern rooms with a large desk, comfortable rocking chair or sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, Smartphone docking station, mini bar and coffee machine.Throughout the day and during the evening, you can relax in the garden or hotel bar. You also have free access to the fitness centre and games room with billiards, darts and table football. A mobility ticket is included in the room rate for the use of buses and trams throughout Basel during your stay. You therefore have quick and easy access to Basel-Mulhouse (BSL) airport, the SBB and Badischer train stations, as well as the exhibition and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing