We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, very accessible”
Review of Hotel Balade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Balade
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very good hotel, only 5 minutes walk form the middle bridge, so very central. Clean room, good sound insulation, comfortable bed and the free WiFi worked well.

Good breakfast with a selection of breads, cheeses, yoghurt and cereals.

I would thoroughly recommend this as a great base to tour Basel although I was on a business trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Activefamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your rating. We appreciate your recommendation and we are pleased to hear that you liked our place. See you soon again when you drop by Basel, it's our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Your Balade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Balade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is moments away from the Tattoo, the river and the bridge across to the old city. The rooms are lovely, with spacious bathrooms, tv, fridge, etc. The staff though are simply the friendliest, most helpful you could ever wish for! Food is excellent here with a hearty breakfast and good coffee setting us all up for the day. When I go back to Basel I want to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlastairPether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review! What con I say, your last sentence of your feedback makes us happy. Soo see you soon again at our palce.
You Balade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed for two nights in this hotel and must say i really cannot fault it, very clean room very spacious room whole hotel very clean, every member of staff i came across very friendly and helpful, a lot of 4 star hotels and even the odd 5 star would not match this place in my opinion.
The hotel is in a very convenient area to get around and although as mentioned in other reviews that the red light area and the working ladies are on the doorstep it is not one bit a problem they are not rude and leave people alone who want to be left alone.
Plenty bars around and shops and nice clean and friendly place will look forward to my next trip to Basel and will be booking the Hotel Balade to stay in again without hesitation.
The room as said was spacious nice size bathroom with lovley shower, one of the most comfortable beds ive ever slept in also.
So a big thank you to staff of this hotel for making my stay here a excellent stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely words and we are very happy if you are! Thanks for the kudos and the tipps and hints about the are, indeed it is a lively place and area, but as you mentioned above, it is safe and also the ladies are polite. The best thing is when you are located at a place like this, everything is in walking distance and very close by.
So see you soon again at Hotel Balade, it would be a pleasure!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Staff very friendly and very, very helpful. Excellent communication prior and after the stay. Interior decorations may have been better designed, shower area also needs some attention as the water goes out on the floor under the curtains. Breakfast was adequate.Plug adapters free ( to borrow) from reception as well as city maps, bus and tram passes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian_bruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words. Regarding the shower story, we wil improve a new solution briefly, since this is not a great convenience at the moment.
See you soon again, it's our pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were groovy. Tastefully decorated to give a modern vibe. area was in the red light district but dont bother then and they dont bother you...
3 mins walk from tram.
Rooms are good size and clean. staff are mixed some relly great but the odd one a bit robotic.
Recommen this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spookeytookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you lovely comment about your last stay with us! Thanks for the recommendation, we appriciate it!
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A simple hotel with fair size rooms. The decor is different to the standard box hotels. Don't be put off by the location of this hotel. Yes it's in the red light district but there is no worries about getting mauled by them. Would deffo stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank funkyskunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I only can agree, no worries about the area, it is a special district, but safe and clean. Therefore there are only 2 minutes walking distance to several bars, restaurants and sight seeing and tourist attractions.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here on a recent visit to Basel. The location was perfect for us. It is on major transportation lines (you get a free mobility card from the hotel) and it was close to the river and the old town. The hotel was nice. Modern. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. We didn't have any problems. The only thing that I did not like about the hotel was that, like in many "modern" hotels, the bathroom doors (and a little piece of the wall) are opaque glass. It is not completely see-through, so it is ok. But it is not very sound-proof, either. I guess if you are staying in the same room with someone, you are probably comfortable with them, but there are just somethings that do not need to be so evident.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youryevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely and honest feedback. We are very interested in your point of view and are greatful for your inputs.
See you soon at Hotel Balade, it would be our pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#15 of 51 in Basel
760 reviews
Altstadt
East-West Riverside Hotel Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Basilisk Hotel
#43 of 51 in Basel
65 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Merian am Rhein
Hotel Merian am Rhein
#37 of 51 in Basel
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balade

Address: Klingental 8, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: $107 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balade 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 3 minute walk from the center of Basel, this hotel offers rooms with private bathrooms with safes, cable TV, free Wi-Fi internet and hairdryers. Free Baby crib. The conference Centre is a 10-minute walk from Hotel Balade.Basel's Train Station and the EuroAirport are easily accessible via public transportation. The reservation confirmation is valid for the use of public transport (2nd class) from EuroAirport or from the Basel rail stations (zones 10 and 13/EuroAirport) to the hotel on the day of arrival (2.)(V)(Spez). The riverbank of the Rhine and the tram station Rheingasse are a 2-minute walk away. Numerous stores, restaurants as well as many nightclubs and lively bars are located in the Kleinbasel historic quarter.Balade Hotel's bar is an inviting place to relax and sip your favorite drink in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Balade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing