We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel in Basel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in Basel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this luxury hotel. 650 Euros per night...

On the whole, our feeling is this is a bit expensive for what you get in the end. Still, we will always remember this stay, like those in Imperial Hotel New Delhi, Rafles in Singapore, Majestic Hotel in Melaka, etc.

The service is excellent, even outstanding. Staff is smiling and customer focused. The hotel is beautiful, a piece of history. Rooms are very nice, with a beautiful furniture, excellent bed, very good pillows, excellent equipment (TV, Hifi, Wifi, etc.), large range of amenities, very good products (shower gel, shampoo, etc.), very quiet environment, free minibar, etc. View on Rhin river is beautiful.

But for such a high rate you only have a shower, not a bathroom, no car park (the hotel charges 33 Euros per day for the private car park near the hotel), no lounge, no swimming pool and a gym which is one of the smallest ever seen in such a high standard hotel... really small...

Breakfast is very good/excellent with (high) quality products. But I would say you get the same quality in a Grand Hyatt or a Conrad. So breakfast is according to the standard of such hotels.

The restaurant La Brasserie is really good, even excellent, with a high end cuisine and very good wines.

The lobby bar offers a hot chocolate "Ovomaltine" (low quality...), which is weird in such a Leading Hotel of the World.

Despite those problems, we recommend to stay at least once in this hotel as this is part of things to be done in life, when you can afford it :)

Room Tip: With view on Rhin river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VOYAGEURShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback concerning your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois with your personal impressions and for your recommendation.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the service and the historical hotel with the beautiful view overlooking the River.

Regarding your note for the overnight parking, we would like to inform you that a parking fee of CHF 40 per night corresponds to regular Swiss parking fees.

Ovomaltine is a typical Swiss Brand of milk flavoring product and very popular. We are very sorry that you didn’t like it and would like to let you know that our lobbybar also offer different brands of hot chocolate.

It would be our pleasure to offer you, during your next stay, a room with shower and bathtub as we have different room types within the same category.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon. In the meantime we wish you the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    93
    20
    9
    12
See reviews for
71
323
64
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

It is a beautiful, traditional Swiss hotel sitting beside the Rhine river within walking distance of the old town in Basel and fine museums. Luxurious yet comfortable public rooms, bedrooms with heated bathroom towel racks and floors, free well stocked minibars and lovely views over the river. Choose a river view room if you can. Also enjoy the lovely breakfast in the lovely breakfast room. All of the staff is friendly, welcoming and helpful. Although it is a grand hotel, it is not pretentious. It is the best of the old world with a great warmth. Christmas is a special treat with both the old town and the hotel splendidly decorated.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
171 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

These are the kinds of hotels that scream stuffy, old-fashioned Switzerland but if you can afford it, why would you want anything else? Beautifully proportioned rooms, a roaring fireplace and leather couches in the bar, leisurely breakfasts, an elegant sitting area, cozy bedrooms and a handy location right in the center of town.I l enjoyed walks into the older parts of town, along the nature trails and on the footpath just below the hotel that goes along the river. Even squeezed in some rushed shopping across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois and the surrounding area on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, the bar with the fireplace, the relaxed breakfast as well as the walks through the Old City.

We wish you the very best and looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We took a series of rooms from the presidential suite to a more modest double. All immaculate but unstylish. Service impeccable but lacking character. It is what it is it, five star, but with crazy Swiss style.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river, marginally less dull than one of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benedict R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for your evaluation on TripAdvisor and for your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with our flawless service. At our hotel we offer two different types of rooms – one with a modern style (the one you had) and one with a classic interior. Let you inspire by the pictures on our homepage. We are sure that you will find rooms that meet with your expectation.

We do hope that we will have to opportunity to have you back soon again.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Les Trois Rois is exactly your idea of excellence in hospitality. Fantastic location in the very center of Basel and overlooking the river Rhin. A beautiful historic building and an ellegant but cozy and welcoming atmosphere. Spacious, beautiful, perfectly appointed and extremely comfortable rooms. A great breakfast at the excellent Brasserie restaurant. And above all, a service just as good as it gets provided by the most dedicated and gentle staff. It was not more than five minutes since we had set foot in the building, and everybody at both the Reception and the Concierge desks was addressing us by our names. The attitude and the performance of every single member of the team is world class. With a promp and efficient response, the warmest and most gentle treatment and a caring and graceful attitude at all times, this people really know how to make the traveller feel really well taken care of... Or almost spoiled!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear guest

We thank you very much for having chosen to stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois during your time in Basel. We really appreciate your exceptional feedback and your valuation.

We are delighted to read that you had a good experience at the hotel. In particular, thank you very much for complimenting so many points such as the gentle staff, the excellent Brasserie and the professional performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois in the near future and hope to exceed your expectations again.

Warm regards

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Apparently Queen Elizabeth II stayed here...and now, so have I !
No mention of any kings spending the night, but they would not be disappointed. A lovely 'grand dame' of a hotel, but not too big and not too ostentatious...just the right amount of 'swank' mixed with courteous and efficient service.

Great views from the lobby lounge and riverside rooms (a must) and as usual with my European room recommendations...take a double, at minimum.

Free minibar is a goody and so is the breakfast, if choosing this option. The automatic 'ozone control' on the commode would be welcome by a 'fellow traveler' !.....lol
My only gripe was having to pay for the Wall St Journal...a little off-putting after paying the quite hefty room rate.
late night in the bar is great people watching with the Basel hoi polloi.

Room Tip: riverside with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable and that you enjoyed your time here in Basel – especially our polite and competent service, the view overlooking the Rhein, the free minibar as well as the breakfast.

Regarding your comment about the Wall Street Journal, we would like to inform you that we offer the International New York Times complementary for our guests. Moreover, we already took your comment into consideration with the management in terms of expanding our offers in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon. In the meantime we wish you the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for three nights when in Basel for business. It is an absolutely wonderful property, given its historic style and location. But even more, the staff was attentive and caring, provided perfect service (with attitude or arrogance), and were always warm and welcoming. I am a discriminating consumer and could not find anything to pick at during my stay.to

I chose a "single room" given I was traveling alone, on the street size. The room was small compared to the double rooms, but was on par with rooms at many European hotels. It was well appointed and maintained (including a desk, a chair in addition to the desk chair, and double bed, and a Bang and Olufsen TV), the bathroom was full-sized and had the amenities one would expect of a five star hotelm, and overall a very comfortable space to have as home for a couple of days. The room also had a complimentary minibar, restocked daily (mainly water and juices), heated floor in the bathroom, and heated towel racks. What else could one ask for? I will certainly return next time I am in Basel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your detailed description and the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are very pleased to read that you were satisfied at all with our attentive service as well as the room facilities.

Furthermore, we will share your review with all our staff members as it will be our motivation to convince you again during your next stay at our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards

Reto Kocher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

Property: Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
Address: Blumenrain 8, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Basel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#11 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois lies at the very heart of the city of Basel. At the exact spot where, in the Middle Ages, the ships docked at the salt tower in order to transport that much sought-after product down the Rhine and out into the world. Discover Basel, the tri-border area and the charm of our region. Allow yourself to be pampered – to make your stay in our small cosmopolitan city unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing