We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Basel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Sidney, NE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel in Basel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Hotel Basel is in a great central location and has many amenities including a "free" refillable mini-bar with beer, soda, and water. The staff is friendly and helpful and can communicate in English. They loaned me and electricity adapter and have free wifi included with your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear omalin
Nice to hear that you liked your stay and our little extra amenities. We are looking Forward to your next stay.
Thank you and best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    269
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
131
360
45
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent one night here after a Rhine River Cruise and found it to be an excellent location for walking tours of Basel. The room was very comfortable and quite and a relatively good price for what we found to be the most expensive city we have been to in Europe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peedeedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear peedeedoc
thank you for your comment. It is good to hear that you liked your stay.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed three days at Hotel Basel and found that it was very well placed--close to the main plaza, beautiful Rathouse (government building), and old city gates. Great little cafes, bakery, and shops to stroll about. The restaurant served wonderful authentic food and we ate many of our meals there. It was easy to take a taxi from there to go to France and spend a day in Colmar, which was fabulous. All of the staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifesatrip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Lifesatrip99
Thank you for your frindly comment. It's good to hear that you liked our property.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Best location. Easy access to everything, and to experience the charm of Basel. Hotel staff very friendly. It's nice to her able to find a good restaurant within a few minutes walk. Try Pinar in the University district - my favorite in Basel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseysteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear jerseysteves
Thank you that you took the time to rate us. It is great to hear that you liked your stay. We are looking Forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hotel was well located in old town but also very close to Marktplatz square and bridge (10 min walk to convention center). Hotel staff were great, very nice, very helpful, and even made me an espresso when the cafe was closed. Rooms were comfortable, very well designed, quiet, good wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shane35446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear shane35446
Thank you for your nice comment. We and future guests appreciate that verry much!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Close to the central square but far enough away from the noise of the square. We had a large room on the top floor. It had a nice sitting area with a tv of it's own. The hotel was very clean, the room was well appointed and service was excellent. It is not a luxury hotel but niether is the price. We considered staying at the Les Trois Rois, but after the fact were glad we made this choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11jimtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear 11jimtravel
Thank you for your nice comment. We do appreciate that verry much.
Looking Forward to your next stay!
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Basel Hotel is decent enough hotel. Its location is great, in the centre of the historic old town, close to shops. Its staff is courteous. Its adjoining restaurant serves good (if expensive) food and its breakfast is sizeable and delicious. However, when I booked two rooms - for two people per room, the standard room turned out to really be for one single traveller.

The room's size was astonishingly small, its bathroom was minuscule and the bed was really for one person only. We managed to fit in simply because I was a mother travelling with a young child. I felt a little cheated with this - we were told we could get a bigger room if we upgraded at about 70 USD. But I found this unfair considering we were sold the room as a double in the first place.

The other, superior room was a good size - my parents stayed in it and were happy. For 70 more dollars of course they got a better (and more honest) deal.

I'm going to give this hotel an average score based on the fact that it is not a bad hotel, but its advertising can do with some more truthfulness.

Room Tip: If travelling as a double unit make sure to get a room with a good size double or twin beds as the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonnybom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear lonnyborn
Thank you verry much that you took the time and rated our hotel.
We are verry sorry that you found your double room not adaquat. As we are situated in the historical part of old town space is limited. But we do indicate the size of the beds on any plattform to avoid disappointments like that. And you have the possibility to book a larger room. As earlier you book as better is the rate. If you might like to come again please contact us directly so we can provide personel advice for the size of the room and bed.
We really regret that you did not like your room this time.
Thank you again for telling us and best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Property: Hotel Basel
Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing