We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$140
View deal
Trip.com
$104
View deal
Expedia.com$140
Priceline
eDreams$140
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
70
66
21
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
70
66
21
12
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 179 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2017

I hadn´t even considered this, but I got very frustrated with overpriced hotels in Basel. I saw great reviews and that they had double en suite bedrooms. We were not disappointed! The building is old and charming, in a quiet location, and the room had views over threes and over a little stream. It is simply furnished but has everything you need (bring your soap though), clean and spacious. Breakfast was not luxurious but good and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our tip for next time: the Basel Tourism website has packages here that include tickets to exhibitions at the Fondation Beyeler, but you need to book through that website.

Room tip: They have double en suite rooms. Check the Basel Tourism website for packages here that include expo tickets for the Fondation Beyeler
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HikingB00ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017

This was a clean and comfortable hostel (bathrooms seemed as though they had just been cleaned every time I went in them). Decent breakfast in the morning and you can reach various trams by foot within 7-10 minutes.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017

If you've spent a lot of nights in hostels in Eastern Europe, as I have, you'll find this one a little expensive for what's on offer. However, this is Switzerland, and this is pretty much the best place you'll get in Basel for the budget(ish) traveller level. The building is big, and the rooms are airy, if a bit spartan. The breakfast was nice, and the showers, although not perfect, were warm. The hostel is pretty close to the tram network, which runs like clockwork (This is Switzerland here), and it's not too far from the station and the Rhine.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CWoof93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2017

This hostel is very spacious, has a cool design. The location is nice and quiet, near 2 tram stations that are convenient, and they provide a mobility ticket for your stay. Breakfast is nice, with some variety. The room I stayed in was a 4 bed shared room, it had a sink and locker area at the entrance. There was also a small green glass area next to the door, so you can actually see part of the room from the hallway. The bathroom and shower area was spacious and clean. The staff was very helpful. I had to change rooms and it was resolved easily (side note - if you stay in a shared room, take care of your hygiene and keep your shoes and clothes clean!).

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016

Booked a bed in the four bed room. Very comfortable bed, good shower facility down the hall. Wash basin in bedroom for cleaning teeth and shaving. Toilets also down the hall. Everywhere is clean and bright. The location is superb with a fast flowing stream running by the front and onwards into the Rhine. Good breakfast also included. I did remember to take a towel but had to borrow soap from a fellow guest, my fault for forgetting that this is a hostel after all. Could be mistaken for a swanky modern boutique hotel except for the bunk beds. 48 CHF per night Bed and Breakfast is not bad in a city that costs 100 CHF every time you turn around.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Laurel Farm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews