We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect for business trips”
Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect for business trips”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I spent a couple of nights in the Hotel Basel on a business trip. The hotel is ideally located in the historical city centre, just a few meters away from Marktplaz and Basel University. The personnel are exquisitely helpful and efficient. The local Brasserie and Bar will welcome you in a cosy and friendly atmosphere after a long working day.
The only negative points are the excessive temperature in the room during winter and the absence of lower pillows: the standard pillows provided by the hotel are way too high for sleeping confortably.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pignolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Pignolino
Thank you for rating us. We do appreciate that very much. We do have different pillows and. room temperature can be regulated individually aswell. Just ask at reception next time you stay with us.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    281
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
136
372
45
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South West London/Surrey
Level Contributor
304 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hotel Basel currently sits at number 1 for the Tripadvisor reviews, and this is an accurate indication of what you get here. I have been a regular business visitor to Basel over the last few years, and have stayed in many hotels, all of them good, but Hotel Basel stays top of the pile.

I like the genuine warmth from the staff at the front desk, I appreciate the little extra touches in the room - free mini bar, even a bed time story! This is probably the only hotel in the world where I have seen that, and these little things really do add up to give you a nice feeling when staying here.

Breakfast in the atmospheric basement room is very nice, a good selection, very fresh and very nicely presented.

And another major positive is that Hotel Basel is just a stone's throw from the main Market Square in Basel, and you are close to an abundance of shops and restaurants and anything you could possibly need. And beyond that, you can jump on a tram or bus to get anywhere else in the city, using the free travel pass, which all hotel guests in Basel receive.

Thanks to the staff and management at Hotel Basel for another nice stay, and keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear AFCW
thank you so much for rating us. We do appreciate that very much! And thank you for so many frindly compliments. Be sure that we will keep up our work as good as possible!
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and it is perfectly located downtown Basel. The rooms are small, but modern. They offer unique features of giving you a pass for local transportation around the city of Basel for free during your stay. They also provide you with 2 bottles of water, a bottle of beer and a Coca Cola in the mini-bar fridge each dayThe cost of the room was lower for the weekend rate (160 CHF) versus the week rate (Mon - Thur was 210 CHF).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trini-trekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Trini-trekkers
thank you very much for rating us. We do appreciate that very much!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was my 4th or 5th time to stay over in Hotel Basel, it is always clean and quiet, with the best service you could have. This could be the reason why my company (a large Swiss firm) always selectes this hotel for corporate traveling.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhangjinglei2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear zhangijnglei2004
thank you soo much for your nice commment. We appreciate that very much! And it is always a pleasure to have you staying with us.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
179 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The moment we stepped out of the taxi, we had a good vibe of the hotel. The surrounding is very quiant, the hotel lobby is very nice, the art works are very pleasing, the receptionist is very charming, its one of the few hotels in our Europe trip who helped us with our bags. The breakfast area is different and really cute. The presentation of breakfast items and variety of cheeses, spreads, butter, etc are great. Cannot fault anything in this hotel, everything is great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Wendy V
Thank you for your rating. We are happy that you liked your stay. Thank you for doing that for us!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was very pleased to stay in Hotel Basel. Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice decoration. I used it 3 times already and it was consistently good.
Breakfast is good too with the exemption of scrambled eggs (difficult to find tasty eggs nowadays).

Room Tip: No tip. All the rooms I have tried were similar (1-2 floors).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apostolos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Apostolos T
Thank you for your rating. We are happy that you liked your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

i was here for 2 nights and the hotel was nice and quite compared to others in Basel. The staff were fantastic and friendly. Complimentery drinks in the room, free wifi & travel pass makes the hotel very reasonable in comparison to some of the others.

Helpful?
Thank Edward4943
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Edward4943
Thank you for your rating. We are happy that you liked your stay. Thank you for doing that for us!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#3 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Property: Hotel Basel
Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing