We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$474
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Stuecki Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$261
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$317
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$262
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Dorint An der Messe Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$630
$519
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
$320
$287
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
GAIA Hotel(Basel)
$358
$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,080
$610
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveler rating
721
329
48
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
721
329
48
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towngreat hotelmarket squareriver cruisepedestrian areaperfect locationlittle touchesmini barrestaurants and shopslovely roomwould definitely stay here againsingle roomthe heart of the citypublic transportationwould highly recommend this hotelrooms are smallchristmas market
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2017

Located right in the center of the old city, walking distance from all the main historical sites, the river, great restaurants and museums. Tram stop a block away with all the major lines passing through. The staff is very friendly, the room was clean, well equiped and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear Sana A
Thank you so much for rating us. We like!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Right in the old city center, the hotel is great to visit Basel. Room was clean, bathroom quite tiny with a slippery tub.
Queen bed was good. AC a little loud and not very cool. Nice breakfast buffet. We were there during the jazz night and the adjacent bar hosted a nice band of elderly gentlemen playing great smooth tunes.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MarkerEightyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Dear MarkerEightOne
Thank you for rating us.We do appreciate that very much.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

I would definitely recommend this hotel in Basel. The room was large, clean, and well-equipped. It is located in a perfect area near the Marketplatz and Old Town near the river. Upon arrival, our room wasn't ready, however we were given a couple drink tickets to pass the time away. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnmkearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Dear lynnmkearns
Thank you so much for your nice review and comments. We like
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

right in the middle of Basel, next to the "Marktplatz". The next tram stop is just around the corner and a tram/bus travel pass came automatically with the room. Although the hotel is very central, it was calm and quiet. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Staff was super-friendly and the breakfast buffet downstairs had everything I expected, including real coffee!
Had a single room, which was a bit small but still OK. Bathroom was newly renovated.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Dear Carsten P
Thank you for your nice rating. That will help us and future guests a lot.
Best regards
Your HOtel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Recently stayed at the Hotel Basel this past July 2017 and had a wonderful stay.

Upon arrival, reception quickly checked us in, however our room wasn't ready, however we were given a couple drink tickets and went to the hotel restaurant. The restaurant was a little overpriced, however its Switzerland so its to be expected. Both our meals were good, drinks as well, although service was a little slow.

After our meal the room was ready. The room was well maintained, overlooked the main street and was spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the washroom was well-equipped.

A nice touch was the complimentary waters, beers, etc. that were in the fridge. I also must add, I was nice to finally stay at a hotel throughout Switzerland that had a mini-fridge in the rooms.

Front desk staff were very helpful with tips on things to do, places to see and restaurants to eat at. The 2 ladies that helped us were very professional and courteous.

Check-out was easy and we had the valet service retrieve our car and drive it right infront of the hotel(may not see like a lot, however it was and I`ll explain).

The only negative(which has nothing to do with the hotel, however indirectly impacts it) is downtown driving. If you do not know where to go and are new to the city, its a nightmare. It took us almost 1-hour to navigate something that should have taken us 10 minutes. Apparently city hall frowns upon cars and wants to making driving difficult so people ride bikes, walk, etc. Anyhow, hotel helped us a great deal with this.

Long story short, this hotel is great, staff are great, food is good, very well located, etc. and if I ever return to Basel I will 100% stay at this hotel again.

Thank you Hotel Basel!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you Jeff C for rating us. We really do appreciate that.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews