We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed 1 night this April with my wife + 2 kids and had a wonderful stay. We asked for the large room under the roof with the special bathroom (glasses). The room is very bright and large enough to stay with two kids. The hotel is very central and convenient for a visit of this lovely city. Highly recommended. Will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grand-Rue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Grand-Rue
Thank you so much for your Rating. That will help us and other guests.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    295
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
140
404
49
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Basel in April 2014 for three nights before boarding our Rhine River Cruise.
The property was very nice overall. We specifically were looking for a king bed, so this hotel met that need. The room was nice, quiet and well appointed. The restaurant served a breakfast buffet that was exceptional, and pricey. The front desk staff was very helpful with maps and info on restaurants and places to see. As we traveled down the Rhine, I kept thinking about Basel. What a truly charming town.

Room Tip: Recommend third floor. Do not recommend first floor - lounge is close and makes rooms noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredyoungat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear retiredyoungat55
Thank you that you took the time to rate our property. We do appreciate that very much and we are happy that you liked your stay with us!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed one night on our way to onboard a river cruise. The first impression was excellent, since the hotel is located on a beautiful corner of the old town. The flowers, the entrance, and the greeting staff refreshed our moods, after a 17 hours trip from Puerto Rico.

I highly recommend this hotel, and would stay there again, if I ever go back to Basel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvetteb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear sylvetteb2
Thank you that you took the time to rate us. We do appreciate that very much. That will help us and other guets.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We arrived early, but the hotel had our rooms ready. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager came by twice to be sure we had everything we needed. The room did not have a coffee pot, so she promptly got us a water kettle and instant coffee. The location is in the Old City, so we could just walk out the door of the hotel and visit the amazing old sights and walk along the Rhine. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Basel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Brenda6263
We are happy that you liked your stay!
Thank you that you took the time to rate us. We do appreciate that very much.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very near everything if staying for a short break. Staff helpful .Room 414 which is a suite quite small attic ceiling not good if tall and abit expensive. Breakfast good but limited hot options no poached eggs which was disappointing.Beds and linen excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Laurence M
Thank you that you took the time to rate us. We do appreciate that very much. That will help us and other guets.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have just come back from my 29th stay at the Hotel Basel over 30 years of traveling to Basel, and as usual it was a very pleasant stay. From the minute you enter the lobby and receive a warm greating from the front desk staff till my departure 8 days later everyone went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Jim D
thank you so much for your nice rating. We are so glad to have you as our frequent guest for such a long time!. If Hotels could rate guests we would definitly give you the best rating, too!
We are very much looking forward to your next stay.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is an excellent hotel located in the very centre of Basel. Rooms are clean, comfortable and very quiet, the staff were all charming and very helpful. The breakfast was rather expensive so we ate out instead - at the local department store.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stylusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Stylusman
thank you so much for your nice rating. Great that you liked your stay. We hope to welcome you soon again for another stay!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
479 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
540 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#14 of 51 in Basel
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Property: Hotel Basel
Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing