We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Balade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Balade
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just returned from a 5-night stay at the Hotel Balade, and we were very pleased with the hotel. It is an excellent value for the money and its location allows you easy access to the city center without having to be right in the middle of it. The staff was very accommodating and friendly, especially Myrjam. And, the meals at the hotel's restaurant were delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel on the 1st floor are peaceful and quiet, but can be on the warm s...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catboat510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your nice words and your rating. Nice to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the tim in Basel. Thank you for the kudos!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Balade.
Kind regards,
Your Balade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Balade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We were impressed by the friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable value for Switzerland with parking at an additional cost in a secure underground car park. Breakfast was included in the cost. The hotel is clean and modern and so was the room. The only downsides were the shower base was on the same level as the rest of the floor and so the floor was wet and slippery after taking a shower. The room was quite warm and unfortunately as it was quite noisy outside if you open the window it was too noisy to sleep. The hotel is situated in the red light area with lots of 'ladies' walking around. They don't approach families and did provide entertainment for my teenage son who was somewhat intrigued.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Bonniebeard,
Thank you very much for rating us and your lovely comment! Referring the shower irritation, we are aware of the problem and I am delighted telling you that hopefully the next time you come for a visit, we have already new modern showers with all comfort you wish, it is in progress.
The surroundings of the Balade is indeed in the center of Basel and the hotel borders to the red light area. But as you mentioned, everthing is save and they to their business and we ours.
Greetings to your teenage and your family and see you back soon. It would be our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Your hotel Balade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is very modern in it's decor. It was very convenient to the things we wanted to see. They provided us with free passes for the public transit upon arrival, which made our return to the SBB train station much easier. They made mashed potatoes for my husband because he was sick and couldn't eat anything with spices. The rooms are clean and austere. The bathrooms were the only part I didn't really like and that was because there was no way to keep the water in the shower area, making the floor really wet after the first shower. It was not uncomfortable walking the kids (11 and 8) through the red light district from the bridge; there were only a couple of bars and a few "ladies" in the area an the ladies didn't approach our family in anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sag_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very mcuh for rating us on TA. Referring the shower, i am glad to inform you that new showers have been planned, so the mentioned problem will be soon a part of the past. I hop eyour husband and your kids stay well and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel Balade!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

If you want to visit the nice city of Basel, I suggest to stay in Balade Hotel. I stayed with my wife and daughter: very clean, large and confortable rooms, ten minutes walking to the city center or in 3-4 minutes by city train (free ticket for all the period connected with payment of hotel room), very peaceful for a good sleep without noise although is located near the red- light district of the town (absolutely no problem). Price is very honest and services too, with nice people at reception desk. Why spend too much CHF in the center hotels?

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefano n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomegroup, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Mr. Stefano, thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Balade and for the beautiful headline. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the room. Our employees will very much appreciate your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again. With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights. A last minute booking. Staff on reception very friendly. Rooms very clean and well presented. Paid 80 Euro per night and got a FREE 2 day travel pass - wish I new this when I made the booking as had just paid for a travel pass!! For some reason our room did not have curtains - just a net curtain - so be careful when you get out of the shower.

Hotel does seem to be in the centre of the prostitute 'district' of Basel - but the area is very nice so don't be put off - don't bother them and I am sure they will not bother you. Do be aware that hotel does not have a 24 reception. You are made aware of this when you make the booking. Would I stay again - yes - it is excellent value for Basel.

Room Tip: Ask about the travel pass when you make the booking - all the rooms are much the same.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomegroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Thank you very much for writing down your impressions.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We will adapt the free travel pass information on all channels as soon as possible, to make sure that there will be no more misunderstandings, we apologize for that.
Referring to the curtain nuisance, unfortunately the curtains have been purified at this moment, normally there naturally are curtains.
We appreciate you as our guest and are looking forward welcoming you again in hotel Balade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed for about 10 mins at this hotel in Basel.

The room i got, didn't have curtains, on the basis that the room could be seen by other buildings, chose not to stay.

reception did try, but had no other rooms so checked out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank alanatabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomegroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for writing down your impressions regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
Additionally we have to rectify for our prospective guests that we offered you another room in our partner hotel and you enjoyed even an upgrade naturally without any surcharge.
Unfortunately the curtains have been purified at this moment.
Hopefully you have been satisfied with this solution and we are looking forward welcoming you again in one of our hotels in Basel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

stayed for 1 night - clean, friendly place. Location is okay- its not near the station but can be reached via tram. Receptionist was very nice and helpful. The restaurant is very popular so it did get noisy at night. But other than that it was nice.

Room Tip: not above the restaurant
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your comment on T/A!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#15 of 51 in Basel
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
East-West Riverside Hotel Basel
Basilisk Hotel
#41 of 51 in Basel
65 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Merian am Rhein
Hotel Merian am Rhein
#37 of 51 in Basel
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balade

Address: Klingental 8, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: $107 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balade 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 3 minute walk from the center of Basel, this hotel offers rooms with private bathrooms with safes, cable TV, free Wi-Fi internet and hairdryers. Free Baby crib. The conference Centre is a 10-minute walk from Hotel Balade.Basel's Train Station and the EuroAirport are easily accessible via public transportation. The reservation confirmation is valid for the use of public transport (2nd class) from EuroAirport or from the Basel rail stations (zones 10 and 13/EuroAirport) to the hotel on the day of arrival (2.)(V)(Spez). The riverbank of the Rhine and the tram station Rheingasse are a 2-minute walk away. Numerous stores, restaurants as well as many nightclubs and lively bars are located in the Kleinbasel historic quarter.Balade Hotel's bar is an inviting place to relax and sip your favorite drink in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Balade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing