We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wast of time”

Jean Tinguely Museum
Ranked #9 of 153 things to do in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wast of time”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

After reading the reviews here we made a special effort to visit this museum and what a let down. The only interesting thing about this museum is that people think this is worth a visit. It's like looking at garbage that has been put on display. The worst part of the exhibition for me was the dead animals that are hung on the "art" and when you push the red button it starts whipping them around...... Really sick

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tamara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    214
    57
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mega-mechanics museum”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The collection of Tinguely works bring you a lot of fun, but you must see them in running. (sometimes the red knobs do not work). Wish to know more about Tinguely life, e.g. his left things, his bibliography, short stories behind the machines exhibited, etc.
I went there on foot, through Solitude Park, along a very nice beautiful path for jogging by Rhin river. The museum is located just at the end of the park. CHF15 is the entry fee, a bit expensive to me though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lien_Le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tinguely's works are fun to see”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

See this! Tinguely's works move and shake and do all kinds of fun stuff. Our Swiss Pass gave us free admission. It was easy to find. There were other artists exhibited that were terrific. We ate good kebab right across from the Museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CatheLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Museum for Unusual Artist”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Museum Tinguely is located in a beautiful spot on the Rhine in Klein Basel, and is a very nice architectural statement in its own right. It was erected to house a lot of the quite extraordinary moving and shaking creations of the Swiss artist Jean Tinguely, and it also has some room for special exhibits of other artists as well (when we were there the exhibit focused on the Russian avant-guare artist Vladimir Tatlin).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobFran_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What FUN!!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everyone who is in this museum behaves like a kid. So wonderful. Such fun. Also make sure you see the Tinguely Fountain in Basel itself. Perfect for what ails modern life these days.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean Tinguely Museum also viewed

 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Jean Tinguely Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing