We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the location, service, room, staff, etc.”
Review of The Passage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Passage
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
CONNECTICUT
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location, service, room, staff, etc.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have been here for a week and a half and couldn't be happier. The place is in a perfect location, a very short walk to the action in town, 100 yards to the 30 bus that takes you right to the train station and trolley / bus hub (the stop across the street). Tip for those with mobility problems: to avoid the decent into town center take a left coming out of the hotel. You will see an elevator just behind the 30 bus stop on the same side of the street as the hotel. Push the city button and you are on the level with town. Take a left entering garage and walk straight to tunnel & through and you're there. I read a comment below about the breakfast, yes $30cf is more than I ever pay for breakfast but it's good, fresh and even McDonalds is 2x USA. I have room 311, basic room overlooking the courtyard. The window opens wide and I can hear the church bells in the distance. STAFF IS GREAT!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at The Passage, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all these beautiful compliments! I will make sure to share them with the rest of the staff.
We strive to provide a unique experience of hospitality, and your words reward all the efforts our incredible people put in their daily tasks.

Sincerely,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    158
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
223
26
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotels in Basel are expensive and that IS a hard fact. So, if you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, central location and a good quiet sleep with a "reasonable" price I can warmly recommend The Passage, a brand new and chic hotel in the centre. Everything was as described at the website, and more: the interestingly designed shower room with a glass window wall giving to the room was something special, a great idea for light! If you fancy a large TV-screen in your room, you've certainly got it there. A short drop down the stairs to the main area of bars, restaurants, shops and tram stops only 100 m away was a great benefit. The service was friendly and helpful, although some things still took some time since all the routines were not completely automatic (quite understandable for such a new establishment, and surely will improve). I did not use the fitness centre but apparently it is of great value. Good luck, The Passage, a great start!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK_Lehtonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at The Passage, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your kind and detailed review.
We are happy that you were satisfied with our property, with its location and with the service provided bu our staff.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in not a distant future!

Sincerely yours

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

a 4 day stay here was amazing. staff were so friendly, hotel is just WOW, got upgraded and the room was amazing. an all round relaxing stay in a fantastic location and gorgeous hotel. thank you!!!! xx

Room Tip: fourth floor - quiet but very accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at The Passage, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear DaveyNewcastleUK,

Thanks for your review regarding The Passage in Basel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel, great location and our great team here met your expectations.

At The Passage, we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great you feel this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Warm Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014

the hotel is completely new, the staff told me that they have oppened on March. A lot of small details that makes the room really comfortable. the shower amazing. Really close to the city center. Very friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAngeles-suso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at The Passage, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Linda C,

Thank you so much for the nice note! We are so happy that you enjoyed everything during your stay.
I also wanted to congratulate you for the great pictures that you have posted. They are sensational.

We hope to welcome you to The Passage in the future!

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great hotel. Nice and tidy rooms. Big enough. Gym is brand new and very complete. Will come back. I don't know why they ask ne to add a minimum of 200 characters, when I have nothing else to say I just keep suiet, but that's just me :-)

Room Tip: Bus 30 takes you to the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at The Passage, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Ramin,

Thank you so much for the nice note. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at The Passage in Basel.

We hope to welcome you back to The Passage very soon!
Thank you again !

Best regards,
Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I just recently stayed at The Passage hotel for one night on business. Although there was a slight hiccup prior to my arrival, it was all sorted quickly and efficiently. The hotel is very new which is nice as it is clean and modern throughout. There is also a beautiful patio area which would be great in the summer, further the gym is outstanding for a smaller hotel such as The Passage. Very modern with all the machines/free weights you could ask for. All the staff are very professional and friendly, however a special mention to Agnieszka for her cheerful attitude! Would recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues, will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raws0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at The Passage, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Passage and for sharing your experience with a discerning eye.

Our team appreciates your insights and recommendations—and we look forward to welcoming you again.

All the best,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Passage. Very friendly service. Very good Wi-Fi connection which assisted with my work and a lot of British Channels available which was great
Still remember the awesome omelettes I got every morning - fillings of my choice and made so quickly!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at The Passage, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind words following your stay with us at The Passage Hotel.

I was delighted that you found the hotel welcoming and that you enjoyed your stay especially the brilliant breakfast we serve.
I have passed on you kind words to our precious colleagues.

Furthermore, I am delighted that you have enjoyed our wide selection of British and American channels.

My kindest regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#3 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Passage

Property: The Passage
Address: Steinengraben 51, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Vorstädte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Passage 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Basel, experience a unique way of living in Basel, a place of transition between the old and the new city. Close to the main train station and to all major commodities, The Passage will open in the first quarter of 2014. Located on the ancient fortifications, it occupies a unique position in the city. It's your turn to discover The Passage before everyone else does. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Passage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing