We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffy, badly decorated and Swiss, but immaculate service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We took a series of rooms from the presidential suite to a more modest double. All immaculate but unstylish. Service impeccable but lacking character. It is what it is it, five star, but with crazy Swiss style.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river, marginally less dull than one of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benedict R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear guest

Many thanks for your evaluation on TripAdvisor and for your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with our flawless service. At our hotel we offer two different types of rooms – one with a modern style (the one you had) and one with a classic interior. Let you inspire by the pictures on our homepage. We are sure that you will find rooms that meet with your expectation.

We do hope that we will have to opportunity to have you back soon again.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 868 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Les Trois Rois is exactly your idea of excellence in hospitality. Fantastic location in the very center of Basel and overlooking the river Rhin. A beautiful historic building and an ellegant but cozy and welcoming atmosphere. Spacious, beautiful, perfectly appointed and extremely comfortable rooms. A great breakfast at the excellent Brasserie restaurant. And above all, a service just as good as it gets provided by the most dedicated and gentle staff. It was not more than five minutes since we had set foot in the building, and everybody at both the Reception and the Concierge desks was addressing us by our names. The attitude and the performance of every single member of the team is world class. With a promp and efficient response, the warmest and most gentle treatment and a caring and graceful attitude at all times, this people really know how to make the traveller feel really well taken care of... Or almost spoiled!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear guest

We thank you very much for having chosen to stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois during your time in Basel. We really appreciate your exceptional feedback and your valuation.

We are delighted to read that you had a good experience at the hotel. In particular, thank you very much for complimenting so many points such as the gentle staff, the excellent Brasserie and the professional performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois in the near future and hope to exceed your expectations again.

Warm regards

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Apparently Queen Elizabeth II stayed here...and now, so have I !
No mention of any kings spending the night, but they would not be disappointed. A lovely 'grand dame' of a hotel, but not too big and not too ostentatious...just the right amount of 'swank' mixed with courteous and efficient service.

Great views from the lobby lounge and riverside rooms (a must) and as usual with my European room recommendations...take a double, at minimum.

Free minibar is a goody and so is the breakfast, if choosing this option. The automatic 'ozone control' on the commode would be welcome by a 'fellow traveler' !.....lol
My only gripe was having to pay for the Wall St Journal...a little off-putting after paying the quite hefty room rate.
late night in the bar is great people watching with the Basel hoi polloi.

Room Tip: riverside with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for having taken the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable and that you enjoyed your time here in Basel – especially our polite and competent service, the view overlooking the Rhein, the free minibar as well as the breakfast.

Regarding your comment about the Wall Street Journal, we would like to inform you that we offer the International New York Times complementary for our guests. Moreover, we already took your comment into consideration with the management in terms of expanding our offers in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois very soon. In the meantime we wish you the very best.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for three nights when in Basel for business. It is an absolutely wonderful property, given its historic style and location. But even more, the staff was attentive and caring, provided perfect service (with attitude or arrogance), and were always warm and welcoming. I am a discriminating consumer and could not find anything to pick at during my stay.to

I chose a "single room" given I was traveling alone, on the street size. The room was small compared to the double rooms, but was on par with rooms at many European hotels. It was well appointed and maintained (including a desk, a chair in addition to the desk chair, and double bed, and a Bang and Olufsen TV), the bathroom was full-sized and had the amenities one would expect of a five star hotelm, and overall a very comfortable space to have as home for a couple of days. The room also had a complimentary minibar, restocked daily (mainly water and juices), heated floor in the bathroom, and heated towel racks. What else could one ask for? I will certainly return next time I am in Basel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your detailed description and the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are very pleased to read that you were satisfied at all with our attentive service as well as the room facilities.

Furthermore, we will share your review with all our staff members as it will be our motivation to convince you again during your next stay at our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Hotel is really beautiful, just not so much my taste, I like modern rooms and the trois rois is very old fashion, but that's just my personal tast. The location is really wonderful, just by the river and food in the restaurant cheval blanch was one of the best meals I ever has. So all in all I had a great stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear guest

Many thanks for your time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

It is a pleasure that you enjoyed our wonderful location and the restaurant Cheval Blanc - we were delighted to receive such a compliment and we are very pleased to hear that you have had one of your best meals ever in our fine dining restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I would recommend this beautiful historic hotel to anyone looking for an amazing hotel within the city center. The service was impeccable, starting with the door man, the girl at the reception desk was a trainee and did a great job making us feel welcome, the concierge was extremely helpful and the brasserie restaurant staff was very pleasant too. My room was very pretty with hardwood floors and a very nice bathroom. The room had to feel of the old historic hotel with all modern amenities. I loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room overlooking the Rhine River, the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear guest

We would like to thank you so much for your very positive review regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team helped render your stay a memorable one. We will share your answer with all our staff members as we strive to fulfil all our guest expectations and convince them of our service.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel on the Rhein...even though I had a city view, it was magical. I travel quite a bit and the Grand ranks at the top with just a few others. You can discover the real soul of a luxury hotel by how well you are treated and how responsive the staff performs. Requests were answered within minutes, smiles were on every face and they seemed to drop everything to make sure my stay was memorable. I really appreciate a hotel where even thought the stay is not inexpensive, many of the perks are included so you dont feel as if you are being charged for every little thing you do. By the way, Basel at Christmas is truly indescribable!
Have breakfast in the bar or lobby and request a window table for dinner at the Brasserie.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroisrois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this very positive feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

We are very pleased that you like our luxury hotel, our staff and the Christmas time in Basel. It is also a pleasure for us to hear that you felt comfortable and that you had enjoyable days during your stay at the hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois.

Yours sincerely

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#5 of 52 in Basel
502 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#10 of 52 in Basel
636 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

Address: Blumenrain 8, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#1 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $493 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois lies at the very heart of the city of Basel. At the exact spot where, in the Middle Ages, the ships docked at the salt tower in order to transport that much sought-after product down the Rhine and out into the world. Discover Basel, the tri-border area and the charm of our region. Allow yourself to be pampered – to make your stay in our small cosmopolitan city unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing