We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
Nearby Hotels
$240
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
$139
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel D - Basel(Basel)
$127
$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$171
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$122
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Rochat(Basel)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$113
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$135
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
GAIA Hotel(Basel)
$171
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
745
107
23
11
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
745
107
23
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverleading hotels of the worldcigar roommichelin starturn down servicea river view roomrooms are beautifulclassic hotelmemorable staymodern amenitiesfavorite hotelcomplimentary mini barjunior suitewonderful hotelbreakfast buffet isupon checkold town
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 901 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We took a series of rooms from the presidential suite to a more modest double. All immaculate but unstylish. Service impeccable but lacking character. It is what it is it, five star, but with crazy Swiss style.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river, marginally less dull than one of the town.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benedict R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear guest

Many thanks for your evaluation on TripAdvisor and for your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with our flawless service. At our hotel we offer two different types of rooms – one with a modern style (the one you had) and one with a classic interior. Let you inspire by the pictures on our homepage. We are sure that you will find rooms that meet with your expectation.

We do hope that we will have to opportunity to have you back soon again.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Les Trois Rois is exactly your idea of excellence in hospitality. Fantastic location in the very center of Basel and overlooking the river Rhin. A beautiful historic building and an ellegant but cozy and welcoming atmosphere. Spacious, beautiful, perfectly appointed and extremely comfortable rooms. A great breakfast at the excellent Brasserie restaurant. And above all, a service just as good as it gets provided by the most dedicated and gentle staff. It was not more than five minutes since we had set foot in the building, and everybody at both the Reception and the Concierge desks was addressing us by our names. The attitude and the performance of every single member of the team is world class. With a promp and efficient response, the warmest and most gentle treatment and a caring and graceful attitude at all times, this people really know how to make the traveller feel really well taken care of... Or almost spoiled!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear guest

We thank you very much for having chosen to stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois during your time in Basel. We really appreciate your exceptional feedback and your valuation.

We are delighted to read that you had a good experience at the hotel. In particular, thank you very much for complimenting so many points such as the gentle staff, the excellent Brasserie and the professional performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois in the near future and hope to exceed your expectations again.

Warm regards

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Apparently Queen Elizabeth II stayed here...and now, so have I !
No mention of any kings spending the night, but they would not be disappointed. A lovely 'grand dame' of a hotel, but not too big and not too ostentatious...just the right amount of 'swank' mixed with courteous and efficient service.

Great views from the lobby lounge and riverside rooms (a must) and as usual with my European room recommendations...take a double, at minimum.

Free minibar is a goody and so is the breakfast, if choosing this option. The automatic 'ozone control' on the commode would be welcome by a 'fellow traveler' !.....lol
My only gripe was having to pay for the Wall St Journal...a little off-putting after paying the quite hefty room rate.
late night in the bar is great people watching with the Basel hoi polloi.

Room Tip: riverside with balcony
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable and that you enjoyed your time here in Basel – especially our polite and competent service, the view overlooking the Rhein, the free minibar as well as the breakfast.

Regarding your comment about the Wall Street Journal, we would like to inform you that we offer the International New York Times complementary for our guests. Moreover, we already took your comment into consideration with the management in terms of expanding our offers in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon. In the meantime we wish you the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for three nights when in Basel for business. It is an absolutely wonderful property, given its historic style and location. But even more, the staff was attentive and caring, provided perfect service (with attitude or arrogance), and were always warm and welcoming. I am a discriminating consumer and could not find anything to pick at during my stay.to

I chose a "single room" given I was traveling alone, on the street size. The room was small compared to the double rooms, but was on par with rooms at many European hotels. It was well appointed and maintained (including a desk, a chair in addition to the desk chair, and double bed, and a Bang and Olufsen TV), the bathroom was full-sized and had the amenities one would expect of a five star hotelm, and overall a very comfortable space to have as home for a couple of days. The room also had a complimentary minibar, restocked daily (mainly water and juices), heated floor in the bathroom, and heated towel racks. What else could one ask for? I will certainly return next time I am in Basel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your detailed description and the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are very pleased to read that you were satisfied at all with our attentive service as well as the room facilities.

Furthermore, we will share your review with all our staff members as it will be our motivation to convince you again during your next stay at our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Hotel is really beautiful, just not so much my taste, I like modern rooms and the trois rois is very old fashion, but that's just my personal tast. The location is really wonderful, just by the river and food in the restaurant cheval blanch was one of the best meals I ever has. So all in all I had a great stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear guest

Many thanks for your time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

It is a pleasure that you enjoyed our wonderful location and the restaurant Cheval Blanc - we were delighted to receive such a compliment and we are very pleased to hear that you have had one of your best meals ever in our fine dining restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews