We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel right on the river in the heart of the city”
Review of Hotel Krafft Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Krafft Basel
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel has been attractively renovated with very modern rooms while preserving the historic charm of the building. We booked a junior suite with river view for 405 euros a night including breakfast. The location was ideal for touring, with all attractions within walking distance. The room was spacious and very modern in a spare style, but very well laid out and comfortable. The bed is positioned in the middle of the room in front of a headboard that is a closet on the other side, with additional storage on the side of the unit. Good lighting in the room by the bed, the desk and the couch. Had a small balcony looking onto the river which was delightful day and night - especially enjoyed watching all the swimmers with their floating drysacks with their clothes - the hotel sells the drysacks in case you want to join in this tradition. Espresso machine in the room as well. Good ventilation plus a fan. The bed was comfortable but like all European hotels, it would be nice to have more bedding options than just a duvet as it gets too warm at night in nice weather. The bathroom was small but there was a storage shelf behind the toilet and well lit with a skylight. Really liked the large bottles of first rate toilettries - so nice not to have tiny bottles with 1 tablespoon of liquid in them. Nice thick towels. Each floor has a cozy lounge area with books, hot or cold water, I think there was even sparkling water, and access to computer/print work stations. Good wi-fi in the rooms, no extra charge. The hotel has two small but attractive lounge areas on the main floor and they leave out a pitcher of naturally flavored water each day. The dining area is very pretty - a large white room with lovely chandeliers looking out over the river and an excellent assortment of breakfast items. Used the elevator to go up to the room, but walked down the winding wooden stairs to go out each day. Front desk staff extremely helpful - marking maps and providing touring info., etc. Not elegant enough to be a 5 star hotel, but excellent in its class and definitely a 4 star property.

Room Tip: junior suite gets you a river view and our bathroom had a skylight.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Krafft Basel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 287 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have stayed here for only one night in November 2012 on a business trip to Basel.
The Hotel building is a nice old building directly on the river Rhein – there is a terrasse to sit outside too, this must be beautiful in the summer months.
Free WIFI throughout the Hotel is a plus
Lovely Pub right opposite the Hotel, you literally just walk over to it (10 meters) – many other Restaurants and Pubs in close vicinity.
Great scenic walkway on the river Rhein
Make sure you book a room with view onto the river Rhein.
Food:
Breakfast was nice but continental only on the self service area, not sure if they offer anything else in the menu. The cheeses offered were delicious and the bread was fresh.
We also had lunch in the restaurant and everyone was expressing how good the food was, I had a salad which was very nice with a lovely dressing, served with bread.
Rooms:
The rooms are a little on the small side and there are no coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms. There is also no bottled water in the room, you are expected to fill your water container from one of the water fountains outside on your floor.The bed was small but comfortable and the room was very clean. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom but only a “hair and body” shampoo so if you need conditioner you will have to bring your own. There is a safe in the room, a television and a cupboard to hang your clothes up.
Bathroom a little on the small side too.
The Staff:
The Staff has been very friendly and helpful throughout my stay.

Overall a very pleasant stay but the rooms are too small

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with view of the River Rhein, on the other side you will only see the street
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManuGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A great hotel on the river Rhine where you should go for the style of it, the semi-formal restaurant and its aspirational menu, and the great service.

We were booked here by a business partner and I can only say "big thanks!" because the hotel is a very nice experience: wonderfully decorated, attentive staff, a great dinner and a lovely location that is just a short walk from the historic city.

Our room was spacious and with an original, contemporary yet warm design, with details such as an iPod player and an espresso machine. A pleasant, spacious bathroom and fast internet.

Do check out the wine bar across the street called "Consum". It's owned by the hotelier and serves small bites such as local cheeses and deserts along with many different wines.

I will come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for river view. It's peaceful.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogiervanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A recent one night stay in a single room with river view for business. A useful inclusion is free public transport when staying at a hotel in Basel. The reception staff spoke excellent English and were able to seamlessly deal with any enquiries. Lovely log fire by the lift and smart if fairly spartan room, however wonderful river views. The included breakfast was ample. The only possible down point is that they don't provide an iron but a costly ironing service so take a pressed shirt. I didn't eat any other meals here but like the rest of Basel it isn't cheap.

Room Tip: Request river view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smarshy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Here for business, with a conference discount -got a single room facing back side street (actually a nice view anyway) that cannot be compared to a river-view, where you can enjoy the skyline of Basel Old town through the trees. This hotel offers a mixture of elegance and essential service. Fine details, like Paulsen's lamps at the entrance. The room was basic, with small bathroom.
Average breakfast, finely presented and lacking nothing you should expect -you've got to tell you want eggs. The restaurant has outdoor seats with stunning and no-cars view -price list seemed average-high for Basel.
The difficult part of reviewing Hotel Krafft is "value". A double room can cost 350CHF and I'd question if it's worth. At the same time, river view is magic and Basel is in general a highly expensive city.
Let's put it: should I come back for a romantic escape I'd try this hotel first -only if rates were unreasonable I'd look for something else.

Room Tip: River view in uncomparable to back street rooms -the latter are not that bad, but it's better to...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September 2012 whilst in Basel for a conference. It was one of the recommended hotels by the conference organizers. My first put off was having to lug heavy suitcases half a dozen steps from the street through a narrow dorway to the foyer of the hotel. Although the location over looking the Rhine is delightful, the room we were in looked the other way to the somewhat seedy back street on which the hotel is actually located. Although the weather at the time was not hot, it was nearing the end of summer and the building had obviously retained the heat of summer. Unfortunately there was no form of air conditioning or ventilation in the room apart from a free standing fan or the alternative of the open window. In an attempt to relieve the stuffiness of the room, we opted for the window but this was totally unsuitable at night due to the traffic and general street activities below.
The room was not carpeted and combining this with original creaky floor boards on the landings outside the rooms, movement throughout the hotel was somewhat noisy. Conversations, television and running showers in the adjacent room could be readily heard. The flooring material (some form of synthetic wood?) in the room was clammy and simply not cosy - we had to ask for slippers from reception, which they kindly obliged.
The somewhat ineffective curtains ensured light from the advertising signage on the outside of the building retained our room in half light all night.
Breakfast was somewhat limited compared to other buffet breakfasts we've had on recent travels and although the evening meal we ordered was tasty, the portion was minuscule to the extent that when it was served, the waiter, whether noticing the look on my face or simply his own assessment, advised that if it wasn't enough, just ask for more! As it was a relatively simple pasta dish, I obliged his offer and received another equivalently sized portion at no additional cost!
The best part about this hotel was the courteous and friendly staff but not sufficient to neutralize the other negatives I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ovlooking the river but expect to pay!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have been several times at the Krafft Hotel during the last 15 years, both alone and with my wife. It is an old hotel dating back to the 19th century that was completely renovated in 2005-2006, thank God as it was run down and seedy. It is probably not full value for money (a double room goes for 230 to 280 Swiss Francs), but we keep going back as we love its position smack on the Rhine with a beautiful view of the old city and its cathedral, its sleek understated style, its friendly (and English-speaking) staff, and its very respectable restaurant with an outdoor terrace in summer. The rooms facing the street can be noisy and the bar across from the restaurant is not well attended (we saw a brawl on a Sunday morning that ended up with a guy with a ripped shirt and blood on his face running away from a group wielding sticks), but we have never felt insecure. Still, the rooms facing the river are worth the extra money and I would recommend the hotel for a weekend or a few days of vacations or romantic stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the river side
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
484 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Merian am Rhein
Hotel Merian am Rhein
#38 of 51 in Basel
317 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#15 of 51 in Basel
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
987 reviews
Vorstädte
Nomad Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krafft Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krafft Basel

Address: Rheingasse 12, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Krafft)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Basel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#19 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $163 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Krafft Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, charm and quality: The Krafft Basel enjoys a long tradition as a city hotel with a restaurant situated in the heart of the old town “Kleinbasel”, symbolizing the life of the Rheingasse. The renovated building from 1873 combines classic with contemporary design: Individually designed hotel rooms and junior suites with a variety of extras in comfortable units across the street in the annex.The restaurant convinces with its variety of fresh products and with its authenticity and invites to experience the pleasure of dining in a new way. A smoking lounge and the wine bar consum complete the Krafft offer.Beautiful moments on the Rhine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Krafft Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krafft Am Rhein Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing