We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice hotel!”
Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is so nice because, at first, the staff is gentle and ready to make your stay the best possible. Very comfortable and with two restaurants with excellent food. Another point that made me like the stay is that the locals come to the hotel to drink and eat, so, we have an idea of the local culture too. Nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leticia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Located in the heart of the old town , walking distance to sites, restaurants and shops. my wife and I had an excellent time at the hotel with a great breakfast and a very modern room[not to small by european standards]

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Overall, had a nice stay here... Very centrally located close to Markplatz, and some decent restaurants though you will pay for the privilege. Breakfast is nice in a very cool area at the bottom of the hotel.... Rooms however are small and wish there were more English channels on tv as with some other establishments in Basel. After a long day at work, it does help to unwind in front of the box!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoKad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was great value for money. Great location the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast so filling and delish. Would definately stay again when I visit this beautiful town. Highly recommend for anyone's stay as the location was very central.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights prior to a river cruise and the location is wonderful. Only 1 block from the Marketplatz. You can walk to most of the sightseeing areas as the hotel is right in the center of the old city. The room was spacious by European standards and clean as to be expected in Switzerland. Would definitely stay again next time in Basel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfnut101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to spend a night at this lovely hotel in the centre. I found it brisk, smooth, central, clean, efficient. I would definitively stay there again next time. The charming city is all within walking distance of the hotel, so that any leisure time can be used to its full advantage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregorCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent one night here in October. The only "bad" thing I have to say is the pricey parking solution..I think 26 or 27 SFR for 24 hours. However, you should know that any other solution is much pricier (44 SFR in a nearby parking lot)...so just take what they offer you and dont fuss about it...
ANd now to the good stuff...the location is WONDERFUL. Everything is within a short walking distance. I upgraded our room to a suite - the difference was 70 something SFR and was absolutely WORTH IT! It was a lovely mini apartment - the bedroom corner had the bed, a flat TV and an office desk, as well as a closet Carie from Sex and the City would approve of... in it was the safe and 2 white robes. on another corner were 2 "armchairs" infront of another flat tv, which has many ENglish channels (not a given in Europe)
The bathtub was behind a transparent glass looking over to the TV, but there was an option to close the glass and binders. THere was also a big candle :-). Bathroom was spot clean and the cosmetics were of Bulgari (!) (that's as close as I will get to having anything of theirs...) the toilet is in a seperate place. There is also an umbrella in case you didn't bring yours. In summary - wonderful room I could have stayed there all day...
The breakfast is downstairs in an underground, what seems to be , an original basement..made from small stones - great atmosphere and a very good selection of food to eat.
The hotel also has a great restaurant.
I wanted to have hot water to drink (i bring my own special tea) as I had a terrible cold, and we went down to the restaurant and received a large peacher with hot water and a cup, as well as sugar for no additional cost. Very nice!!
Reception were very nice! Bottom line - GREAT STAY!! thank you!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can - totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spirit2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 52 in Basel
1,006 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
657 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#6 of 52 in Basel
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: $161 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing