We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice business location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyperion Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyperion Hotel Basel
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice business location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed two nights while on a business trip. Rooms were small but had everything you need. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was good though expensive. The sky lounge was nice with a great view. Only complaint the bed was quite firm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missweim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for taking your time to write a review for the Ramada Plaza Basel.

It is very important to me to get your opinion, since it will help us to maintain the standard of the hotel and its quality of service. Furthermore we will be able to correct small mistakes immediately.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments to my team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Petra Emmel & Thomas Taanum
Hotel direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    322
    102
    26
    14
See reviews for
45
225
41
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
287 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

It was a short one night stay for me at The Ramada Plaza and Conference Center but it did everything it needed to do. Great staff at check in and check out and lovely service in the Sky Lounge on the 30th floor.

It's a big hotel which was strangely empty given its location at the Basel Messe, but the decor and design was cool.

The room was small but had excellent space management design and floor to ceiling windows. Great view from my 11th floor room. Breakfast was as it should be. Good selection and friendly staff.

If you're visiting Basel, you may not choose this hotel unless you have business at a conference or in this neck of the woods. It's a 30 minute walk - or 10 minutes tram ride - from the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments from your last stay here at the Ramada Plaza Basel.
We are happy to hear that you have had a nice stay, and enjoyed the view from the 11th floor, were your room was located on.Furthermore we were glad to hear about your nice experience in the skylounge, and we will pass the kind words on to the staff.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again some day, and we remain with wishing you a great week start.

Kind regards

Petra Emmel & Thomas Taanum
Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Rafti, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is centrally placed with public transport in the form of trams wonderfully convenient. Once checked in, the hotel gave us free passes for all transport!
The rooms were rather small but kept very clean.
What makes this hotel stand out is its cuisine. The meals were marvellous. The buffet breakfast even included smoked salmon and Champagne for those who wished for something special...and at no extra cost!
Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Carolyn

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay here in Switzerland. As enthusiastic hosts, we take pleasure in pampering you with the outstanding quality and personal service.

We are glad about your positive opinion and will pass this on to our team.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the RAMADA PLAZA Basel

Kindest Regards,
Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for about 15 nights in 2013, split into various stays throughout the year. Check-in / check out is most of the time efficient. The rooms are standard and offer what you need for a business stay. Wi-Fi works without problems. Room service is fast and quality of food served good. Areas to improve are housekeeping service as I regularly had to call and ask for something that was missing, e.g amenities in the bathroom, water bottle or corkscrew. Further, if you are not a big breakfast eater, go for the light option and have your coffee and a small bite at the bar in the entrance area. The staff there could be more attentive and friendly, despite early morning hours. The costs for the buffet breakfast are top dollar in my view and hard to justify.

Room Tip: If you stay for a few nights with luggage and if you can afford it, go for the Executive room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmiss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stays at the Ramada Plaza Basel.
We are happy to hear that you most of the time are satisfied with your stay here in our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the cleaning amenities in the bathroom. We provide all guest with a bottle of complimentary water.

I have spoken to the restaurant manager regarding the kindness of his staff, and he will talk to all them about this matter. The prices for breakfast in Switzerland are high, however we do offer a la carte breakfast aswell.

I remain and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Arrived to the hotel for a conference in Basel. I live in Zurich, so i drove. Parking was across the street and annoyingly inconvenient. Thank heavens my company had a booth at the conference and i was signed up as an exhibitor. The parking lot was reserved for exhibitors only, NO PARKING for visitors or hotel guests. Hotel check in process was routine and the staff were polite. Hotel was modern and the room was pleasant with IKEA like furnishings. The lighted bathroom floor was quite cool and the room had all the standard amenities. The restaurant was pricey and the food was alright. Definitely an expensive two night stay, not worth all the money paid, but since it was a business trip, oh well. For the conference, it was a convenient location, right across the square. Will only stay here for business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WI036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for having chosen our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to write a survey on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.
On the other Hand, I apologize that your experience concerning the parking was not satisfying. In fact besides the fairs we do have enough parking spaces and probably you stayed with us during the "Swissbau". We will be happy to reserve a parking lot upon you next arrival together with your room booking.

I however hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards from Basel
Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Ramada in Jan '14 and were very happy with the hotel, the room was clean, spacious with a massive bed , lovely bathroom, tv, air con, fantastic views over the city.
breakfast was very good with a large choice of breads , fruits, cereals, cold meats etc.. if you wanted continental or sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, beans and tomatoes if you wanted a hot option, all very nice with good friendly service and lovely spacious dining room.
very easy access to the centre via the many super efficient trams that run every couple of minutes and are free of charge.
We would definitely return, wonderful place !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jert1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Jert

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful Review of your stay at the RAMADA PLAZA Basel. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we will see you soon again.
Have a good time and "Grüezi" from Switzerland
Kindest Regards,

Petra Emmel & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
311 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Comfortable, though small and characterless rooms (think IKEA). What is definitely missing is a coffee maker in the rooms.
Now, imagine this: The Wyndham Rewards Card was already presented at check-in. On check-out its record had miraculously vanished. I presented the card again, to be told (by the lady with the hotel's ID 15756) that I won't get any points, because there is direct invoicing to my company and I don't pay with a credit card. Not getting points credited would be fully understandable, if my company would have a special, negotiated rate with this hotel. This is clearly not the case. Not paying with the plastic, the hotel does not have to pay the credit-card company a commission and actually gets more from me than from a comparable customer paying by credit-card. The rate charged for a single room at CHF 410.-- (USD 460.--) per night is a grossly inflated rate, applicable during trade fairs. A customer who spends CHF 1500.-- (USD 1700.--) on a three night's stay, including food and beverage, is pampered by any other hotel in this category. Obviously not by Ramada and Wyndham Rewards....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bamboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay here in Basel. It is correct that Wyndham does not award you with points if the bill is send to the company, however I am very sorry to hear that you did not feel pampered enought.

We proudly try to recognize our special Wyndham members, and if you would give us a second chance we would be more than happy to put a coffee maker in your room.

If you wish to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and then we might meet up for more feedback from your side.

KInd regards

Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel
Hotel du Commerce
#44 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#39 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyperion Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyperion Hotel Basel

Property: Hyperion Hotel Basel
Address: Messeplatz 12 | 4058 Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Plaza Basel Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#18 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#20 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyperion Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Basel City Center, the highest habitable building in Basel, is located directly next to the fair & exhibition site. Situated in the center of the city, close to Basel's Old Town and just 300 metres from Badischer Bahnhof (train station on the German border), the hotel is an ideal starting point for sightseeing and excursions. The 224 modern rooms in the categories comfort, deluxe, executive and suite all have free Wi-Fi Internet, a desk, mini fridge, safe with a charger plug socket, cable TV, telephone, hairdryer and bathrooms with sophisticated lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyperion Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Ramada Basel
Basel Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing