We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the teufelhof an unique charming place in a beautiful little town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Teufelhof Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Der Teufelhof Basel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the teufelhof an unique charming place in a beautiful little town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at the Teufelhof for 4 days and our stay was just perfect.
The concept of the hotel is to be a cultural, arty, gastronomical, modern and traditional treasure in a typical authentic swiss house in the oldtown.

The staff was very helpful and kind. We've got an upgrade to one of the art rooms in the Kunst Hotel. The view over Basel was just breathtaking! and we've loved the concept of the art room, as this was something unique which we've never experienced before.

The hotel is quite small (around 40 rooms?) but the rooms have a good size and modern furniture. We believe that is much more authentic (and romantic) to choose the teufelhof than any other big hotel chain. What I found special, is that in the basement there is the old towns wall and a tiny archaeological museum.

We felt like home. The breakfast buffet was amazing. Great choice of everything, fresh croissants, fruits etc. Just perfect (I loooved the fresh home made "silserli Bread" mmmh) We've had dinner in the newly opened restaurant l'atelier. We loved the concept of the menu choice and the atmosphere! Great!

And of course we tried out the gourmet restaurant bel étage and it is the best 1 Michelin star restaurant we have been in Basel. They have a great wine list which makes it difficult to choose, but the somelier gave us a good recommendation.

There is nothing i didn't like about the stay. The room, the location, the food, the staff, the shop, the museum, the theater, the art, the house , a real gem!
Next time we are in Switzerland we will definitively stay at the teufelhof again and again and again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chancby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    121
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
195
27
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

One of a kind - a hotel, theatre and artistic salon, with simple, almost spartan rooms in the main building. There are also other, more idiosyncratic rooms decorated artistically. There is an excellent gourmet restaurant and a brasserie with a good, short, simpler menu.

An inner courtyard is pleasant for breakfast lunch and dinner on warm summer days. There is a small bar with outside seating that seems to stay open until the last guest leaves (unlike the restaurant, which keep strict Swiss hours).

A good alternative to chain hotels, with a relaxed atmosphere

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Summary: a clean, comfortable, reasonably-priced hotel conveniently located near a main tourist square.

We stayed at the Teufelhof the last week of July, 2010. Check in was smooth, even though we arrived at 10AM. The room was not quite ready, so the front desk attendant sent us to the restaurant for a snack and coffee (catching the tail end of the included breakfast). She came to get us within a half hour and we went up to the room. There IS a small elevator, so bringing the bags up was no problem.

We were in room 12 on the 2nd floor (American style - floor 1, European style) of the Gallery Hotel. The room was larger than we expected (very roughly 15 feet square?). While it IS white, as other reviewers pointed out, it was decorated with a few old-style photos (see attached). The Queen bed was very comfortable (not too firm, not too soft). There was a small table and chair, phone, LOTS of closet space and a small safe. The bathroom included toiletries. No air conditioning, though the evening temperatures were pleasant enough to leave the windows open.

The view (see attached) was of a small, semi-quiet street. There was small-town (?) noise at night, with a party audible one night. I am a light sleeper and always bring earplugs, so I was not disturbed.

Free Internet (WiFi) was included, but I had to log in anew each time I turned on my iPad, which was less than convenient. You need to get a new password each day.

The included breakfast was excellent. The spread included the expected juices, breads, cereals and cheeses, but also included eggs cooked to order and fresh coffee.

The hotel is located up a ¼ mile (280? Meter) hill from Barfusser Platz, on tram line 3. It was not too hard walking down, but after a full 10 hour day of walking around Basel, the tram was welcome. Barfusser Platz is one of the main tram transfer points, so it was very easy to get ANYWHERE in the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Rooms small, bathroom too small, rooms very white. looked like a hospital room. floors very noicy. Service and breakfest vbery nice and good. For what you get and have to pay .......... go some where else

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margasuvaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

Really nice, relatively small, different hotel in Basel. Relaxing rooms with some exotic art work in my room. Really helpful staff and good breakfast for a reasonable price (for Basel). TV on request if available, but to be honest it was nice to go without. Free WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Pablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Delightful small hotel, very nice staff, room simple but efficiently designed, great location on streetcar line in beautiful section of town and close to market and museums. Had dinner in wine cellar: excellent food and service on lovely patio. Price was very reasonable for Switzerland, and included breakfast and a pass for unlimited rides on the Basel streetcars.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

Wanting to give my father a treat (and myself too, as I was quite overworked and tired) I booked two single rooms in this hotel last summer. We got two of the bigger single rooms for the price of the smaller ones (special summer rate), but all single rooms in this hotel apparently have double beds - very important on my opinion. The hotel consists of two parts, a limited number of rooms individually designed by artists (too expensive for us) and the Gallerie Hotel with regular rooms, but all decorated with works of art (not prints, real paintings ect.). These change regularly. The time we were staying at the hotel they were exposing works of mentally or emotionally disabled artists - I liked this idea and I liked the three little paintings in my room.
As for the room ifself - certainly not everybody's taste. I loved it. All in white, the only color spot being the paintings, a designer chair and a small plant. Everything is very simple, bathroom (only shower) very functional, no frills. Wunderful wooden floor. Incredibly comfortable bed (my father was particularly enchanted with his, having discoverd some features that seem to appeal elderly people, but are invisible to younger ones).
Very restful.
And no telly! I found that great (TV sets are ugly anyway). A CD-player though. There was a choice of CDs downstairs where you could serve yourself, mostly classic music but too mainstream for my taste. Of course you could ask for a telly at the reception.
I had a very good night's sleep (quite unusal for me). It was a very warm week but we had no problem with the room temperature (not even my father ...). I also found it rather - or should I say - really quiet (2. floor), but then, I live in Paris and I'm used to noise.
Size of the room was just perfect, not too big, not to small.
The second night we had diner at the restaurant, not at the wine bar, but at the more expensive restaurant. We sat outside, they have a lovely, peacefull terrasse. It was a beautiful evening. I wasn't too impressed with the food (apparently I didn't make the right choice), but the service was very good and the (Swiss) wine and desert too.
The staff is very nice and friendly.
Breakfast very good too (good green tea - a rarity - and wunderful "Laugengebäck").
The location is very pleasant, right next to the charming old town. Anyway, I like Basel a lot (wunderful museums). Right next to the hotel is a tram station, but you don't really need it as it is such a nice and short stroll to the city center and the Rhine.
The hotel is certainly not a bargain, but prices are not extravagant for Basel either.

  • Liked — the room and especially the bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unluckyhotelguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Basel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Teufelhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Teufelhof Basel

Property: Der Teufelhof Basel
Address: Leonhardsgraben 47 - 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#9 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Teufelhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Teufelhof Basel, situated in the old town, with all sights and museums within walking distance or easy to reach by public transport, is a unique hotel experience with 33 stylish rooms. The hotel is classified as design and lifestyle as well as unique hotel. The rooms are either in the historic building, we call Art hotel, or in the more modern part in the Gallery Hotel. The Art Hotel has eight rooms and a suite. Each of them is made a work of art to live in. Especially business people who travel a lot enjoy staying in rooms which are not like the hotel rooms they know from their visits throughout the world. The Gallery Hotel's rooms and halls are a large exhibition area for one artist who can present his works for a particular period. We have chosen three designers for the rooms' furniture. The Gallery Hotel has twenty rooms, each different in size, three suites and a junior suite.The hotel comprises further the restaurant Atelier, the fine dining restaurant Bel Etage, the Teufelhof Bar, the wine shop «Falstaff», an own theater and the archaeological cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Der Teufelhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Teufelhof Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing