We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Trois Rois for three nights while we attended the Swiss Indoors tennis tournament in Basel. This hotel is such a warm and welcoming place - right from the initial welcome all the way through checkout, we felt well taken care of and positively pampered. We are well used to the service levels of luxury hotels around the world, and have no hesitation in recommending the Trois Rois as one of the best hotels we have stayed in, right up with the Plaza Athenée in Paris.

Our room was the perfect size - ample closet space, a supremely comfortable bed and a lovely view of the Mittere Brücke and the Rhine. The bathroom was huge, to say the least, with his-and-hers sinks, a bathtub and very powerful rain shower. Sheets and bedlinens were, needless to say, of the highest quality. We slept very well - even with the windows open, there was no noise in the room.

We did not eat at the hotel, but snacks, afternoon tea, dessert and post-dinner drinks were all sampled and were of the highest qualtiy - their selection of Armagnac is especially excellent.

The staff is extremely courteous and friendly. Tim at reception checked us in and handled checkout perfectly. We also, in error, left an envelope with a not-insignificant amount of cash on a bedside table. When we returned to the room, it had not been touched. Kudos to the professional and honest housekeeping staff of this hotel.

Basel is a lovely little town, and the Trois Rois is a gem of a hotel. If we were to visit Basel again, we would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: River facing rooms are well worth the surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegourmandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 868 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

We enjoyed a few drinks here and a meal in the brasserie over our weekend in Basel recently. The ambiance of the hotel is grand and opulent as befits an lhw and doesn't disappoint. Very comfortable and very professional staff to provide everything from a drink to a rug for your knees when the breeze on the terrace became a bit cool! Lovely setting on the banks of the Rhine and a must for discerning travellers who find themselves in Basel!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Lounges are fine, Sunday brunch is exquisite, rooms are well supported, neat, salubrious anf with fine drapery. Overlooking the river. Compared to the Savoy or the Salzburg Sacher is well superior. Walking distance to anything of interest in Basel. HArd to beat it locally or internationally. In Swiss terms it ranks on top of the Zurich, Geneva and Luzern equivalents. Well visiting Basel for. Any time of the year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bardangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I typically stay in 5 star hotels, and this hotel really delivered. This is like staying in a palace---really beautiful in traditional "marble, gilt and crystal" sort of way. The staff was very nice, and helpful with all of our questions. The room was terrific; not huge, but beautiful. Plus, it had a little "foyer" which insulated from hallway sounds. It was one of the quietest hotels we have ever stayed in. The bathroom (marble everywhere) was very good, and had a wonderful tub. Fabulously comfy bed and bedding. We enjoyed the extensive breakfast buffet----everything you expect in a 5 star. The bar was a lovely stop for a drink, too. Both the dining room and the bar have a view of the river. It was an easy walk to shopping areas, and several tram lines stop very close to the hotel. We received a tram pass when we checked in, and used the tram to go to dinner one night. We were sorry that their Michelin-starred restaurant was booked. We did go to restaurant "Chez Donati" which is owned by the hotel. This restaurant in no way lived up to the hotel's standards. Average food, below average service. Don't bother to go there. LOVED this hotel, and would definitely recommend it and would very much like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoisonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our Uniworld river cruise. Perfect location, beautiful hotel, large comfortable rooms and the service was OUTSTANDING. I called for an ice bucket and before I hung up the phone, the bell rang and there it was. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable. The breakfast buffet was grand. The location was perfect. We had a river view room with a small balcony and it was perfect for our sundown wine tasting. The trolley stops right at the hotel and takes you where ever you need to go and the taxis are reasonable. We were truly spoiled by this stay; it will be hard to replicate. Highly recommend you stay here while in Basel!!

Room Tip: River views are the way to go, however you may hear the trolley at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We ended a cruise and decided to explore Basel, Switzerland. This hotel is amazing! It is absolutely beautiful. Our room was a classic, luxury style and our two very large windows looked out over the river! It was very spacious and beautifully decorated.

The staff were very helpful. We needed assistance getting our luggage to the platform at the train station and they arranged for someone to help us.

They also gave us a jar of homemade jam upon leaving!

Room Tip: If you love classic luxury, stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candacegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The location of the hotel is just perfect in the middle of the city centre.
We tried the restaurant which has 2 stars Michelin. It is classic and very tasty.
We also tried the Italian restaurant related to the hotel but 10 minutes walk ( you can get a free shuttle to and from the place ). The food, service and overall quality had almost nothing to do with the hotel itself. Not that great....
Didnt mention, nice hotel staff also :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam151179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#5 of 52 in Basel
502 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#10 of 52 in Basel
636 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois

Address: Blumenrain 8, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Basel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $493 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois lies at the very heart of the city of Basel. At the exact spot where, in the Middle Ages, the ships docked at the salt tower in order to transport that much sought-after product down the Rhine and out into the world. Discover Basel, the tri-border area and the charm of our region. Allow yourself to be pampered – to make your stay in our small cosmopolitan city unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing