We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Switzerland.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Whenever I travel to Switzerland I stay at the Swissotel in Basel. It is conveniently located to my office have been staying there for the past 4 years. There is a definite difference staying on the executive floor rather than the others. I have stayed on both and there are benefits of the 5th and 6th that just don't compare. The rooms are nicer and comfortable. I have never had an issue with the internet (very important to me) connection. Room service is always on time and my every need/request taken care of promptly. It's quite nice that they recognize me by name and a "Welcome back". Laundry service is a bit too pricey but your clothes smell and look wonderful. The restaurant is average. Spa services are decent but, not what you would expect from a 5 star. The best feature of all?? The in room Lavazza machines!!! I look forward to my espresso in the mornings as I am getting ready to head to the office.

All in all, it's the only place I would stay in when I travel to Basel for work.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJTravelGirl07869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 807 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

The Swissotel Le Plaza is a good place to stay, it is a little out of the centre, but we were given free tram passes for the duration of our stay. We were allocated a disabled room even though we suffer from no disability, but it was of a good standard and size, the bed was very comfortable. It is attached to the exhibition centre, so very much a business hotel but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast had a cooked option which is always appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizardSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

As a business hotel it is quite exceptable. The only cons I would say is the internet was a bit slow. You would some times have to wait quite a while at breakfast if you ordered eggs or waffles. Twice I ordered waffles and they forgot. The staff were friendly though and the rooms clean and replenished frequently.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This is an excellent hotel located in heart of Basel. The rooms are very spacious and all bathroom accessories are excellent. Breakfast spread again excellent. Even food in room service is good. Being vegetarian, it is ofet difficult to get good food options in Europe, however veg. food options in hotel were really good. Staff and services were also excellent.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
Thank VAS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Very god business hotel near the confrence/exhibition center. Walking distance to the centre of the city. Great service, good business rooms, excellent rooms. Try the Segway tour!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOaqesNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Excellent staff and breakfast; nice clean rooms and the location was very good, too. Useful free tram tickets (Mobility Ticket). But NO free WiFi Access ! ! !

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic302nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This is a nice hotel, we stayed for one night and LOVED the beds, so incredibly comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and a good standard. The location is not the most romantic part of town, very close to the Trade Fair, but the trams are directly opposite to take you all over Basel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPassionate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
912 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
987 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Le Plaza Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Le Plaza Basel

Address: Messeplatz 25 | 4058 CH-Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Basel
#10 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#13 Family Hotel in Basel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $138 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Le Plaza Basel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basel is not only a Swiss City with a big heart, with a smile on their face people from Basel proudly declare it a major city in pocket size format and they are right. The city by the Rhine offers everything you could wish for in a city trip. Culture and Business go hand in hand and only the sky is the limit. The same holds true should you decide to stay at the Swissotel Basel. No matter if you are traveling to the border triangle, the old town, the Rhine, the musical theatre or to other numerous sightseeing spots in Basel, all of which are in walking distance. Centrally located you will not only enjoy our elegant guest rooms but also real Swiss hospitality. Swissotel Basel provides 238 spacious rooms and suites with satellite LCD TV. Start your day right with a sumptuous breakfast at our Grill 25 restaurant or room service, make use of the complimentary newspaper, free wifi, complimentary use of our Puerovel Sport with a sauna and a steam room. Our concierge team would be delighted to assist in planning a day trip or assist in getting tickets to numerous Events and shows. Additionally our gusts truly value our pillow menu in the guestrooms as well as the espresso machine. Should you feel the need to discover even more of Basel and its surroundings, you can make use of your complimentary mobility ticket, which is provided to you for the duration of your stay to use the public transportation system, even for the day of your arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Le Plaza Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Swissotel Le Plaza Hotel Basel
Basel Swissotel Le Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing