We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“internet really bad”
Review of Hotel Munchnerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Munchnerhof
Ranked #48 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
7
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Basel was pretty busy end-September and we were lucky to get a room. However, we were quite satisfied with it. The rooms were very basic - no fridge/air-conditioner (not that we needed it while we were there). The staff was extremely helpful. Free tram/bus passes were a great boon. A lot of construction work going on opposite the hotel but if you shut the windows the sound was cut off. The breakfast was very good. A lot of restaurants around the hotel and the hotel restaurant where we dined one night was also good. The Wifi signal is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

this hotel is situated very near the convention centre and is well placed close to a tram stop to the station and old town and centre
reception when we arrived was quite busy and somewhat preoccupied. The room was small but the bed comfortable and the room and small bathroom spotlessly clean. However the windows overlook a main street and the tram cars began very early in the morning and were noisy.
breakfast was good and there was a comfortable lounge adjacent to the breakfast room which would have given us a much more positive experience of the hotel.. Unfortunately we had not been shown that on arrival and did not discover it until next morning .there are several restaurants within walking distance but in May some of these were not open in the early evening.
the24-hour transport card provided by the hotel is a welcome addition to make your first hours easy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Spent two weeks in Basel staying at the Munchnerhof Hotel. Lucky to have booked one of the "business" rooms, as my friends had an economy room, which was so small one became severely claustrophobic when visiting! Don't even consider taking one of the roof rooms on the 5th floor. This is communal living at its best, with everyone sharing a common shower and bathroom..not to mention the severe heat in the rooms during the hot 35 degree Basel summer days. The decor of the business room I stayed in was dated with strange artwork. The room was incredibly hot and stuffy, as there is no air conditioning in the hotel. The rooms were, however, efficiently serviced daily and all accommodation was very clean! Breakfasts are generous, however after 2 weeks, cold meats and croissants every morning became a bit too much. The free high speed internet and travel cards are a bonus. Hotel reception staff are cold, unfriendly and any requests are greeted with disdain! The reception staff should be sent on a public relations course as their miserable attitude really sours ones stay! Strangely the rest of the staff e.g. restaurant staff, were, however, friendly and helpful! If you are looking for budget, no frills accommodation stay at the Munchnerhof and be prepared for an icy reception. However, rather spend a bit more money and stay at the Dorint Hotel down the road!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Spotless Economy class hotel very central with tram connections. The staff & service were excellent. The breakfast was lovely. Basel was warm & safe. Day trip to Lucerne was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embothrium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

As prices in Switzerland are quite expensive this hotel is what I would class as a "value" hotel. Very clean and comfortable , but basic. Interior decor is a bit bizarre , but the staff were most helpful .Breakfast was very limited but all in all the hotel was still handy for central Basel. We were given a free tram / bus pass for our stay and this was really useful as the tram stopped outside the door. £25 taxi fare from the airport , Christmas markets were lovely but again , Switzerland is very pricey- £6-10 for baubles /bits from the market stalls. We have visited Prague at the same time of year and found it much better value. However the Swiss we met were very welcoming and very polite , the weather very cold and Christmassy.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsjsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Our European vacation was primarily of France and London, but we wanted to see a bit of Germany. We decided on Basel as a closer destination, and are glad we tried it.
We stayed in five different three star hotels on our trip, and this one was by far the best. Very spacious, very clean. Furnishings made me feel like I was in an IKEA store. Very nice reception staff. Several nearby restaurants and bars seemed to be closed for vacations, and not much night life nearby, but easier to sleep. The included breakfast was good, and we also ate lunch at the hotel restaurant that was fine.
The Basel tram system is terrific! You get a free pass when you check in at a hotel (have reservation information with you when you arrive at the train station so you can do the first ride to the hotel). Basel is a neat city--history, shopping, culture--not on most people’s list, but do consider it and the Muncherhoff hotel.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Alexander Hotel
#39 of 51 in Basel
131 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel du Commerce
#41 of 51 in Basel
116 reviews
Basilisk Hotel
#43 of 51 in Basel
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Munchnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munchnerhof

Property: Hotel Munchnerhof
Address: Riehenring 75, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Munchnerhof Swiss Q Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Munchnerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Munchnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munchnerhof Swiss q Basel
Hotel Munchnerhof Swiss q

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing