We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and tasty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SaiGon Moon

SaiGon Moon
Ranked #104 of 635 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Surprisingly good Asian for Basel, well done really. I had a perfectly delicious meal here. I would recommend this for sure since you probably won't find better Asian than this here. I had the last appetizer on the menu and the beef pho.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boshann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    39
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese food in a quaint setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Excellent meal ... Shared two appetizers (spring roll varieties) and a beef salad. Very flavorful and delicious. The restaurant is very quaint and a bit small. The hostess and waitress were very kind and helpful but no English is spoken there ... So be ready. I'll definitely return. Great meal!

Helpful?
Thank Chartmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese in Basel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Met a friend here for lunch. Didn't have the chance to try the luncheon buffet which looked to be a good deal. Instead had a big bowl of traditional noodle soup with fresh herbs, beef strips, noodles and delicious broth. Service was friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1happywanderer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Finally - I have my favourite Basel lunch and dinner destinations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have been working in Basel for 7 months off and on. I have really struggled to find restaurants that I want to bring my family to or talk about. Now I have two in Basel proper (See prior Wasabi revue)

Overall - Saigon Moon is authentic Vietnamese at a reasonable price (for Switzerland!) with fast service, a happy regular client base and a buzz. Go.

Food - I have been to Vietnam and did a cooking course there. This food is both just like in Vietnam, but also the selection is substantially wider than I would expect. I found it hard to choose, so will have to go back to try the Pho when I have more space.

Service - Fast, fast, fast. I was by myself after a long working day...so really appreciated that. The big table opposite seemed to be having a fun banquet together without being rushed. Every time I looked up the staff acknowledged me quickly.

Location - a little out of town to the North-East, but, having changed hotel and now knowing where it is it's not hard to get to at all. Number 30 bus from the SBB gets you to within 8 minutes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GroundedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Asian restaurant in Basel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have had several family Sunday dinners here. The food has always been excellent, making this place a great find in Basel for Asian food. Super nice service. Easy to get to, just off the 1 Tram line.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CDC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SaiGon Moon also viewed

 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to SaiGon Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing