We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveler rating
727
332
48
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
332
48
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town great hotel market square river cruise pedestrian area perfect location little touches mini bar restaurants and shops lovely room would definitely stay here again single room the heart of the city public transportation would highly recommend this hotel christmas market rooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2017

It was a delight to stay for four nights at this charming hotel. The staff were professional, kind and knowledgable, especially Fiona, who checked us in and out. The room was comfortable and clean with much-appreciated complimentary water and soft drinks. On three mornings of our visit, we had a delicious breakfast (an excellent assortment of hot and cold items) in the hotel. We also dined at the hotel's outdoor restaurant one evening and the meal was superb. Basel has a wealth of attractions for visitors and the Hotel Basel is ideally located for visitors to experience these attractions. It was a highlight of the vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viagg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Viagg16
Thank you so much for your nice review. We really do appreciate that.
Hope to welcome you one day again.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

This was my third visit to Basel, and also the third time I stayed at Hotel Basel, after two very good previous trips. From the outside, it appears to be relatively modern, but extremely complimentary to the surroundings. The rooms are modern and immaculate, and the service is impeccable. The light over my sink vanity stopped working, and after I called the front desk, someone was there in less than five minutes to see what the problem was, and resolved it immediately. The breakfast in the lower level dining room is wonderful. The hotel is located one block from the Marketplatz in the middle of the old city, and the tram service there can take you anywhere. In all, it's a great place to stay in Basel and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johncpsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear johncpsmith
Thank you so much for your nice comment. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Coming off an AMAwaterways we decided to stay one night in Basel and were thoroughly thrilled with this choice. We were fortunate to get into our room as soon on as we arrived which was lovely and our accommodation was superb. A huge room with an additional sitting area, two TVs and complimentary soft drinks and water in the minibar. The bathroom was sizeable for Europe and finally a hair dryer that was more professional than those you usually get in hotels that are stuck to the wall and you have no leverage. We also ate in their bar/dining room and after reading the reviews had their vegetarian meal which was delicious as was their liver entre.

Room Tip: Beautiful view of quaint rooftops and one block from their market.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Shirley R
Thank you so much for your nice review. We really do appreciate that.
Best regards
Your HOtel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

We arrived in Basel as part of a driving tour of Europe we were taking. Therefore we wanted a city Centre hotel, but NEEDED parking (preferably secure). ...and that is exactly what the Hotel Basel offers.

We were able to drive right up to the front door of the hotel, despite it being in a pedestrianised area, and unload our luggage. Our car was then taken for us by the staff and parked safely away off-site in an underground, secure car park until we needed it again 3 days later.

The room was simple and not huge, but it was clean and very comfortable. The Bed was large and comfortable.The Bathroom was well appointed, well lit and had good water pressure.

The room also offered fast free WiFi, a modern TV and a minibar with a selection of *free* beverages.

The hotel itself has a beautiful, contemporary bar that offers both inside and street-side tables. There is also a restaurant on-site, although we did not get the chance to try it.

The staff were helpful, friendly and spoke fluent English. They had very good local knowledge and were able to suggest places to visit and eat.

We were also given a free pass by the hotel that allows unlimited use of the local public transport, including the trams.

The location could not be much better. It is in the heart of the (nicer section of) the city, surrounded by amazing sites to visit and beautiful shops by day, and a plethora of restaurants and bars by night (but these can't be heard from inside the rooms!).

We found ourselves walking 15-20 km a day just exploring the city, always within easy reach of the hotel if we wanted to freshen up or get a change of clothes.

Overall for those looking for a simple but enjoyable hotel for a city break in Basel, it would be difficult to find much better.

NOTE: When it was time to leave, it took about 30 mins to retrieve the car due to it being off-site and a member of staff having to go and bring it. This is no problem on leaving day; either make sure you ask half an hour before you check out, or alternatively the hotel can safely store your luggage while you take a last look around the city.
This is perfect if you want to ditch the wheels and spend a few days in the city, but I imagine it is less suitable if you were intending to take a number of journeys out in your car during your stay.

Room Tip: It takes 30 mins for them to retrieve a car from the secure garage. Make sure you ask them for it at least 30 mins before you need it!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HooksaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear David H
Thank you so much for your detailed rating. That does help us and future guests a lot.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Good reliable WIFI. Comfortable room with good amenities such as fridge and complimentary selection of beverage. Perfect touch , an umbrella is provided for your personal use during your stay . No need to bring one
A nice Hotel for a nice experience

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank treenreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear treenreen
Thank you so much for your nice review.
We really do appreciate that.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews